• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weekend Update and a Breakfast Mess

Hi! This morning started out GREAT and then I got to work and realized I forgot my camera. Boo. I had lots of great pictures to share from the weekend, but they’ll have to wait until tomorrow.

Friday night we had a sleepover with Charlotte and Nora and watched Freaky Friday, played Skip-bo (SO fun!) and ate lots of popcorn. Saturday I woke up before everyone and went out and ran 4 miles. It was my first run in sooo long. I just looked it up and the last time before Saturday was October 7th!! Crazy. The run actually felt really good (mostly when it was over) and I finished it at a 9:40 pace. It was really chilly outside and my lungs actually hurt a bit when I was done from breathing in the cold air, but after warming up a bit and drinking lots of fluids, I started to feel normal again. Every time I go for a run, I still have a huge mental battle about it where I completely doubt my ability. I get scared I won’t be able to run and start mentally cutting down the mileage I set out to do before I even get to a point where I should be thinking about that. I don’t know what it is, but I really need to work on my running confidence – I mean I ran a half marathon just over a month ago!

After my run, we sat around and relaxed for most of the day before dropping the kids off, and then I got new running shoes! I had a $50 Groupon to Potomac River Running Store for $50, and I have been really needing new sneaks. So I went and they had me stand on this censor thing to see how my weight was distributed when I stood, and then they had me try on a neutral pair of shoes and run on the treadmill. I pronate (my feet turn in a bit when I run which I knew) so I had to get a supportive shoe, and I ended up going with the Brooks Adrenaline – and it turns out I’ve been wearing the wrong size shoe they whole time! I was wearing a 9.5 and I’m really a 9 wide. What a difference!

Saturday night I went out to a really nice dinner at Jaleo with an old friend, which is a tapas restaurant right in my neighborhood. The meal was amazing and I promise to show you pictures of that tomorrow!

Yesterday we went to church, and I was all set to go to the gym but Wil asked if I wanted to go for a walk instead. We walked down the Mount Vernon Trail and tossed a softball around for a while, and then walked to Costco and back home. It was a little over 3 miles in total, and it felt nice to be outside because it was gorgeous out! Wil laid down in the grass for a little bit so I ran for about 5 minutes – around .5 miles I’m guessing – but I still broke a sweat.

And this morning (until I forgot my camera!) has been awesome! I woke up early so I could squeeze in a workout since I have happy hour plans tonight, and I ended up running on the treadmill for a bit. I was a little pressed for time, but I started with a 5 minute warmup jogging at 5.5 – 5.8 mph, and then ran for 15 minutes from 6.0 – 7.5 miles per hour, followed by 2 minutes walking at 4.0. 22 minutes total on the treadmill and I covered 2.2 miles and burned 318 calories (skewed I am sure). Then I lifted weights – doing 3 sets of 15 reps on each of the 4 upper body machines – pulldown, rows, chest press, and shoulder press. The total workout was about 35-40 minutes, and it felt great to start my day that way, though I’m definitely a bit sore already!

yogurtmess

(I had a MUCH prettier picture of this on my camera…) This breakfast mess had:

  • ~ 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • ~ 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp pepitas
  • goji berries (I soaked these in water + honey overnight so they plumped up and tasted more like fresh fruit than dried)

OK gotta get cracking on my day!

How was your weekend? Did you celebrate Halloween??

One Response

  1. Yes, we carved pumpkins and went to a costume party on Sat — yesterday we stayed home and watched Ghostbusters and I baked a Yoda pizza 🙂

    We didn’t get any trick or treaters — it was kind of sad!

    BTW I received my Vitatops sampler that I won from your giveaway — I had no idea I was getting so many! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

