• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Formally Inappropriate

Hi and happy Sunday! I’m borrowing a computer from work so it makes blogging on the weekends MUCH easier and I have something fun to share from last night!

I woke up yesterday and it was SO beautiful out. It was in the mid 60s, sunny, and clear – definitely not feeling like mid November. I decided to go out for a run and it was such an awesome decision. It was PERFECT running weather, and I felt so good for (most of) the run. Here are the stats:

  • Distance: 5.5 miles
  • Duration: 52:48
  • Avg Pace: 9:36 min/mile
  • Avg Speed: 6.2 mph
  • Calories: 659

Amazing way to start my day! I ate a bag of my beloved Sports Beans (100 calories) before heading out and ran with my CamelBak for the first time in ages. It was really nice having water since it was a longer than usual run for me.  After that, I made brunch.

2 eggs over easy, a toasted arnold thin, little tomatoes from the farmer’s market, and pomegranate seeds (I still have 8 poms left so expect to see a lot this week!)

After that, I got to go to National Geographic to see a private screening of Great Migrations! My friend Stephanie works for them and was a producer of the series and been working on it for the past three years, so they did a special screening yesterday for friends and family. The episode hasn’t even aired yet (it airs tonight at 8 on Nat Geo) so it felt extra special. Plus, being in the screening room there was like a movie theater!

Big screen!

And THEN, my friends Jess and Amy threw an amazing party, themed Formally Inappropriate. The idea was to dress up (formal), but wear some flair too (inappropriate), so seeing everyones outfits was awesome. The party was SO fun, and it was great getting to see so many friends – especially those from NY (I LOVE YOU LEAH) because it had been a WHILE.

Enjoy some pictures…

Me.

With my date.

Jess, Lianne, Me, and Leah. Then Wil instructed us to “look cuter” and here’s what we came up with…

ha.

Me, Sydney, and Leah.

SO fun. Needless to say, today started out just a LITTLE rough, but I still made it to church and am on the mends.

What’s been the highlight of your weekend? What is the best theme party you’ve ever been to or thrown?

8 Responses

  1. The gorgeous weather has been the highlight of my weekend. I got to spend the days with Justine and had a nice enjoying the weather outside.
    I think the best theme party was a prom party my sister threw. We all dressed up like we were going to prom, and I won prom queen that night 🙂

  2. Love the wigs! We’re trying to come up with a way to tie some fun wigs into a bachelorette party for one of my best friends next year…

    The highlight of my weekend has been all the sleep I’ve gotten. It’s unreal. I’m nervous about what’s going to happen when I get into bed tonight and am not tired…

  3. What a fun theme!

    Highlight of the weekend has been our gorgeous weather in the mid 70’s and being lazy. 🙂

  4. LOVE your breakfast set up, so well rounded and delicious looking!! And the party is such a great idea, you guys look like you had so much fun, I love me a good dress-up themed party.

    Highlight has been cooking allll day today and prepping for this weeks dinners, as opposed to yesterday’s lowlight of doing… absolutely nothing!

    Happy almost Monday 🙂

  5. That’s such a cute idea! One of the best parties we threw in college was “tight and bright.” There was a lot of neon spandex and men in booty shorts.

  6. Beth, you look so cute in those pictures =) I’m glad that you had such a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

