• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Quinoa Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce

This is a quick and healthy recipe that I have been craving ever since I saw Jenna’s post called “Happy as a Clam”. I always used to LOVE linguini with white clam sauce at restaurants, but the butter heavy sauce and multiple servings of pasta that came with the order make it something I can’t eat very often, unless I make it at home!

What you need (for 2 servings):

BJTT 133

  • Pasta (of your choice)
  • 1 tbsp light butter (or regular)
  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 1 can chopped/minced clams
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 shallot, minced
  • red pepper flakes
  • shredded parmesan (optional)

Boil a pot of water to cook 2 servings of pasta in. Once the water is boiling, start your sauce.

Heat the oil and butter over medium heat in a pan, and then add the garlic and shallot. After it becomes fragrant (1-2 minute), add in the can of clams (with the juice) plus a pinch of red pepper flakes (or more if you like it spicy!)

BJTT 134

Cook that together while the pasta boils (8 minutes for the quinoa spaghetti), then toss the pasta directly into the sauce pan and mix it up.

BJTT 138

This was SOOOOO good. I was kind of shocked at how delicious/buttery it tasted with only 1 tbsp of light butter in there, and I didn’t even end up using parmesan because I didn’t need it at all. The whole recipe is 10 points on WW, so half is just 5, which is low for a butter based sauce over pasta!

BJTT 142

I served half of the pasta with a salad topped with tomatoes, craisins, and sunflower seeds (doesn’t really match, I know) plus a piece of toasted 7 grain bread with a little butter and some garlic powder. To be honest, I was a little wary of using the canned clams. I bought them almost a year ago when they were on sale but they kept getting pushed further and further back in my pantry. Yesterday I had plans to make a sweet potato and butternut squash soup, but on the metro home I realized what I really wanted was pasta with white clam sauce, so I went with it and am so glad I did. It totally hit the spot and I practically licked my plate clean because it was so delicious.

BJTT 146

Practically is a loose term for actually… 🙂

Do you ever change up your meal plan if you’re craving something different, or are you good about sticking to the plan? What is your favorite dish to order out at an Italian restaurant?

16 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of quinoa spaghetti OR clams in can before! Interesting!

  2. this sounds wonderful… I am craving pasta now – I have that very same pasta in my pantry !!

    I always change plans for cravings… ALWAYS ! 😀

  3. Hey Beth, found your site through your comment on that other site about the cooking show. I’l be there too, I am volunteering Saturday afternoon! See ya! This will be my first time attending any sort of a culinary event, I only got into cooking some two years ago.

    And if you are looking for new inspirations, checkout my cooking site, http://www.slovakcooking.com. There I post traditional recipes from my home country, Slovakia. But bit of warning, Slovak food is not exactly vegeterian friendly. The closest we seem to come to vegetarian dishes is fried cheese. But we do eat a lot of fish, which I guess you eat too. Our main Christmas dinner course is breaded fried carp served with potato salad.

  4. This looks good! Thanks for posting the WW points. I count points sometimes. Probably should count them more often.

    What do you think of the quinoa pasta?

  5. My favorite dish to order is definitely gnocchi. I think Potenza in DC does the best version (outside of Italy) ever! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  6. Beth, I love spaghetti with clam sauce–although my mom always makes it with fresh clams so I’m not sure how the canned stuff would work.

    At the same time, it’s definitely worth a shot! Especially because the canned clams are so much cheaper 🙂

    I like that you’re doing a $50 a week challenge. I am so awful about spending money on food that I would be pleased to spend $50 in three days, haha.

    • You know I’m used to having it with fresh clams too and to be honest I was kind of shocked at how delicious the canned ones were! I want to stock up on those since its such an easy, quick, and delicious meal! 🙂

  7. oooh I wish I could find quinoa spaghetti in australia! Sounds interesting!

  8. I pretty much stick to the plan if it involves cooking for someone else, too. I hate making last minute decisions and being indecisive, though. But if it’s just me, I’m fine with changin’ it up:)

  9. My cousin recommended this blog and she was totally right keep up the fantastic work!

  10. That’s my favorite brand of quinoa pasta! So good. I don’t really have a meal plan… so I make what I am in the mood for… if I have the ingredients and time.

    In Italian restaurants I love to order eggplant parm, but recently I have been trying to make better choices.

  11. I like clam chowder but I don’t know about clam sauce — sounds interesting though!

    I’m pretty good with sticking to my plan for meals, but sometimes I just decide to go with something simpler: eggs/toast, big salad, chipotle, you get the idea.

  12. […] Quinoa Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce […]

  13. Canned clams have always made me nervous too – not sure why though.

    I definitely change up the menu based on cravings, sleepy factor, laziness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

