• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weekly Goal Update

I’m currently on my way to Kansas City, but I realize I missed checking on my weekly goals yesterday so wanted to update you all on my progress and set some new ones for this week!

Here’s what I set out to do last week:

  1. Work out at least 4 times. Check! I did morning workouts Tuesday and Wednesday last week, and then went for a 5.5 mile on Saturday. I also worked out Monday evening, so that adds up to four times.
  2. Include at least 1 run and 2 days of strength training. Check! I actually ran two times – once on Wednesday and once on Saturday, and did strength training on Wednesday and Monday.
  3. Only food shop this week for the POM Dinner party and make meals off of what I purchased yesterday and what’s in my pantry/freezer. Try to limit personal spending on food to under $100 for a party for 10 adults. I did limit my spending on the party to under $100, but I had to go grocery shopping on Sunday because I had very few items in my kitchen.
  4. Cook at home for all meals if possible to limit extraneous spending outside of the party. Check! The only meal I ate out this week was lunch after church on Sunday, which is quickly becoming a weekly tradition that I’m loving!
  5. Throw an awesome POM dinner party!
  6. Limit drinking to the POM Party and then the party I have on Saturday evening – nothing else during the week/weekend. Check! I cancelled going to happy hour on Friday so I didn’t overdo it.
  7. Make it to church on Sunday despite being out on Saturday night. Check!
  8. Don’t let myself get too stressed with party planning/executing – enjoy it! I had an AMAZING time throwing the party so this goal was definitely met!

Overall I think I did great on my goals this week. I was expecting to have more leftovers than I did from the party, so that is why I had to go grocery shopping on Sunday rather than stretching out what I had in my kitchen. I did keep the grocery shopping to a minimum and spent under $40 for the week, and I definitely did a good job at getting up early last week to get workouts in before work since I had a lot to do at night.

Given that I am traveling today through Friday to Kansas City, MO, and then Saturday to Sunday to visit Wil’s mom, it’s going to be pretty tough to stay on track. I always really struggle with healthy living when traveling, and I really don’t have any breaks in sight since next week is Thanksgiving, the following weekend my mom turns 60, and the weekend after that we are in New Orleans. Its kind of crazy that I have plans for literally every weekend between now and the end of the year… eek!

Here are my goals for this week:

  1. Still get in 4 workouts (2 down already) this week, including at least one while in MO.
  2. Get in 2 days of strength training.
  3. Make a conscious effort to drink a lot of water despite traveling.
  4. Try to get as much sleep as possible even though there will be early mornings and late nights this week.
  5. Make good decisions while traveling but give myself a break because its going to be harder to stay healthy while traveling than it is when I’m cooking for myself.
  6. Try to eat enough fruits and veggies this week even though I’m not cooking.
  7. Don’t turn the TV on while in MO – just read my book and magazines!

Whew this week is going to be tough and nonstop! I’m going to try to document all my food/snacks while traveling this week so that I can hold myself accountable and also show some ways to stay healthy while on the go.

What are some of your best tips for staying healthy while traveling?

8 Responses

  1. I travel for work CONSTANTLY, so I have a long list of strategies:
    1. Scope out your workout options BEFORE you go. Do you need to find a gym/pool away from the hotel? How will you get there? WHEN will you get there? 5 am walks over to the gym might be necessary.
    2. Bring some healthier snacks that don’t require constant refrigeration – snack bags of healthier cereals, whole grain crackers, string beans, baby carrots, apples, etc. This is especially important for the airport/plane trip.
    3. Remember that just because you are eating in a restaurant doesn’t mean it’s a treat; it’s just a meal. Try to order lots of veggies, some protein, and avoid super-rich things.
    4. Also remember that conference/hotel food usually stinks and isn’t worth the extra calories. Go for whatever looks healthiest; the dessert is probably soggy and gross so skip it.
    5. Only indulge in something if it’s truly a rare opportunity – like muffaletta in New Orleans.

  2. I always bring snacks that don’t need refidgeration just in case my hotel room doesn’t have a fridge.

    Find ways to be active (go to the local zoo to walk around, etc.).

    Leave the guilt at home. Stay flexible.

  3. I agree re checking out the workouts options before I arrive – such as whether there is a gym. Also the coneirege can be really helpful in pointing you towards a good running track etc

  4. Congrats on meeting so many of your goals for the week, you’re amazing! And yes, the best travel tip would be to keep exercise as a priority. Even look up a decent traveling workout that you can do if there isn’t a gym around, or wake up a little early for a nice leisurely run 🙂 And I feel like once you work out it makes you more conscious of your eating habits, ’cause you naturally want to fuel properly to feel strong for the next day’s workout, and as a reward for doin’ your body good with a nice sweat session.

    And I LOVE your goal to stay away from TV and dig into some good ol’ reading. This is seriously my struggle almost every day. Make the TV disappear, some one… any one?!

  5. It may not be the healthiest, but make sure you grab some bbq when you are there! There are some great parks in KC, if your hotel is close to any you should go for a run!

  6. your dinner party is genius!!! love the name tags in the diced pomegranates 🙂

    fave way to eat healthy while traveling is by packaging grapes, carrots, and wheat thins in plastic baggies for snacking.

    TV is so addicting! I need to hop aboard the reading train too

  7. Good luck! Staying healthy while traveling is a big struggle for me!

    I try and pack plenty of bars…they are always good in a pinch!

  8. My healthy practice when traveling is to stop by grocery stores for meals instead of gas stations, coffee shops, etc. This allows me to stock up on produce for the day and most grocery stores have salad bars.

Leave a Reply

