• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

20 Minute Meals – Chili Lime Shrimp with Avocado, Corn, and Tomato Salad

This morning I woke up early to get in a great workout to start the day off right. I tried to get up a little earlier than I actually rolled out of bed, so I only had 50 minutes to workout, but I really think I made the most of it. Here’s what I did:

  • 250 jumping jacks total (5 sets of 50)
  • 3 sets of 15 reps of shoulder press at 10 lbs (I’m weak!)
  • 3 sets of 15 reps of chest press at 20 lbs
  • 3 sets of 15 reps of lat pull downs at 55 lbs
  • 2 sets of 15 triceps curls with a 15 pound free weight
  • 2 sets of 15 bicep curls with a static lunge (one set on each leg)
  • 30 minutes on the elliptical at level 10 on random

Whew! I was sweating pretty hardcore towards the end of that workout. I started with 50 jumping jacks and then did the 4 other sets between the weights. I’m also so glad my workout is already done for the day because I have lots to do tonight and now I actually have time to do it! 🙂

Post workout breakfast was Pomegranate Loaded Toast.

LoadedToast

Isn’t is pretty? It was delicious, too.

  • 1 arnold thin
  • smear of almond butter (bottom of the container!)
  • 1 medium mashed banana
  • pom seeds
  • chia seeds

PomToast

Yum.

Lunch today was leftovers from last night’s dinner. It felt fancy, but literally took 20 minutes from start to finish – my favorite kind of meal.

Chili Lime Shrimp with Avocado, Corn, and Tomato Salad.

I took 1 pound of shrimp and cleaned/deveined them, and then marinated them in the juice of half a lime, 1/2 tsp chili powder, and 1/2 tsp salt.

MarinatingShrimp

I let those marinate for about 10 minutes while I prepared the salad to go with – 1/2 of an avocado, 1 tomato, and 1 cup frozen corn, thawed – all chopped and mixed together. I juiced the other half of the lime and added some fresh chopped cilantro, too.

Salad

Once the salad was prepared, I preheated the broiler to high, and laid the shrimp out on the broiling pan over foil.

BJTT 193

Into the broiler for 2 minutes, flipped and then back in for 2 more = 4 minutes and shrimp cooked!

BJTT 195

That’s it!

BJTT 201

BJTT 198

Served with two toasted corn tortillas.

BJTT 197

DELICIOUS. I don’t know why I don’t broil more often – it heats up way quicker than the oven (mine does, anyway!) and it makes preparing meals take so much less time!

Head-On Shrimp kind of scare people. I used to be one of them. Then Wil made a seafood risotto one night a few years ago with mussels, clams, and head on shrimp on top and I made a face at the bowl but he said just try it, so the obedient girlfriend that I am, I did. Leaving the heads on adds SO much flavor to the shrimp, and now I try to buy head-on shrimp anytime I can find them. These ones are usually 12.99 a pound at my store, but were on sale for 5.99 a pound, so I could not refuse!

Are you a fan of shellfish or fish in general? What’s your favorite type? Have you ever had shrimp with the head on it before or is that just not your thing?

17 Responses

  1. This looks delicious!! Fish is the only meat I eat. I like scallops, but I’m not a huge fan of shrimp!

  2. I love how you put pom seeds on your toast. That’s great!

  3. Nope, don’t like shellfish. I personally can’t stand the texture of it in my mouth.

    But I must say the avocado, corn, and tomato salad looked delicious! I would pair it with chicken for me. ^_^

  4. I love shellfish and all types of fish. I could probably eat it everyday and not get sick of it. There’s just too many choices to choose from, but my favorites are definitely shrimp, scallops, and mussels. 🙂

  5. I love shellfish and all seafood but shrimp is my favorite 🙂 I’ve never purchased the head on shrimp because it does scare me! It reminds me of the scene in Julie and Julia when Julie has to boil the live lobsters…eek!!

  6. Um, I want every single thing you ate today, please.

    I love shellfish bigtime, and even though I gave up meat and chicken, I really can’t give up fish, it’s just too damn good.

  7. Oh that dinner looks sooo good.

    I love shellfish so much. I also have access to fresh local seafood, but of course my Husband hates it. So I don’t buy it very often.

  8. I admit to being one of those scared of head on shrimp. They freak me out. I don’t like my food looking at me. LOL

    That workout sounds like a goody!

  9. Everything looks delicious!

    I love shellfish. I love scallops. I love almost everything from the sea. However, it creeps me out when anything still has the head left on it. I can’t stand when food can look at me.

  10. Why oh why have I not gotten a pomigranate yet this season?! I do want that bread right about now…

  11. oooh love your breakfast!!! YUMMO!

  12. Great workout!

    I don’t like fish, but lurve seafood. Scallops and crab are my favorites. I don’t care for unpeeled shrimp or crawfish. I always end up eating some legs, which kind of grosses me out.

  13. I love shellfish… any kind! Crabs are my favorite, but I only get them a few times a year. I usually save some as I’m picking them so I can have some crab meat during the winter. I’ve never had shrimp with the head on it though.
    I just picked my pomegranate. I’m going to use it for my salad tonight, but your breakfast looks great. Might have to try a few that way.

  14. Head on shrimp do scare me…actually I’m not a huge fan of shrimp. A few months ago I had some shrimp that tasted awful and ever since then I can’t stand the sight or taste of shrimp.

    I love your pom loaded toast! It looks so pretty 🙂

  15. I love all seafood. That shrimp looks really tasty!

  16. I make a recipe with a slaw like this with pan seared scallops and a bit of balsamic in the slaw. Its super simple and easy and yummy.

  17. I am not a shrimpie lover but your pictures do look yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

