• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Morning Workouts

Happy Veteran’s Day! I hope that you are not working this morning like I am. 🙂 It felt weird coming in on the metro since there were SO few people on it.

I spent hours last night cleaning my apartment and doing prep work for tonight. You know what the hardest part was? Ironing the 12’ black table cloth!! I just got it, so it was new out of the package and creased along the entire thing. It took me over an hour to do it and not even well. I have to redo it again today so it looks normal but its a lot better than it was at least. Boo.

I woke up pretty early today and was planning to do yoga, but I started doing this YogaWorks Slim Down On Demand thing and I just wasn’t feeling it. I did it for 20 minutes or so and then aborted mission and took a shower instead. Today was day 4 of getting up early in the mornings, so I was pretty proud even though I didn’t get a full workout in.

I’ve had a few people ask me about getting up in the AM and do I have any tips, and I honestly do not think I’m qualified to answer that just because I am normally so bad about it, but this week I’ve had so much to do at night that I haven’t really had a choice. I have to say that its actually been awesome getting out of work at 5/5:30 and already having my workout done and the whole evening ahead of me! I hope to be able to continue to do this a few days a week since it frees up my evenings.

Some of the top tips I have for getting out of bed in the morning are:

  1. Set your alarm and place it away from your bed. This way you HAVE to get out of bed to turn the alarm off. Once I actually get out from under the covers its easier to stay awake than if my phone alarm is right next to my bed and I just reach my hand out blindly and turn it off and go back to sleep.
  2. Wear your workout clothes to bed or have them laid out the night before. If you’re doing something like yoga especially where comfy clothes are the attire, sleep in your yoga pants! That way, when you get up all you have to do is roll out of bed and you’re almost ready to go.
  3. Have a plan and mentally prepare for it! If I just want to “work out” and don’t have an actual plan like elliptical and weights or running or something like that, I find it a lot harder to get motivated to get out of bed than when I have a plan.
  4. Go to bed early enough that waking up is reasonable. If I’m up too late the night before, realistically I am not going to wake up early in the morning and I just have to accept that.
  5. Make sure you don’t work out later the evening before. Two workouts in 12 hours can be rough on the body and you might not be refreshed enough.
  6. Reward yourself! I like this one the best. 🙂 I always try to have a really delicious breakfast or coffee already brewed as soon as I get back from my workout, so that it gives me motivation to not only get up, but keeps me thinking about it the whole time I’m working out and helps the time fly.

Today’s reward (even though I didn’t really work out!) was a delicious bowl of hot oats – first one all week!

BJTT 250

In the mix:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup scottish oats
  • 2 tbsp peanut flour (protein!!)
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • Pom seeds
  • FlaxPlus Pumpkin Granola (bulk bins at Whole Foods)

BJTT 251

Are you a morning exerciser? What are some tips or tricks you have for getting yourself out of bed in the morning?

20 Responses

  1. Those are great tips, Beth! Even though I’m more of an evening exerciser, I have been considering getting in some morning workouts. I think it would definitely help if I follow your suggestions–particularly having a reward at the end. My main problem, though, is that I have to be at work at 7:30 am (and I have a 30 minute commute). It makes it really hard to do anything in the mornings.

  2. I think the first few days are hard for everyone. But once you get into the routine, it becomes second nature. Just be prepared to literally drag yourself out of bed for the first week and know that soon enough it will be MUCH easier!

  3. I’ve seen the suggestion before to sleep in your workout clothes, and it always makes me chuckle. It’s a great tip, but it will always seem funny to me.

  4. On the weeks where I have time to work out in the morning, I definitely make sure I’m in bed by a certain time and the clothes are laid out.

    That way, when the alarm goes off, I’m up and in my sports bra before the mind can comprehend what’s going on. 😉

    Good luck with your dinner party!

  5. I love the tips Beth and I sure need ’em — one day I will be a morning exerciser, maybe 🙂 I definitely look forward to my next meal during a workout — your oats look great!

  6. I have tried SO many times to become a morning exerciser – I usually make it a week or two and then end up right back in my evening routine. Having my evenings free makes it totally worth it, but it’s just so hard for me to get out of bed! I’ve even tried moving my alarm clock…but I get up, turn it off, and lay back down – I’m SO bad! One of these days I WILL get myself into a morning routine that lasts!

    Hope your dinner party goes well!!!

  7. Thanks for sharing these tips!

    And PS, ironing is the pits of all chores! I hate ironing. Good luck getting everything ready! 🙂

  8. i love morning workouts! the energy that i know i will have the rest of the day is what gets me out of bed and to the gym. my gym is also way less crowded in the morning. i hate waiting for machines so i know i will get less annoyed if i get to the gym early.

  9. I never used to exercise in the morning, but over the last couple of years I became one. It started because I was running and afternoon/evening running was too hot in the summer, so I switched to mornings.

    Now I love to get my workout done before work and it totally energizes me for the day!

  10. I swim three mornings a week – what helps me is thinking about what a disaster the pool is at night with all the non-serious swimmers there. Nobody, I repeat nobody, goes to the pool at 6 am for a leisurely swim. We all mean business and it’s much, much easier to get in a workout.

  11. I am without a doubt, a morning workout junkie. It makes me feel great for the rest of the day and that alone is enough motivation for me!

  12. I’m not a morning-workout person, but out of necessity it has to happen!

    My tips:
    – Don’t give yourself the option to make excuses. Treat your workout as a FACT not a possibility.
    – Have greasy hair. I usually shower at night after working out, so if I need to workout in the morning I don’t wash my hair. Then when i want to stay in bed I just think, “Well, I’m going to have to shower, so I guess I need to workout.”

    I actually wrote a whole post on getting up last year:
    http://eatrunread.blogspot.com/2009/11/when-to-run-exhaustive-scientific-study.html

  13. I’m not a morning person AT ALL..however, if I go to bed early and get at least 8 hours of sleep – then waking up at 5am is not a problem!

  14. I laughed at the part about wearing the workout clothes. So funny! But I bet it works. I am not a morning person so I’m pretty happy with working out after work. 😉

  15. ironing = hate! Strong word but totally appropriate!

    I need to get back into the AM workouts — you remind me!

  16. […] in my evenings. I wrote a post about tips for waking up to get workouts in the AM that you can find here, but I still really struggle with […]

  17. […] in November, I wrote a post with some tips for working out in the morning, but I wanted to refresh it and add a few things to the list of what has worked for […]

  18. […] in November, I wrote a post with some tips for working out in the morning, but I wanted to refresh it and add a few things to the list of what has worked for […]

Leave a Reply

