• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Snack Attack Ideas

Whenever 3:30/4:00 pm rolls around, the one thing I can count on is my stomach to start grumbling. Before I was really successful with losing weight and leading a healthy lifestyle, I used to think that eating as little as possible was the ultimate secret to losing weight.  I would have a light lunch and then try to pretend I wasn’t hungry for an afternoon snack and resist eating as much as possible. But then, I couldn’t stand it anymore and would eat everything in sight and inevitably end up ravenous. Obviously, I was wrong.

Once I came to terms with the fact that snacking between meals could actually a good thing and could help stabilize my blood sugar, as well as keep me from becoming ravenous, I started experimenting with different snacks to see what would work best. When I was following Weight Watchers, I would try to find the lowest point snacks possible so that I wasn’t taking away too many points from what I could have at my meals. I would often have veggies, a piece of fruit, or plain popcorn. While all these are good for you and good for snacks, they wouldn’t fill me up at all and I would find my body screaming for something else not long after I was done. Eating several low point things would add up to eating just one 3-4 point snack that actually kept me satisfied for a few hours.

I found that the trick to finding a satisfying snack that would actually hold me over until dinner was to combine protein, carbs, and healthy fats.

Veggies or fruit are a great start, but I had to pair them with something so that it would actually keep me full for a few hours. Having a carbohydrate-rich food with a protein chaser or healthy fat helps keep your blood sugar elevated and keeps you satisfied for longer. Carbs give you an immediate source of energy that powers your brain. Fat slows the digestion of the carbohydrate, causing it to slowly absorb into the bloodstream so that your blood sugar doesn’t spike. Protein helps keep you full for longer and helps maintain your blood sugar level.

Carbohydrate Ideas:

  • Fruit (apple, berries, banana)
  • Rice Cakes
  • Whole Grain Crackers
  • Wasa Crackers
  • English Muffin
  • Whole Wheat or Rye Bread
  • Granola (but be careful with serving size on this one)

Protein/Healthy Fats:

  • Nut Butters
  • Hummus
  • Low-Fat/Fat-Free Milk
  • Non-fat/lowfat yogurt
  • Nuts
  • Cottage Cheese
  • Sliced Cheese
  • String Cheese
  • Mashed Avocado
  • Laughing Cow Cheese

So the best snacks are ones that are something from the carbohydrates list paired with something from the protein/healthy fat list.

Some good combo ideas are:

  • Whole Grain Cereal with Low-Fat Milk
  • Nut Butter with rice cakes, celery, apple, or banana
  • Hummus and baby carrots
  • String Cheese and Fruit
  • Nonfat yogurt with granola
  • crackers and hummus
  • cottage cheese and berries
  • handful of nuts or almonds
  • laughing cow cheese and apple
  • slice of cheese and cherry tomatoes
  • mashed avocado on whole grain bread
  • Cottage Cheese on Wasa Crackers

Are you a snacker? What is your favorite, most satisfying snack? I know some people don’t need an afternoon snack, but I really do. If I don’t have one I end up SO hungry by the time I get home around 5:30/5:45 I’ve barely dropped my purse before I’m elbow deep in my cupboard grabbing anything and everything I can get my hands on!

10 Responses

  1. I am DEFINITELY a snacker! I love toast with peanut butter. It is so simple but always so filling and satisfying.

  2. Great post! When I first started Weight Watchers I didn’t understand this important element of blending nutrients and I would overeat all the time because of it.

    I love snacks, and tend to lean towards raw nuts or fruit. But I have been less and less into snacks lately, not sure why, but it has been a big change from my early days.

  3. I love smoothies or yoghurt/granola or apple/PB when the snack monster hits!

  4. I love lattes with low fat milk because it has protein, fat and carbs!

  5. I religiously eat plain greek yogurt, almost every afternoon!!! I usually add some sort of fruit such as blueberries, strawberries, or apples. I also tend to add homemade granola and/or puffed millet , which I love!! It’s only 60 calories per 1 cup!!! It has a fun texture and mixes well with my yogurt:).
    I’m curious to know what you think about the tofurkey!! i recently started eating it instead of turkey for lunch. I like it, but I have to say it looks and kind of feels gross. Your thoughts?

  6. ahhh im gonna let my mom see these lists! she always goes for candy lol

    rice cakes with pb & j smeared on top were always my go-to snack in college. They hit the spot!

  7. I love apples with peanut butter. It keeps me full for a long time. Right now I just use RF peanut butter but I’m thinking I should find a better option.

  8. Oh, I am a snacker for sure. The one thing I try not to do anymore is mindlessly snack. I used to sit in front of the tv and down 400-600 calories of chips or pretzels without even realizing it. When I snack now, it’s deliberate. My go-to snacks are a mix of salty and sweet– that way I get both of those cravings out of the way before dinner! Been eating apple slices with some swiss cheese a lot lately.

  9. A few wheat thins and some light cream cheese is a good snack too. It fills me up.

  10. […] I decided to go with my idea to do one for Whole Foods Snack Ideas as well. I had already written a post about snacks before, but this time I decided to update it and customize it a bit more towards following Weight Watchers […]

Leave a Reply

