• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

POM Party Goods

So remember how I told you guys I was selected to be an Official POM Dinner Party Host? The party has to take place sometime next week between Monday the 8th and Sunday the 14th, so I was expecting to receive some stuff in the mail any day. Well, yesterday was that day…

POM Packages

I had no idea they would be sending so much stuff! I knew they were sending 2 cases of POMs, but I figured the cases would hold 6 or 12 each… however, they each held 22!

44 POMs

Aka I received 44 pomegranates in the mail yesterday!!

I’m not going to lie – they didn’t seem to transport too well. A lot of the box was died with pom juice and there are a few broken in there, but most of them held together OK and since I have 44, there’s a little room for things like that to happen. 🙂

On top of the POMs, they sent a POM Apron:

POM Apron

A little inappro but I love it.

A POM cutting board…

POM mat

And gift bags for all the dinner party guests…

GiftBags

Wowza! So much stuff.

I wasted no time showing Charlotte and Nora how to open a pomegranate the right way (over water so there’s no mess!)

BJTT 039

And we used some in our salads for last night’s Kids in the Kitchen evening.

BJTT 158

I also used some in this morning’s breakfast.

POM Breakfast Bowl

  • ~1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup Flax Plus Pumpkin Granola
  • pomegranate seeds
  • chia seeds

Pomegranate seeds are just stunning.

BeautifulArils

They make me feel so fancy to eat. Especially when I open them the right way so I and everything I own don’t end up stained red. 🙂

Are you a pomegranate fan? What’s your favorite way to use ‘em?

21 Responses

  1. LOVE the apron – but I’m TOTALLY inappropriate 🙂 I don’t have much experience with pomegranate personally. Have you ever bought the seeds at TJ? I’m wondering how fresh they are. Would love to try more!

  2. that apron is amazing. I can’t believe you have so many pomegranates. How long do they stay fresh? I can’t wait to see all the ways you come up with to eat them.

  3. The apron is great! I love it!

    I am a Pom lover, but I have never really branched out to try it different ways. I am intrigued to explore the options now.

  4. Hahaha I love your apron!! I like the pomegranate seeds just plain by themselves to snack on or in some sort of salad or yogurt.

  5. Great tip to pull the seeds out under water. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  6. Beth I’m so happy for you for getting this prize but to be honest I am super jealous. I wanted to win one of those aprons so badly 😦 Maybe next year!

  7. Love that apron! 44 pomegranates! Im excited to see how creative you get with them 🙂

  8. That apron kills me.

    I love it!

  9. I love pomegranates! I like to eat them by itself but if I’m gonna get a little fancy – I love making a sauce to put over a savory dish! Totally a versatile fruit! 🙂

  10. What a great idea to add the seeds to a salad!

  11. I LOVE that apron! I want one!

    I love pomegranate so much. I’m sure your party will be a huge success!

  12. Whew! Can’t wait to see how the party turns out. They are big in Israel (I’m Jewish) and I remember an old hebrew school teacher with a thick Israeli accent called them “pom grenades”

    Haha!

  13. wow. that is a lot of pomegranate! Must have taken forever to get the seeds out! I have one sitting on my counter at home that I need to break into. Can’t wait! Yum!

  14. Omg! That is so many pomegranates!! Haha!

  15. I love pomegranates! I eat them plain or mixed with yogurt. BTW I LOVE that apron!!!!

  16. A resturant here does an enchilada with mole and pomegranate seeds on top. It is to DIE for!

  17. That apron makes me giggle 🙂 I love Trader Joe’s chocolate covered pomegranate seeds!!

  18. I LOVE that apron !! ❤

    I am so excited for you and your dinner party – so awesome !!

  19. That salad looks soo good. I just bought a pomegrante at the store and was thinking about throwing it in a salad.
    Love the apron!

  20. Hahaha, I love that apron!

    I do love poms, but prefer to just cut them in half and pick them like a blue crab. Although I end up making a big mess. Just this morning I had to wash pom juice off the wall from snacking on one last night. Whoops!

  21. […] selected as 1 of 100 people across the country to host a POM Wonderful Dinner Party and received a bunch of goods from POM Wonderful the week before the party, including 44 (!!!) pomegranates, a POM apron, cutting […]

Leave a Reply

