• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sunday Night Dinner

So after returning from Philly and sleeping for almost 12 hours, I went to church and then to the grocery store to pick up a few things. Since I had spent $23 at Whole Foods on Tuesday, I had $27 left to spend for my $50 budget. I wanted to pick up some things for dinner last night as well as a few lunches, and ended up spending just under $29, or $2 over budget. I’m OK with that. 🙂

HarrisTeeterLoot

For $29, I got:

  • 3 bananas
  • Silk Light Vanilla Soy Milk
  • Frank’s Red Hot
  • Wheat Sub Rolls (pack of 4)
  • Chopped Walnuts
  • 2 Parsnips
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 red onion
  • green bell pepper
  • 1 avocado
  • Fresh Express Salad Mix
  • 1 pound of fresh head-on shrimp (on sale for 5.99 a pound instead of 12.99!!)
  • Reduced Fat Provolone Cheese

Not too shabby! Any guesses on what was for dinner?

Grilled Veggie Hoagies with Parsnip and Carrot Fries!

First, I took the parnsips.

Parsnip

Peeled them.

PeeledParsnips

Chopped them into fry shapes.

ParsnipFries

Then added a few carrots for good measure.

ParsnipandCarrotfries

I tossed them in 1 tbsp olive oil and then a generous sprinkling of sea salt, and placed them in the 400º preheated oven on a greased baking sheet for 35 minutes, turning once until they were brown and crispy.

FinishedFries

While those were baking, I grilled up the veggies on my grill pan, starting with the onions and peppers.

PeppersandOnions

The peppers were finished so I swapped them out with the squash…

OnionsandSquash

Until all the veggies were done grilling.

GrilledVeggies 

I took one of the sub rolls and put down a layer of sprouts and then loaded it up with the grilled veggies…

VeggieSub

Then topped it with one slice of cheese and threw it back in the oven for a minute or two until the cheese got melty. Topped with a few banana peppers and paired with the fries… it made a perfect Sunday night dinner.

HoagieandFries

The sub was loaded with veggies, so it was pretty healthy even though you don’t typically think of a sub as being so…

LoadedwVeggies

And it tasted incredible. The fries were perfect, too. The leftovers for lunch today were just as good… I don’t know why I don’t grill veggies more on that thing – they get so sweet and flavorful when grilled!

So one “funny” thing is that I have to take steroids for 5 days (and benadryl and allergy meds) to make sure the allergic reaction that landed me in the hospital Saturday has totally subsided. The doctor told me I can expect to gain 5 pounds of water weight (joy), as well as experienced “an enhanced personality” while on the steroids. I asked what that meant, and he whispered I may get bitchy for the next 5 days. I’m a little bitchy as it is so bear with me… 🙂

What is your favorite kind of fry? I have a hard time descriminating because fries are one of my favorite things, but I loooooove sweet potato fries and curly fries pretty equally. 🙂

18 Responses

  1. Beth, that looks absolutely wonderful!! I so, so, so love sweet potato fries. They are my absolute favorite. We just went to a new restaurant here in Philly called The Burger Bar and they had garlic parmesean fries and they are a close second. They were delicious as well as the burgers.

    Sorry to hear about your allergic reaction. Any idea what it was from?

    I remember going to the hospital when I was a teenager because I was breaking out in hives. Here it is some type of reaction to severely cold weather. I get red itchy hives on my fingers, legs and elbows.

    • No clue what it was from! I have a call into my PCP and will probably schedule allergy testing to find out…

      And garlic parmesan fries? YUM!

  2. I had to take a couple different steroids for a bit, and yes… the weight gain is CRAZY weird (I puffed up!) and hee – I love the term “enhanced personality”. wee!!

    that sandwich looks AWESOME… love grilled veggies!

  3. First, so sorry to hear about the ER ordeal…and holding onto water weight, even though not permanent, is really rough. The last time I was in the ER was summer 2009 with what turned out to be a kidney problem, so I know more than I ever wanted to about water weight fluctuation. Sipping on water all day long will help minimize that, and I’ve always found that stretching/yoga/self massage can also minimize swelling.

    I adore baked sweet potato “fries” dusted with cumin. I actually like them better baked!

    • I know I already look a little puffy, but hopefully itll go away before it gets TOO bad. I am on a taper of steroids so I took 5 yesterday, then 4 today, then 3, etc, so we’ll see!

  4. That looks like a much better version of a Subway sandwich. I just made carrot fries last week, but have never done parsnip fries. Are they super carbie like potatoes?

  5. I LOVE roasted parsnips! but I’ve never thought of making them into fries. Awesome idea!

  6. now THAT is my kinda dinner!! YUMMO!

  7. Holy yum that looks good. Like a homemade version of the subway veggie delight – bet it tasted a lot better though! xxx

  8. I’ve yet to try roasting veggies. They look so good!

  9. There is all this hype over cupcakes – but I think the real great show/book/store is the one dedicated to all things sweet potato fries. Uhhhhh, they are just sooo good.

  10. Sorry to hear about your allergic reaction! I hope they figure out what it is from!

    I’ve never had parsnips. They look so intimidating!

  11. I went shopping tonight and came in under budget at $48! Woo!

    I can’t believe I managed this because I went in with no list whatsoever.

  12. I think sweet potato fries are my favorite. Your sub looks delicious. I think I just drooled a little!

  13. I love my home-made oven fries!! Although…I bought a 5-lb bag a few weeks ago and made the whole bag and put them in the freezer. Ever since I finish those, I think I over dosed it on potatoes and I’m taking a hiatus!

  14. mmmm loving all of the veggies! i ❤ bnut squash or sweet tater fries.. but still really want to try the parsnip kind one day!

  15. oohh – that veggie sandwich sounds like the perfect Sunday dinner!

  16. […] The grill pan I have goes over two burners on my stove, and has one side that has grill marks, and one side that is flat like a griddle. This is it. It’s AWESOME and something I would highly recommend getting for your kitchen if you like to grill and have limited access to an outdoor grill like me, because I live in an apartment. Feel free to ask me any other questions about the grill pan – – there’s some pictures of it in action on this post. […]

Leave a Reply

