• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Hello from Kansas City!

Hi! Kansas City is actually SO cool! Despite it being pretty frigid (there were talks of snow last night) I’m actually having quite a good time here. Let’s rewind a bit…

I got to the airport around 12:30 and made it through security in no time. I guess 12:30pm on a Wednesday isn’t prime travel time… who knew. I wanted to grab some lunch to have on the plane and had SUCH a hard time finding something. In fact I sat down at Gordon Biersch and ordered an iced tea, and then realized there was not one vegetarian thing on the menu/any way to customize something to eat so I got my check for the iced tea and tried again. I ended up settling on California Tortilla, and got their taco salad with black beans. Black beans twice in a row for meals is fine by me…

The salad had lettuce, tomato, carrots, cilantro, black beans, tortilla strips, corn, guac, and salsa. I opted for no cheese, and got extra salsa on the side for “dressing” and the salad was actually really good. The veggies tasted fresh and crisp, and I ended up eating the entire salad at the airport rather than waiting to eat it on the plane.

The flight itself was pretty uneventful. It was direct and just under 3 hours, and for some reason whether I am exhausted or giddy, planes put me to sleep. I passed out for almost the entire duration of the flight, so it was over in a snap. Once I made it to the airport in Kansas City, I took a cab to my hotel. The cab was $60!!! The airport is really far from the hotel apparently, so I am shooting for Super Shuttle tomorrow which is only $17 each way…

My hotel room is quite nice…

And the bed is a sleep number bed! My number is 30 in case you were wondering… 🙂 I was also happy to see a little welcome basket set up for me.

With fruit, a granola bar, and some bottled water. I wasted no time eating the green apple and then went to make sure everything was all set for the course today. My contact at the hotel treated me to Starbucks, so I got a grande nonfat pumpkin spice latte with just one squirt of pumpkin spice.

So good. Starbucks is a rarity for me since the lattes are usually over $4 and I don’t care for their plain coffee, so this was a treat.

After making sure everything was good for today, I realized I had some time to kill before dinner, so I hit up the hotel gym.

It is pretty nice with new-ish equipment, but the weights scare me a little bit.

Since I had done Yoga Meltdown in the morning, I just did some cardio. 20 minutes on the elliptical, 10 minutes on the bike, and then 15 minutes running at 6.0 mph on the treadmill. The gym was actually quite hot so afterwards it was time for shower #2.

And then, I got to meet up with Julia and Megan for dinner!

 

They are both from here, so picked me up at my hotel and we went to this adorable Japanese restaurant called Nara. It was so cute inside but the pictures I took didn’t do any justice so I’ll spare you. I had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc (just one!) to drink with dinner and it was delicious.

and then Julia and I shared their special appetizer, which was peppers stuffed with crab rangoon filling with tempura batter and deep fried.

HEAVEN. Definitely not the healthiest, but we shared it so it wasn’t bad and it was DELICIOUS. The crab rangoon filling melted into the tempura batter and it was just awesome. Then we both got miso soup which was served in an awesome bowl.

For the main course, Julia and I split the 18 piece sashimi…

Plus a Spider Roll (soft-shell crab).

Everything was awesome. The fish was so fresh and delicious and totally hit the spot.

After dinner, we drove around Kansas City and I got a guided car tour (that should be a real thing) of the city. We drove through a lot of the downtown and I got to see the Power and Light District and a few other areas of the city. It was so cool to see the buildings, a lot of which were modeled after buildings in Spain, and I was pretty impressed with Julia’s knowledge of the downtown and the history behind it.

Between dinner and driving around the city, we stopped for Frozen Yogurt.

I got plain froyo with mini reeses pieces, cookie dough, mochi, and heath bar.

(I’m really good at self portraits.)

We had SUCH a fun time chatting and getting to know each other in person and I was dropped back off at my hotel before I knew it! Thank you Julia and Meg for showing me Kansas City and for hanging out!!

And there you have day one of my trip.

Overall, I’d say I was pretty healthy because breakfast, lunch, and snacks were perfect. The dinner with a fried app and one fried roll could have been better, but I worked out twice, drank a ton of water, and got to bed early, and you have to live a little. 🙂

Are you a sushi fan? What is your favorite roll? I LOVE sushi. My favorite roll is probably spicy tuna, but eel avocado is a close second.

14 Responses

  1. I really like Kansas City! I went once with my boyfriend, and once with those pretty ladies! It is a nice city.

    I love sushi, but I’ve only had vegetable sushi!

  2. Sounds like a great day! The fro-yo sounds/looks amazing.

    I’m surprised that Gordon Biersch didn’t have any vegetarian options, but I guess it’s their airport location – so that makes sense. I love the hummus and goat cheese salad they have there! Have you ever had it?

  3. Sushi!!! I love love luuuuv sushi. And the more I eat it, the more I crave it. Vicious expensive cycle of sushi. Spicy tuna and spider rolls have to be my fav, but california roll is always a good goto roll. I’m not a s confident with sashimi though =)

  4. That gym looks pretty decent!

    I LOVE sushi. I could survive on just eating sushi, 😉

  5. I love sushi! When I was in KC in October we ate at Nara. I loved the inside of the joint and the little outdoor patio area was fun too.

    Be careful at night there. While it doesn’t seem it, KC can be a little dangerous. FUN (especially the Power & Light district), but stay safe!

  6. zomg, this dinner was just as good reliving it!

    Beth-I had a blast meeting you and dinner was delcious, despite it’s price tag-and that awful cut of whatever it was was…

    Yay!! I’m def going to have hit up DC now 🙂

  7. awww i am from KC, but living in Miami right now so I missed out too bad! glad you had a great trip, KC really is a great place

  8. oooh yes I love sushi! My local sushi bar has one with avocado that is delish!
    have fun!
    and ps – that hotel gym looks great!

  9. Beth, it was great to meet you and tour around town! Next time we are going to a better Froyo though!

    By far Jalapeno Popper roll is my new favorite! Dinner was amazing!

    Now for our roadtrip.

  10. I love sushi, and my favorite is the spider roll! Your picture left me craving one. I don’t get it too often, but when I do it’s love 🙂

  11. The spider roll is one of my favorites too! I love the crispy little legs sticking out :-).

  12. I grew up 45 minutes from Kansas City, it’s a great place!

  13. Oh I love love love sushi! My favorite is ama ebi and the fried shrimp heads are pure magic deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

