• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Brown Sugar Glazed Tofu

Last night between running around to five (yes, FIVE) stores to shop for groceries, I somehow made a delicious dinner that didn’t take long at all.

In the morning, I pressed the tofu, so it was all ready to marinate when I got home from work.

For the marinade, I added to a bowl:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp crushed garlic
  • 1/2 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

Tofu Marinade Ingredients

I mixed it all together to make a thick and sweet marinade for the tofu:

Tofu Marinade Mixed Up

Then I cut up the tofu and coated it in the marinade before placing it in the fridge and running out for round one of shopping.

Tofu Marinating

After an hour or so when I returned, I heated the oven to 375º and put the tofu in.

Tofu Ready to Bake

30 minutes (flipping once) and it was done!

FinishedTofu

I also made some kale chips to go with the tofu, by tossing the kale in 1 tbsp of olive oil and some salt, and then laying it out on a baking pan.

KaleChipsReadytoGo

After about 20 minutes (watch them!) they get crispy and are ready to eat!

FinishedKaleChips

That whole tray plus half the tofu = delicious dinner. 🙂

TofuandKale

It was a tie between which one was better – but the tofu might have taken the cake. That marinade was AWESOME and would work really well with any type of protein – chicken, fish, shrimp, pork, etc.

TofuDinner

Leftovers for lunch = happy belly = happy beth. 🙂

Two quick things:

1.) I will be traveling to Kansas City, MO one week from today for work. Is anyone from there/would want to get dinner/drinks next Wednesday (the 17th?)

2.) Call for Guest Posts – While out of town next Wednesday – Friday, it’s going to be hard for me to blog so if you would be interested in guest posting on Beth’s Journey, please email me at bethklein@gmail.com and let me know what you’d like to write about! You don’t have to have a blog, but if you do I’ll definitely link to it and would love to have some action on here even if I’m unable to write myself!

What is your favorite marinade? Love new ideas!

7 Responses

  1. Last night I made a slightly similar rub for salmon! I used brown sugar, chilli powder, cumin, sea salt, and ground pepper. I used a little olive oil to coat the fish and then rubbed away!!!!

  2. Don’t have a marinade to share right now, but had to comment on your running around to five groceries. I go to three almost every week and thought that was too much. Glad to hear I’m not the only one.

  3. I recently had to go to 3 different stores to find my whole list… mostly vegetables… I felt like it was an apocalypse or something – nobody had fresh vegetables and I got kinda freaked out!!

  4. oooh that tofu looks delish!!!

  5. OMG!

    WE MUST GET TOGETHERRRRRR

    AAHHHHH!!!

    Hit me on fb or email♥

  6. Ok that tofu marinade looks awesome. I just made my first batch of kale chips the other day!

  7. […] cheap. My three favorite ways to use it are in casseroles (like my cheesy kale, squash pasta bake), kale chips, and massaged kale […]

Leave a Reply

