• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Mexican Fried Rice

Happy Hump Day! Thank you all for the awesome comments on my POM Wonderful Dinner Party. It was so fun and I can’t wait to see what other people came up with, and hear who the 10 winners are! The prizes are pretty cool so fingers crossed…

I’m working from home this morning since I’ll be getting on a plane in a few hours to head to Kansas City, MO, and it is SO nice. I got to sleep in a few extra minutes, workout in my living room, and then make breakfast and coffee before it was even 9! Awesome.

Last night I had to do a few errands to pick up some things for today’s trip, so I ate dinner as soon as I got home from work and then took off. When I got back just before 8, I realized I had some time to workout before it got too late, so I headed upstairs to the gym and got a good workout in! I walked on the treadmill for 45 minutes on the random setting at level 10, so the incline randomly switched from 1.5 up to 7.8, and I warmed up at 3.8mph for a few minutes and then switched to 4.2 mph for the rest of the time. I ended up covering 3.15 miles in the 45 minutes and burning almost 500 calories. Afterwards I did about 10 minutes of ab work on the floor. I sweat quite a bit when I work out and I was literally dripping when I stepped off the treadmill – – who says walking isn’t a good workout!?

This morning I did Yoga Meltdown with Jillian Michaels on ExerciseTV OnDemand. The workout was 35 minutes (including the warmup and cooldown) and was tough! It’s all body weight resistance (no hand weights), but lots of movement so I got pretty sweaty (not as sweaty as walking last night though!). Lots of lunges, the warrior sequence, sun salutations, and my favorite – camel pose.

After Yoga Meltdown, I made an awesome breakfast – Mexican Fried Rice! Fried rice is usually an Asian dish, but the authentic way you’re supposed to make it is with leftovers, not as its own dish like we Americans normally do. I’m trying to use up all the stuff in my fridge since I’ll be leaving for a few days, and I had some leftover black beans and cilantro rice from Sunday night’s fajitas. I chopped up 2 scallions and heated them in a pan with some nonstick spray. Once those got going, I added in the leftover cilantro rice, the drained black beans, and 1 beaten egg.

Because the beans and rice were already seasoned, it only needed a teeny bit of salt and it was ready to go! I garnished it with some shredded cheddar and a few more pieces of scallion and served it with a piece of toast.

This was SO delicious, and really satisfying. I normally go for sweet-ish breakfasts, but today I was craving something a little more savory and this totally hit the spot.

Do you ever get to work from home? What do you think the best part of it is/would be if you could?

6 Responses

  1. I love this idea for Mexican fried rice. I would need to add…a lot of cumin.

    I very occasionally get to work from home when I have off-site meetings that run more than half the day. It works out alright, and it’s nice to not have to haul myself back to the office just to do 45 minutes of work.

    I think the best thing about it would be avoiding the Metro. Oy.

  2. Beth, that looks delicious–I made something similar a few nights ago. I love rice, haha!

    I hope you have a great time on your trip!

  3. I have gotten to work from home before and absolutely loved it! I got to spend the entire day with my puppy and my laptop. Definitely better than commuting every day 🙂

  4. Ah the slimming of the refrigerator before a trip… always a challenge! 🙂

    And I think there would be some serious benefits from working out of my apartment (hello- saving over an hour on commute time!!!), but I think I’d be horribly unproductive. I need the structure of the office…

  5. I would work from home every day if I could. I love it!
    Have a safe trip!

  6. I never get to work from home! 😦 I’d love to because sometimes I’m sick and have stuff that has to be done so I have to go in and risk spreading germs. Also I really like to wear pajamas! lol

    Mexican fried rice is a neat idea! I’ll have to try it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

