• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Day Two

Hiya! Happy Thursday evening to you! Two days down, one to go in Kansas City.

Today was a pretty good day, despite the fact that I had to wake up before 6am. The only saving grace is that KS is one hour behind DC, so it was more like waking up just before 7 to me. I started my day with a few cups of coffee, but since one my goals was to get my water in (which I am normally pretty bad about while traveling) I switched to a glass of water between each cup of coffee, and it worked pretty well! I ended up having more than 3 cups of water before breakfast.

Once the course got started around 9, I went upstairs to the restaurant to get breakfast. They had a continental breakfast for $9.95 (eek) and I asked if I could grab it to go since I had to monitor the room the course was in, so they said fine. I started by filling a container with some fresh fruit…

This was just OK. I ate about 2/3 of it, but a lot of the pieces of honeydew were pretty crispy (aka not ripe), but I was craving fruit so I ate most of it anyways. To go with the fruit, I had a lineup…

Nonfat milk, coffee, and…

Oats? Yes, oats in a styrofoam coffee cup… topped with some granola. Despite the wacky container, the oats were decent and the breakfast kept me quite full through lunch time.

For lunch, I ended up venturing out to this adorable grocery store just 2 blocks from the hotel – Consentino’s Market. They have the largest prepared foods section of any store I’ve seen, with rows and rows of prepared sandwiches, salads, pizzas, as well as make your own of everything. They also had an enormous salad bar with four types of beans to choose from – I was impressed! I ended up getting a huge salad (for 4.99/pound which is cheap compared to DC!) and a cup of veggie soup.

Unfortunately I didn’t grab a spoon, so somehow I managed to eat the soup with a fork. And there may have been a slight amount of look around to make sure no one’s looking and then drink the soup from the cup.

The salad was almost as big as the salad bar I made it from…

I’m sure I’m forgetting some things, but in the mix:

  • Base of baby spinach
  • Chickpeas
  • Kidney Beans
  • Feta
  • Peas
  • Sliced Almonds
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Pickles
  • Banana Peppers
  • Hard Boiled Egg
  • Artichoke Hearts
  • Carrots
  • Edamame

Wowza. I tried to do a lap around the salad bar so I could see what they had before I loaded up my container, but there was just too much good stuff to discriminate! I have to say, the salad was quite good and definitely packed a punch. I love how just a little bit of feta goes along way since its so flavorful. Plus that was the first time I ever had peas in a salad, and I loved it! Too bad I don’t have a salad bar like this at home.

Afternoon snack was a large honeycrisp apple (also purchased at the grocery store).

Plus some Women’s Health Mag to round out the snack. 🙂

The course wrapped up around 4:30, so I had enough time to get in a workout before heading to dinner. I just did a quick 30 minutes on the treadmill and covered 3.1 miles (a 5k!) Though it was quick, it felt really good to get another workout in and I left the gym pretty ravenous. I had picked up a banana at the grocery store as well so I ate that before showering and getting dressed.

I went to this great place for dinner called Bristol Seafood Grill with one of the instructors for the course. The restaurant jumped out at my when I was looking at a map of the Power & Light District of Kansas City, because  many of the other restaurants were chains that I’ve heard of/been to many times. It turned out to be an excellent decision.

I had such a hard time deciding what to get because everything on the menu sounded amazing. I ended up going with the Grilled Butterfish from New Zealand, and ordered it with roasted root veggies and grilled asparagus.

The butterfish was true to its name and melted in my mouth like butter. The fish was light and flaky and just unbelievable. I had a glass of Viognier (white wine) with dinner which went perfect with the fish. I ate all the veggies and about 3/4 of the fish because it was a HUGE portion.

Then we asked about dessert and before we knew it, the waiter brought over a piece of carrot cake that he raved about. But this was not just any carrot cake…

This was literally the best carrot cake that has ever passed through my lips, with pecan praline filling, sweet cream cheese, toasted coconut, and creme anglais. The cake was so rich and decadent, and I went right for a bite of the back corner loaded with equal parts cake and frosting. Heaven. Though this meal was pretty indulgent, I only ended up eating a few (incredible) bites of the carrot cake, and I resisted having the biscuit that they served in place of bread, so it could have been worse. Plus, I was pretty perfect with eating all day, got in a run, and it was worth every delicious bite.

Two questions – What is your favorite type of fish to order at restaurants, and what is your favorite dessert? I usually order Chilean Seabass hands down if I see it on a menu, but butterfish is a new favorite. I’d never had it before tonight and it was UNREAL. I normally don’t go with carrot cake, but this was unbelievable and I would order it again from that restaurant in a heart beat, but my go-to dessert is usually sorbet, or else something with chocolate and caramel or chocolate and peanut butter if I’m feeling indulgent.

9 Responses

  1. Haha, I’ve totally eaten soup with a fork before.

  2. Good job while on vacation! Eating clean and exercising, nice!

    My favorite fish to order is mahi mahi and my favorite dessert is definitely red velvet anything.

    Soup with a fork always feels so frustrating! 😉

  3. I’m definitely drawn to rich chocolate desserts (flourless cake, molten cake, etc.). And you definitely did well with eating and exercise today, especially considering you’re traveling, so no need to feel bad about a few bites of cake :-).

  4. Great job on the working out! I can’t even get motivated and I’m not traveling!

  5. I love carrot cake! My friends actually had part of their wedding cake be carrot cake which I thought was awesome.

  6. I love carrot cake — and that slice looks so good 🙂

    Usually I like to order salmon in restaurants, only because I have terrible luck cooking it at home, I always overcook it to smithereens. Yuck.

  7. My husband would love that carrot cake. I would too if it were gluten free. lol.

    I don’t guess I have a usual fish order…I just get what sounds best at the moment!

  8. I usually order trout or shrimp when eating seafood. As for dessert, I never leave enough room for it when I’m out at a restraunt! But my overall favorite dessert would have to be chocolate cake or ice cream.

Leave a Reply

