• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Outdoor v. Treadmill Running Experience

Morning! Yesterday I was slightly depressed when I realized it was Tuesday and not Wednesday, but today I am a-ok with it being Wednesday and not Thursday. In preparation for the POM Party, I went to 5 stores last night. First, Costco, then Harris Teeter, than another Harris Teeter, than to Shoppers. Then back out to Harris Teeter because Wil needed some gelatin for the pom jelly he made last night. Whew! About a month ago I was sent coupons for free Fresh Express salad from Foodbuzz, so I knew I wanted the first course to be a salad. The only trouble is, I can only buy one bag per purchase, so that is part of the reason I zipped around to so many stores last night. That said, I was able to do really well with deals since I went to three different places to get things. I ended up getting everything on my list for just $84 but I did save $10 on 4 bags of salad. 🙂

I am glad to report that today I am three for three days in a row waking up for an AM workout! Since I have a lot to do at night this week, I’ve been trying to get up early to get my workouts in since time is super limited after work. Monday I did a 45 yoga DVD in my living room, yesterday I did weights and the elliptical, and today I woke up and got in a good run on the treadmill. Here’s what I did:

  • 5 minutes: Warmup at 5.5mph (10:54 pace)
  • 5-30 minutes: Run at 6.2 mph (9:40 pace)
  • 30-40 minutes: Run at 6.0 mph (10:00pace)
  • 40-45 minutes Cooldown at 5.5 mph (10:54 pace)
  • Total: 45 minutes, 4.5 miles, 653 calories (according to the treadmill)

I go back and forth between loving/hating the treadmill. Background is that when I first starting running, I did it exclusively on the treadmill. (Full story here). I loved that I could gauge my pace and know exactly when to switch from walking to running during the c25k program. After a few months on the treadmill, I transitioned outside and it was ROUGH at first. I felt like I had lost everything I had gained during my work inside on the treadmill, and really struggled through the first few runs outside. After the first few runs, it got a lot easier, and I started loving outdoor running. In fact, the only indoor running I would do was for intervals since I like to do those by mileage/time and I just find it easier on the treadmill.

Today, when I upped the speed to 6.2 mph (9:40 pace) it felt FAST. I was struggling to keep up at the beginning and then after 25 minutes decided to bring it down to 10:00 miles. When I run outside, a 9:40 pace is comfortable. I don’t feel like I’m pushing myself at all, its just the natural pace I fall into, if not faster sometimes. I had the incline at 1.0, so that may have had something to do with it, but its just strange what a difference in effort running on the treadmill v. running outdoors can be! That said, I did actually really enjoy the run today. I got to watch the Today Show on TV while running so it went by pretty quickly.

After the run, I attempted a breakfast parfait but it got really messy…

BJTT 223 So I just ended up pouring it into a bowl for a breakfast mess…

BJTT 225 

In the mix:

  • Nonfat greek yogurt (~1/3 cup)
  • Cottage Cheese (~ 2 tbsp)
  • Pom Seeds
  • Canned Pumpkin
  • Chia Seeds
  • Rolled Oats

Though not pretty, ‘twas delicious and really satisfying. I was thinking oatmeal, but after I got done all I wanted was something cold.

What are your thoughts on running on the treadmill v. outside?  Have you transitioned between them or do you stick with one or the other? Which do you like better?

18 Responses

  1. I prefer to run outside…but with time change I think some of my evening runs will have to be moved to the treadmill sadly enough.

  2. Ohhh that yogurt mess looks GOOD. I prefer running outside, but when it gets icy in the winter, I hit the treadmill. It’s just not worth trying to jump over ice patches and potentially breaking your neck! I always have to play games with myself when I’m on the treadmill though…it never goes by quick enough!

    • Haha I do the SAME thing! Mental games with the numbers as I approach different milestones with distance, time, or calorie burn. It helps!

  3. I am the exact same story as you, I started on the ‘Mill, then moved outside. First I hated it and over time started loving being outside. Now with DST I am going to have to transition back to the dreadmill. Boo.

    Have fun with your POM party!

  4. I’m the same story. Started running exclusively on a treadmill, moved outside. Now it’s really really hard for me to run on a treadmill. Mentally of course, but also I felt like the same speed always felt much faster on the ‘mill too.

  5. I think incorporating both are important. I prefer outdoor running, but have fallen slave to the treadmill out of convenience and lack of time (to drive to the forest preserve/daylight issues).

    I know I should sneak a few more outdoor runs into my routine on the weekends- I got a real slap in the face at my race when my lungs were feeling the burn from the cold!

    But yeah, treadmills are awesome for keeping stats, knowing when to walk or run, etc.

  6. I agree with you! The treadmill pace always feels faster than an outside pace even if they are the same. I like running outside better though sometimes the treadmill is easier because you can cut runs short if you feel like it 😉

  7. I hate treadmills. I am going to have to suck it up soon though!

    I can’t wait to see your POM dinner party.

  8. I much prefer to run outside, but I can handle treadmills… and right now that’s what I’m doing because it’s so dark in the early morning and early evening!

    looking forward to your party post – sounds like it’s going to be a great one!!

  9. Clearly, running/walking outside on a trail among nature and pretty scenery is ideal. But you’ve also then got safety considerations, where to put keys, carry water, etc. to worry about.

    There’s something kind of comforting about just being able to walk into the gym without any preparation aside from getting dressed… dropping your water bottle in the holder, your keys in the other holder, and just get right to it… without a care in the world for your safety.

  10. That breakfast “mess” looks delicious! 🙂

    I’m not a big runner but when I do I prefer to do it on a treadmill-feels better for me!

  11. Sometimes outside is easier for me, sometimes the treadmill is easier. It is weird! I wish they could just feel exactly the same and I could transition back and forth with no problem.

  12. I hate the treadmill. It’s excruciatingly boring. I like a change of scenery. Plus it’s not quite the same workout as running outside.

  13. i go through phases with the mill too. Sometimes I love being able to watch TV and run or using it for intervals to really keep me on pace.. other days it just seems awful.

    I am wishing it was Friday if that makes you feel better about mixing up your days 🙂

  14. I run on the treadmill when I absolutely have to, but mix it up by using it for sprint training on steep inclines because you really have to push yourself or you fall off. 🙂 It makes it more fun, but the treadmill is super boring overall.

    How do you motivate yourself to get out of bed in the mornings? On days when my husband has to work I am fine, but when he isn’t up early it is so hard for me to tell myself to get up. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

