• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Just Add an Egg

Ever since I gave up eating meat back in February 2010, I’ve tried to be really conscious of making sure that I have protein in every meal. Most of the protein I get is through beans, cheese, nuts, greek yogurt, tofu, and eggs. I think one of the major fails that a lot of people can have when they try to go vegetarian is not eating enough protein, or getting it from the wrong sources. I get SO hungry so fast if I don’t have protein in a meal/snack, so its sort of second nature to me to keep my stomach from screaming.

Eggs are one of my absolute favorite sources of protein because they are so versatile, so delicious, and so quick to prepare. Poached Eggs are my favorite way to have them, but pretty much any way with a runny yolk will make me happy.

Sunday night, Wil and I made pizza for dinner. I had made pizza crust a long time ago and froze it, and then I just took it out in the afternoon and it defrosted in about 45 minutes. I divided the pizza dough in half so we could each make our own pizza and we got to work rolling it out.

PizzaDough

I ended up rolling them both out and made the square-ish one for myself, and the round one for Wil. Next up, toppings!

Toppings

Unpictured sauce, banana peppers, mozzarella, salami (for Wil) and parmesan. I spread out a few tablespoons of sauce on my crust and then loaded it up with both kinds of cheese and banana peppers.

ReadyforOven

After putting it in the oven (heated to 550º!) for about 10 minutes, I pulled the pizza back out and cracked an egg right into the middle of it.

CrackanEgg

Then I popped it back in the oven for another 10 minutes and it was done!

Finished Pizz

If I could go back in time I would have left it in for 7 minutes rather than 10 so the yolk stayed a little more runny… but it was AMAZING. An extra kick of protein so it was super filling, plus the delicious creamy yolk and egg white added an awesome flavor and texture to the pizza. I cut it in half down the middle and had half for dinner, and then half for yesterday’s lunch.

Dinner Serving 

I had no leftovers for lunch today, so I threw together a simple sandwich of a Boca Spicy Chik’n Patty with melted blue cheese, on a bed of sprouts.

BlueCheeseBuffaloChkn

I also had some green beans and sweet potato fries on the side to round out the meal.

WholeLunch

For the green beans, I took frozen haricots verts and put them in a ziplock with a heavy sprinkling of balsamic and left them in the fridge overnight. I just heated them for 30 seconds in the microwave and they were delicious! The sweet potato fries were frozen McCain’s from a long time ago that I just spotted when I was searching through my freezer for something for lunch. I heated those in the toasted at work while I was heating up the chik’n patty. I wish I had more of those sweet potato fries because for some reason I only brought a few!

What is your FAVORITE pizza topping? Have you ever had an egg on it?

18 Responses

  1. Your meal ideas are awesome Beth! I love the idea of a little bit of cheese on the chick’n patty!

  2. Sweet potato fries? Yum!

    I get an egg on my pizza ever time I’m at our local pizza restaurant – it’s so tasty! Especially when the yolk is nice and soft. Both my husband and I ask for extra garlic, too – well, it’s fine if we’re both having it, right?

  3. I have never even thought of adding an egg to it! Great idea for my vegetarian clients!

  4. Do you use a pizza stone to bake your pie?

    • Yes I do! We actually have two and I heated the pizza stone with the oven and then put the uncooked pizza on it before putting it back in the oven.

  5. I’m a huge fan of pepperoni and mushroom. But if people want to skip the pepperoni, I never complain- I know the stats on that stuff… 🙂

  6. I so want pizza right now…

    I have never had an egg on pizza, but I love eggs! My favorite toppings on pizza are feta cheese and broccoli. Yummers.

  7. Aw shoot! egg pizza is so creative! My favorite pizza topping is soooo broccoli, beets, and zucchini. So delicious and fun and colorful. Have a lovely week!

  8. I went veggie awhile back but have been eating meat again lately.

    It was really challenging for me to get enough protein so I felt alert, but I felt like I was eating eggs ALL the time. I didn’t always have beans on hand (or want to eat them) and didn’t feel balanced nutritionally.

    I also tried just eating fish but I’m not a HUGE fan of fish and also felt weird eating the same few types of fish constantly (tuna, salmon, tilapia).

    Finally, my fiance’s idea of a meal is incomplete without meat. And if I don’t feel like cooking one night, he’ll always cook some kind of red meat usually. Grosssssss.

    I would like to try it again sometime, but for now I’m not a vegetarian. 😦 The odds are stacked against me, but I honestly have not tried hard enough, or let myself adjust to not having meat in my diet.

    I will try again someday! For now I generally only eat meat 1x a day TOPS, and some days not at all.

  9. I haven’t had an egg on top of pizza — I love eggs, but I’m not sure how I feel about them being on pizza. It sure looks cool though!

    I really like lots of veggies, black olives and either pepperoni or sausage on pizzas.

  10. I was reading along and then I was so surprised when you cracked an egg in the middle of your pizza! I’ve never heard of that, but it sounds fun!

    My favorite toppings are: spinach, artichoke hearts, any kind of veggie and thinly sliced tomatoes. Okay, now I’m craving pizza…

  11. oooh I love egg on pizza! What a great idea!

  12. That pizza looks amazing! Hey, I have a question for you Beth. I noticed that you talk a lot about getting your protein in. Well, how does that work since you run? I’ve noticed that if I eat something with a lot of protein, I get major heartburn and can’t run as well. Do you have problems with this? How do you manage?

  13. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who enjoys an egg on a pizza! Sometimes, I’ll get an Amy’s frozen pizza and add an egg halfway through cooking. Such a delicious, quick meal!

  14. Oh MAN! Will you make me pizza when I come to DC in a few weeks? 🙂

  15. Oohh my favorite is White Pizza with Asparagus, Shallots and Egg http://thekitchenbitch.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/the-great-white-pizza/

  16. I’ve honestly never heard of adding an egg to the top of a pizza…not sure how I’d feel about that one!

Leave a Reply

