• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weekly Goal Check In

It’s funny how sometimes time flies by, and other times it creeps by at the same time. Like how is it already November, but it’s only Tuesday?!

I set some goals for myself last Tuesday and did a pretty good job reaching them again! Here they are and how I did on them:

  1. Start Meal Planning – Check! For me, the thing that works the best is to plan a few dinners for the week (2-3) so I have an idea of what to make but can make adjustments as plans come up and based on how much time I have to cook. I’ll try to make at least enough for one day of leftovers so that I have lunches covered as well, and I want to keep doing this beause it makes me look forward to eating!
  2. Go running twice. CHECK! I’m so proud of this one. 🙂 I ran 4 miles on Saturday, a little bit on Sunday, and then 2 miles yesterday on the treadmill doing some interval work.
  3. No more grocery shopping. This ALMOST gets a check. On Thursday I stopped by the farmer’s market and picked up zucchini for dinner and some honeycrisp apples (couldn’t resist!) and then on Sunday we went to Costco and got a few things to make pizza and I got a container of greek yogurt. While I did pick up a FEW things, I only got what I needed for the most part and only spent a little bit of money.
  4. Workout over the weekend at least once. Check! I actually was active both days, running on Saturday and then going for a walk/little run/throwing the ball around on Sunday.
  5. Zero clothes shopping this week. I did buy one thing at Costco, a zip up hoodie that was 12.99. I am not beating myself up over it because its cute and I’ve already worn it twice since I bought it Sunday (sad, i know).

Setting the goals and putting them down in writing (and for others to read) is really helping me stay on track! Goals for this week (which feed into goals for this month) are:

  1. Strength train twice.
  2. Run at least once.
  3. Take $50 out (CASH) and only use that for food shopping/the farmers market between now and next Tuesday.
  4. Only go out to dinner on Friday (Wil and I are taking our friends Amber and Mike out for dinner because it was both of their birthdays this past weekend!) but other than that cook at home.
  5. Limit alcohol consumption to Friday night only.
  6. Pick out a new book to start reading.

Breakfast this morning was the same as yesterday. I took some goji berries last night and soaked them in water with a little honey.

Goji Berries

I put it uncovered in the fridge overnight, and the berries got plump. I never knew you could do that before a few months ago when Wil did that with dried apricots. Any dried fruit (or veggie like sundried tomatoes) you can add water and they soak up the water and get plump and more fresh-like. To speed up the process, you can boil them in water or put them in the microwave for 30 seconds – 1 minute.

BreakfastMess

In the mix:

  • Nonfat Fage Greek Yogurt
  • Canned Libby’s Pumpkin
  • Rolled Oats
  • Chia Seeds
  • Pepitas
  • Reconstituted Goji Berries

BreakfastMessupclose

SO delicious. There were lots of different flavors and textures in this bowl and it worked perfectly. I loved the smooth yogurt against the crunch of the chias and the plump gojis.

Have you ever reconstituted a dried fruit like this? Did you know you could do it? What’s your favorite combination to put in a yogurt bowl?

7 Responses

  1. Ooh, I like to plump up my raisins when I use them for oatmeal raisin cookies. Sometimes I even soak them in orange juice overnight..and/or add a bit of Gran Marnier to the mix for a lil extra oomph, haha.

  2. Not sure what kind of books you’re into, but if you want something inspiration, check out Three Cups of Tea, such a cool story

  3. I have never heard of “plumping” up dried fruits like that — sounds interesting!

    I think you have great goals for this week — good luck with the $50 cash for food. That is a struggle for us, thats for sure!

  4. I hadn’t heard of the plumping until you did it the first time. I haven’t tried it though.

    I really like just yogurt and kashi go lean crunch in a yogurt bowl. I should expand into other things though.

  5. That’s a great idea to take a specific amount of cash out to spend on food and that’s it. Excellent!

  6. I haven’t done that with dried fruit but it is a great idea. A super easy way to keep fruit around without it going bad!

  7. I heard that you could reconstitute dried fruit this way, but I was afraid that instead of flavor, I’d get wrinkly fruit with too much stored water… maybe I should give it a go.

Leave a Reply

