• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Buffalo Tofu with Avocado Fries

Morning and happy almost-Friday! Last night I went to the gym for the first time since I encountered the creeper there, which was back at the beginning of September! Nuts. I started with 40 minutes on the elliptical with it set at level 11 and on random, and it felt so good. I sometimes forget how much the elliptical can make you sweat if you work the settings right… After cardio, I did some weights for the first time in AGES. There are 4 back/chest/shoulder/arm machines in my apartment gym – pulldowns, rows, chest press, and shoulder press. I did 3 sets of 15 on each of the 4 machines, and am feeling quite sore today, but in a good way. I really need to be more consistent with my strength training…

After the gym, I made an awesome meal – Buffalo Tofu with Avocado Fries. Last week, my friend Emily sent me a recipe for avocado fries, and I knew I had to have them. I healthified the recipe, and it turned out so good. I was also craving buffalo tofu which seemed like the perfect thing to go with creamy avocado fries.

Ingredients for fries:

  • 2 medium firm avocados
  • 2 eggs
  • white flour
  • panko crumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients for buffalo tofu:

  • block firm tofu, pressed
  • frank’s red hot
  • blue cheese crumbles

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375º
  • Cut the tofu into your desired shape, and douse it with frank’s red hot. Let it marinate while you prep the fries.
  • Take two avocados that are semi firm (NOT soft) so they retain their shape.

Two Avocado

  • Cut each avocado in half, carefully remove the skin, and cut each half into quarters.

SlicedAvocado

  • Get three bowls. To the first, add the flour. To the second, add the two eggs and beat them until smooth. To the third, add panko and salt and pepper and mix it up.

Flour, Egg, Panko Crumbs

  • Take each piece of avocado and place it first in the flour, then in the egg, then in the panko.

In Flour

InEgg

  • Repeat process until each piece of avocado is covered in all three. It’s best to use one hand only in the egg, so use your right hand to put it in the flour and move it around, then your right hand to drop it into the egg. Then use your left hand to mix it around in the egg and drop it in the panko, then your right hand to mix it up in the panko and transfer it to the baking sheet. Think wet/dry hand and it’ll keep the process less messy.

PreppedFries

  • Once all your fries are prepped, transfer the marinated tofu to the same baking sheet.

Prepped Tofu and Fries

  • Place baking sheet in preheated oven for 20 minutes, flip everything over, and bake for another 20 minutes.

Finished Tofu and Fries

  • Garnish the tofu with extra frank’s red hot (if you want) and blue cheese crumbles.

TofuupClose

AvocadoFries

I also added some sauteed spinach for good measure to round out the plate.

Whole Plate

This dinner was AWESOME. The avocado gets a little melty and warm and the panko stays really crispy so the texture of the fries is awesome. The baked tofu was great too because the buffalo sauce really stuck to the tofu and it was perfect with the blue cheese crumbles. Also, when you make buffalo style anything at home, its automatically way healthier than when you order it out, because typical buffalo sauce is hot sauce plus a stick of butter. This had no butter and still was super flavorful and delicious.

SO good. I am very excited for leftovers today for lunch!!

What is your strength training routine like? How often do you lift weights?

Remember – today is the last day to enter the Adora giveaway!

21 Responses

  1. The avocado fries seem so interesting! I must say – I was intrigued when I saw your menu for the week and saw them on there – glad they turned out well.

    I strength train during my boxing/bootcamp classes throughout the week- sometimes I’m very into doing weights on my own and sometimes not!

  2. Beth,

    That dinner looks amazing and congrats for getting back into strength training! I really like the way strength training makes me feel–it’s a nice change from cardio =)

  3. This looks ridiculously delicious. I’m going to have to try those avocado fries very, very soon.

    My strength training routine is pretty much lacking to the point of nonexistence right now. I’m planning to join a new gym in the next week (mine is just horrible) and hoping it inspires me to get myself back in gear and out of the all cardio rut I’ve been in.

  4. I thought I had seen everything made in to fries. Avocados? Interesting. I picture them being a little like mozzarella sticks with the soft goopy avocado inside.

    I suck at strength training. I used to be better about it, but…when I’m running more, it just gets pushed to the back burner. I’m doing, like, 30 minutes once a week right now. I need to do more!

  5. I lift 3 days a week–either 2 legs and an upper day or 2 upper and a lower day or 3 full body workouts! 🙂

  6. OMG… I love avocado and NEVER thought of doing something like this… I DEFINITELY will be trying this!! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Avocado FRIES? This looks freakin’ amazing!!! I am definitely going to try this! I used to do cardio every morning before work and do strength for arms, back and chest with free weights on Sat/Sun. I’ve completely slipped up since my wedding though. I definitely need to get back into that routine.

  8. Wow I have never thought to cook avocado like that! Fascinatingly cool idea:)

  9. Buffalo sauce is one of my favorites… probably why I was such a HUGE Buffalo Wild Wings girl back in the day…

    And avocado fries? That’s awesome! I would have never thought to do that… like ever. I just wonder how much patience I would have digging into the avocado to make them perfect fries…

  10. That DOES look amazing! Who would have thought! Thanks for sharing, I will have to try these.

  11. Avocado fries?! That sounds fantastic! I have to try this out and soon!

  12. you had me at buffalo tofu.. ❤

    and those "fries" look awesome!! I MUST make!

  13. omg. my head might explode. avocado is one of my fav foods, I am making those avocado fries IMMEDIATELY.

  14. I was wondering in your Meal Planning post what the avocado fries were all about! Now that you explain it – it looks even better than I imagined!

  15. avocado fries, what?! that sounds wonderful!!

  16. Oh hell that dinner looks delicious!!!!

  17. Wow what a fantastically awesome way to eat avocado. Mmmmm!

  18. I will definitely be making these avocado fries!!! Jason will go crazy for these. Thanks for posting!

  19. Now this is something I have never heard of: avocado fries. I have a feeling I’d love them! And love tofu any style, but with the blue cheese, yummo. I wish I had your cooking creativity.

  20. Really nice post,thank you cna training

  21. […] #4 baked avocado fries coated with panko (japanese bread crumbs). recipe from here. […]

Leave a Reply

