• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

March of Dimes Signature Chefs Auction of DC Event Recap

The March of Dimes Signature Chefs Auction of DC last was SO fun. The event has more than 30 of DC’s top chefs and bartenders for a night filled with tons of great food and drinks and I got to cover it on behalf of Foodbuzz through their Foodie Correspondent Program. The evening was divided into three parts – first a VIP reception, then a silent auction, then a live auction.

SignatureChefsAuction

I went to the VIP reception but just for a second because there were a lot of people in a very small space and everyone there seemed to know each other and I knew no one. So I headed over to the Ritz-Carlton where the main event was being held shortly thereafter to check in. The silent auction was set up during the tasting portion of the event, lasting just under 2 hours. Every attendee was given a BidPal to use, which is similar to an ipod and allows people to bid electronically and keep updated ont eh status of their bids. It was SO cool!

BidPal

Lining almost the entire tasting room were were tent cards displayed with the items up for bid during the silent auction.

SilentAuction 

SilentAuction1

I was kind of glad to not be given a BidPal because that could have been dangerous. All of the items were sorted by category and you received instant notification if someone outbid you, so I imagine they raised a lot more money than they would have with a paper auction.

Inside the room, there were tables and tables of food and drink tastings from some of the areas top restaurants. My favorite tasting from the whole evening came from Founding Farmers.

FoundingFarmers

FoundingFarmersChef

FoundingFarmersRavioli

I tried to look away when he put a huge hunk of butter into the pan for the sauce, but glancing at the plate you can’t really deny that. The ravioli was stuffed with butternut squash and literally melted in my mouth. I went back at least one more time for another one of these. Heaven.

I was actually sort of surprised with the number of tastings that were vegetarian/pescatarian friendly. I assumed I would only be able to eat a few things, but that was not the case at all.

Another highlight was from Taberna Del Alabardero.

MarinatedMusselsSign

These mussels were marinated in sweet paprika and vinegar in a sauce with a touch of cream and potato sticks (I’m sure they had a fancier name for them) on top.

MarinatedMussels

The crunch of the potato against the warm mussel and the creamy sauce was just perfect.

BrasserieBeck

Lobster bisque? Why yes, yes I will.

LobsterBisque

Chunks of fresh lobster burst with flavor in the creamy broth. I think they served it in a cup so you could literally drink it down and somehow I resisted licking the cup clean..

A clam and potato chowder with toasted red quinoa on top…

BJTT 071

Butternut squash gelee with honey and toasted walnuts..

ButternutSquashGelee

Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Prawns and Croutons

RoastedPumpkinCups

Shrimp and Grits with a Tomato Chutney

ShrimpandGrits

Grilled Octopus Salad

OctopusSalad

Three types of Ceviche

ThreeTypesofSushi

I tried the tuna ceviche and it was unreal

TunaCheviche

Oyster shooters in a brown ale

OysterShooters

And as if I hadn’t had enough, popcorn to eat on the way home.

Popcorn

My favorite drink of the night by far was this incredible pear cocktail.

PearCocktail

It had vodka, pear nectar, pear butter, and pear cream soda with fresh ground cinnamon for garnish. Seriously, unreal. They were dangerous though because they were so delicious you (I) forgot about the fact that they had a base of vodka…

After all the food and drink tastings, everyone sat down for the live auction.

LiveAuction

(That’s Carla Hall up on stage because they auctioned off a dinner with some local foodie celebs)

Though the food and drinks were unreal and I had some of the best things I’d ever tasted in my life last night, my favorite part was when Joshua Hoffman, the 2010 national ambassador for March of Dimes, got up on stage before the silent auction began and gave a speech. Joshua was born at 23 weeks (just like my nephews) and is now a healthy, active, and happy 7 year old (almost 8!). He talked about how March of Dimes saved his life and his dream is for one day all babies to be born healthy like his little brother was. “The March of Dimes saved my life, and now I want to fight for preemies and reach for the stars.” His speech was so moving and literally left tears in my eyes and much hope in my heart for my nephew. I was so happy to be at an event where all the proceeds go to such an amazing cause. You can check out more about his story here.

Such an incredible night – I’m so glad I got to be there. 🙂

19 Responses

  1. Wow, that looks like an amazing night! I wish I lived somewhere where there we events like that so I could take advantage of the correspondent program.

  2. That looks amazing!! And so cool that it benefits the March of Dimes.

  3. OMG, Beth, that all looks so good (and very fancy-pants)! I almost started licking my monitor. 😉

  4. That all looks amazing! How wonderful that it was so close to your heart as well! Hope your nephew is getting stronger and stronger!

  5. All the food looks amazing especially that lobster bisque… yum! What a great event for such a wonderful cause!

  6. Holy smokes, that food left me drooling at my desk!

  7. Great Event & a pleasure meeting you Beth. Pleased to see that I may have a future as a hand model if things don’t work our for me. I’ll need a copy of that pic for my portfolio

  8. This looks like so much fun!! And delicious food.

  9. that is a lot of good lookin food! i love mussels!

  10. Excuse me while I wipe the drool off my keyboard.

  11. Beth you got to do what I would love to do: go to those parties with different chefs with different dishes — I’d love to be one of the guests at a Top Chef party and get to taste the food.

    What a great event!

  12. What a fun event! I think those bid thingies are SO cool- how fancy!

  13. If you haven’t been to Founding Farmers restaurant yet, you need to go! It’s amazing and the cocktails are great too. Definitely make your reservation way in advance or make friends with someone who works there like my sister did 🙂 Great chicken and waffles!

  14. Oh also, if you want to do another event like this, check out Chicago Gourmet next year! It’s my favorite foodie event of the year!

  15. Looks like such a great event! Im glad you had a good time. I’ve ordered the ravioli from Founding Farmers and it is to die for.

  16. What a wonderful event! Glad you got to experience it and I hope they raised a ton of money! My best friend was born with spina bifida and she was actually on a March of Dimes poster when we were kids!

  17. What an awesome event! I am so jealous of your taste buds, especially with all those seafood options – amazing!

    That is awesome that you got to be a part of an event that had such a strong personal meaning to you. 🙂

  18. This is a cool blog message, I will keep this idea in my mind. If you add more video and pictures because it helps understanding 🙂 ml Gorin.

Leave a Reply

