• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Goal and Exercise Check-In

Free Myspace Glitters @ GlitterUniverse.com

I realize I haven’t really talked about exercise too much on here lately, but luckily it’s because I’ve had other stuff to write about and not because I haven’t been doing it (which is usually the case). Here a recap of my weekly workouts:

  • Monday – AM weights and 22 minutes on the treadmill
  • Tuesday – rest
  • Wednesday – 45 minutes on the elliptical and upper body weights
  • Thursday – rest
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday – Lithe and 3 mile run
  • Sunday – rest
  • Monday – 45 minutes AM Yoga On Demand (called Yoga for Beauty – ugh)

So 4 workouts in one week (I’m counting Saturday as 2) is fine with me. I think I might have worked out on Thursday and am just forgetting what I did… hmm.

Anyways, here were my goals from last week and how I did on them:

  1. Strength train twice. Check. Weights on Wednesday and Lithe on Saturday.
  2. Run at least once. – Check. 3 mile run on Saturday.
  3. Take $50 out (CASH) and only use that for food shopping/the farmers market between now and next Tuesday. – Went over by under $2 so I say check. 🙂
  4. Only go out to dinner on Friday but other than that cook at home. – I did cook at home all week and went out to dinner Friday, but I did eat at Baja Fresh after church on Sunday. One dinner and one lunch isn’t so bad during a week when the dinner was “free” and the lunch was at a fast place so cost $20 for the two of us.
  5. Limit alcohol consumption to Friday night only. Check! No alcohol during the week or over the weekend besides Friday night.
  6. Pick out a new book to start reading. My friend Amber bought me a book called Half Baked which is a non fiction book that she heard about on NPR which takes a comical look at a situation very similar to what my sister is in. I want to read it first then will probably pass it onto Wendy if it seems appropriate… so check. 🙂

This weekly goal thing is really working for me! Here’s what I hope to accomplish this week:

  1. Work out at least 4 times. This is going to involve a lot of morning workouts since I have things to do after work almost daily.
  2. Include at least 1 run and 2 days of strength training.
  3. Only food shop this week for the POM Dinner party and make meals off of what I purchased yesterday and what’s in my pantry/freezer. Try to limit personal spending on food to under $100 for a party for 10 adults. Wil will be purchasing a few things wholesale from work including the main course, but I am trying to be very cost conscious for this party.
  4. Cook at home for all meals if possible to limit extraneous spending outside of the party.
  5. Throw an awesome POM dinner party!
  6. Limit drinking to the POM Party and then the party I have on Saturday evening – nothing else during the week/weekend.
  7. Make it to church on Sunday despite being out on Saturday night.
  8. Don’t let myself get too stressed with party planning/executing – enjoy it!

All these goals seem to be centered around the party but still maintaining a sort of normalcy while preparing for it. I don’t really throw parties that much, so as you can tell its stressing me out just a little bit but I plan to knock off a few things a day between now and then so it feels more do-able.

How was your week in terms of goals? Did you accomplish what you set out to? Do you have any goals for yourself this week?

4 Responses

  1. I’m so excited to see your POM party!!! Good luck with the planning, shopping, etc. I’m sure it will be a great time 🙂

    My goals for the week: stick to my eating/exercise plan for the next few days — in Vegas the goal is to exercise every day (even if it is just lots of walking around), not go overboard on the booze and to ENJOY the food we eat. I’m not going to stuff myself but I want to have a good time and not worry.

  2. 4 times a week is a great goal. im amazed that some people can do more than that. sometimes i only get a workout in two times a week- but 4 is optimal. 3 days off is necessary for the body and well, the mind as well! ❤

  3. love how you keep track of your goals! Taking cash while going grocery shopping is really smart.

    This week I’d love to find a job, move into the new apt, and buy a warm jacket 🙂

    glad it’s only tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

