• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Last Day in the Office

Hi! It’s so weird because its only Tuesday, but today is my last day in the office this week! I am going to Kansas City, MO for work tomorrow, so I’m working from home in the morning and then flying in the afternoon, so for me its kind of a short week. But don’t be too jealous – – I have to get everything set up tomorrow night for the course, and then work starts at 6am on Thursday and 7am on Friday while I’m there.

I’ve had several people ask about the grill pan I use at home, mostly as a result of yesterday’s post on fajitas. Just to jog your memory, here’s how the veggies and shrimp turned out:

Grilled

The grill pan I have goes over two burners on my stove, and has one side that has grill marks, and one side that is flat like a griddle. This is it. It’s AWESOME and something I would highly recommend getting for your kitchen if you like to grill and have limited access to an outdoor grill like me, because I live in an apartment. Feel free to ask me any other questions about the grill pan – – there’s some pictures of it in action on this post.

Last night, I got in a great workout before making dinner. I ended up being at the gym just over an hour and here’s what I did:

  • 5×50 jumping jacks (250 total)
  • 3×15 bicep curls with 10 lbs in each hand
  • 3×15 tricep curls with a 15 lb weight
  • 3×15 shoulder press
  • 2×15 wall squats w/a ball
  • 25 minutes running – 2.63 miles (6.2 – 7.0 mph)
  • 15 minutes walking at 4.0 at a 10 incline
  • 5 minute cool down

Whew! I was a sweaty mess after the workout but it felt GOOD. I’m a little sore today but in a good way.

Breakfast this morning was a delicious yogurt bowl:

GrapefruitYogoBowl

In the mix:

  • Oikos 0% honey greek yogurt
  • 1/2 grapefruit
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • canned pumpkin
  • pomegranate seeds
  • sprinkle chia seeds

HoneyYogoUpClose

Perfect blend of flavors and textures. The yogurt was sweet because of the honey so it was perfect with the tart grapefruit and the crunch of the pom and chia seeds was great against the creamy yogurt and juicy grapefruit. I could eat this every day and be happy.

Do you like in a house or an apartment? Where are you from and where do you live now? I mentioned it above but live in a two bedroom apartment in Arlington, VA (right outside of DC). Originally from Connecticut, but I moved to DC for school at GWU and never left. Go! 🙂

18 Responses

  1. I live in an apartment (sorta 2 bedrooms, but I use one for my office) in Alexandria, VA. Originally I’m from south Florida. I went to school up around Boston, MA and interned one semester in DC, moved back to Florida for a few years and then just recently moved back to DC.

    I might have to ask for that grill/griddle pan for Christmas. I’m looking to get rid of my (awful) George Foreman grill. Hope you have a safe trip tomorrow!

  2. Love my grill pan. I wouldn’t mind having the flat griddle though!

    Enjoy Kansas City! Have you ever been there before? I go for a work conference every single year. Just had one in October!

  3. The veggies looks absolutely delicious.

    I live in an apartment right now. It’s 2 bed 2 bath about 1000 square feet. I live with my boyfriend and he uses the 2nd room to paint and play video games.

    I’m from Oklahoma–and live in Oklahoma. Boring, I know.

    • “paint and play video games” hahah love it.

      my second bedroom is an office (for the boyfriend) slash guest room but we don’t really have overnight guests too often.

  4. I live in a 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment. My younger brother moved in with me over the summer. I live in Easley, SC. (About 10 minutes from Greenville, SC). I’ve lived here all my life. Like Lisa said…boring.

  5. I need a grill pan!! Thanks for the recommendation.

    I live in an apartment currently. I am from….all over. Originally WA but have lived in CA, OH, MA, NY…and now NC.

  6. I could eat that every day too – it’s beautiful ! 🙂 I love grapefruit.

    Enjoy KC, MO ! Jason is from Missouri, and we are *still trying to decide if we will be there next week for Thanksgiving! 😀

  7. Connecticut! Very cool, I did not know that you grew up there.

    I live in a 1-bedroom condo in DC (actual DC). I was born in WI, went to high school in MI, college in Boston, worked in DC, back to Boston for grad school, worked in New Mexico, and then moved back to DC in 2005; still hanging out.

  8. I dunno how I feel about pumpkin and grapefruit… But it worked for you!

    I live in a 4 bedroom house in Tacoma, WA. Sounds big, roomy and comfy when I say 4 bedroom, but the house is over 100 years old, has only 1 bathtub and is taken over my 3 kids, my mother in law, my hubby and I. Then 2 med/large dogs and 3 cats. Our home is certainly a home. 🙂

  9. I so want a grill pan — or a new George Foreman. We had a really old one that I donated to Goodwill over the summer — now I wish I had kept it 😦

    We live in a townhouse and I look forward to the day when we have a real house with a lawn/deck and all that.

  10. We live in a house in upstate NY. It’s 100 years old, although it has been updated with new windows and heating system and all that 😀

    Originally from the Southern tier of NY, but lived all over including Michigan, Colorado, and Illinois. Now home to roost.

  11. Originally from Maryland, went to school at UMD, live in a condo in Maryland. Never had a reason to leave 😛 haha.

  12. While you’re in KC, you should probably try and hit up a happy hour at the Plaza… I love that area! 🙂

  13. I am from Arlington, VA actually! 🙂 I live in WV now but I visit Arlington at least twice a year. To answer the other question I live in a small house with absolutely no closet space! lol

    Have a safe trip to KC!

  14. How nice to have the week broken up like that. Hopefully the traveling work will go smoothly as well.

  15. Those veggies and shrimp look amazing!

    I own a house in Arizona (3 bed, 2 bath) and we have two grills – one charcoal, one propane!

Leave a Reply

