• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Return of the Grapefruit

Hello and happy Monday! After Saturday night’s festivities, yesterday was a pretty lazy day. We still made it to church, and I did manage to go grocery shopping and cook an awesome dinner (best dinner we’ve had in a long time!), but most of the rest of the day was spent watching TV, reading, and being very lazy.

My original goal in last week’s set of goals was to limit spending on the POM Party to $100, and I ended up spending $91 in total so that goal was met. On top of that, though, my goal was to limit additional grocery spending, and that was harder than I thought. We ended up having just enough food for the party where all that was left was lunch for Friday, so I really was running low on goods. On Friday, I went to a Farmer’s Market and picked up kale and baby yellow tomatoes, for $5.50 together, and then yesterday I had to go to the store to pick up some things.

Grocery Loot

For $32, I got:

  • Bunch Cilantro
  • Green Bell Pepper
  • 3 limes
  • Avocado
  • Zucchini
  • Red Onion
  • Bunch Scallions
  • 2 Bananas
  • 2 Grapefruits
  • Spring Mix (Free from FoodBuzz Coupon)
  • Low-Sodium Veggie Broth
  • Salsa
  • Eden Navy Beans (had a 55 cent off coupon that they doubled)
  • Sargento RF Cheddar
  • 2 Oikos Greek Yogurt (Coupon for $1 off from website)
  • Chobani Honey (free from a giveaway from Alex)
  • Light Sour Cream
  • Blood Orange Sorbet

Not too bad! So last week, I only spent $32 at the store plus $5.50 at the farmers market, so besides the party I came in under the $50 weekly budget at $37.50. Also, I have enough food to last me through Wednesday, when I leave for Kansas City, MO, so I think I will go way under budget when my $50 replenishes tomorrow as well.

Breakfast this morning was super simple. The Chobani Honey (16 grams of protein!!) sprinkled with the last of FlaxPlus Pumpkin Granola.

Chobani

Plus a grapefruit.

Grapefruit 

All together now:

GrapefruitYogurt

Though simple, this breakfast was super satisfying. This is my first time having a grapefruit in AGES and I almost forgot how much I love them! I used to always eat them with sugar or honey, but in the past year or so I’ve learned to love the tart flavor without any sweetener and find them absolutely delicious.

Are you a grapefruit fan? What’s your favorite way to eat them?

12 Responses

  1. I’ve never really been a grapefruit fan. My mom loved them, and while growing up, I would force myself to eat them and try not to make that “oh how I hate this bitter, sour thing” face because I wanted to like it.

    I never could like it.

  2. I’m not a grapefruit person. And my budget does not allow for a grocery trip this week…boo! However, I have lots of leftovers from last week, so that’s good. I ended up spending my grocery budget for non-food items that we needed: toilet paper, dish soap, toilet scrubber and cleaner – oh and my wedding binder.

    Maybe my fiance will buy us some groceries this week! Here’s hoping…

  3. Hi Beth! I do like grapefruit but hate the messiness of eating one!! I haven’t had one in ages.

  4. I like to eat grapefruit like an orange by peeling it and just eating the sections, but i have to be in a mood to eat it!

  5. I haven’t had a grapefruit in a long long time — they are too sweet!

  6. I love grapefruits! I always peel and eat them like oranges. No sweetner.

  7. That grapefruit looks amazing! I like to eat them fresh with a little sugar on top. I haven’t eaten any yet this season, so will have to grab a couple!

  8. I love grapfruits. I eat them a lot for breakfast, just plain nothing added!

  9. I tried a grape fruit once recently, and I found it hard to eat. I didn’t dislike, nor did I like it. Maybe it has to be acquired taste? I may give them a try again.

  10. I LOVE grapefruit. I’ve seen people put sugar on it to lessen the tartness, but that is totally unneeded. I cut it in half and dig into each chamber violently with my spoon (eyes shut!).

  11. I’ve never been a fan of grapefruit. I’m not really sure the last time I tried one though, so it might be time to try one again.

  12. I do love grapefruit and tend to like them plain. However, I once over did it on grapefruits in college and got really sick from them – haha, so now they just aren’t the same for me.

Leave a Reply

