• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Homeward Bound

I might be getting slightly ahead of myself with that title, but I’m OK with that. It’s my last day in Kansas City, and while it’s been fun and I enjoyed the city a lot more than I thought I would, I am definitely feeling ready to get home. The only trouble is tomorrow we are taking another overnight road trip to see Wil’s family, and then will be leaving again Wednesday for Thanksgiving with my family, so there is really no end in sight until 2011 for me to be home for a weekend. Boo.

Today, the instructor I dined with last night gave me his card to go upstairs to the Executive Club where they have a free breakfast buffet. I was actually quite excited to go up there, but was left a little disappointed with the selection that had been heavily picked over when I went upstairs around 8:30am. They only had yoplait light for yogurt, and I really try to stay away from artificial sweeteners, and then they only had 2% milk which is a little thick for my taste. I asked for skim, but they didn’t have any, so I just had the 2% anyways.

I scraped up all the fruit that was left onto one plate.

It was WAY better than yesterday’s fruit – watermelon, honeydew melon, cantaloupe,and blueberries.

With the fruit, I had a small box of Raisin Bran cereal.

And I used the full container of 2% milk – some in my coffee, most in the cereal, and a sip or two straight up.

The breakfast was tasty, but made me remember why I don’t normally have cereal – I was full about an hour later.

By 11:30 when we broke for lunch, my stomach was GRUMBLING. Unfortunately check out was at 12, so I had to eat at the hotel for lunch and pickings were again pretty slim. They had a make your own sandwich bar, some salads, and baked potatoes. I ended up doing OK but have a feeling I’m going to be hungry again pretty soon.

Plate One:

The thickest piece of wheat bread ever, with mustard, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, pickles and a slice of provolone cheese, plus a salad.

And then onto plate number two…

A small baked potato with a slice of provolone, a pile of pickles, and a little bit of this extremely mayonnaise-y pasta salad.

I did the best I could with the buffet but vegetarian/healthy options were quite limited. I think sometimes I take for granted being able to cook my meals at home. Not only are they way healthier and do I have so many choices, but its WAY cheaper. That silly buffet cost $18! Geez.

No workout for today but I’m OK with that. Since we’re getting on the road to visit Wil’s mom tomorrow early afternoon, I’m going to try to get in a workout tomorrow morning before we go, but I don’t land until 10:15p tonight, so I’ll play it by ear.

Do you pack your lunch most days for work or cook at home, or do you usually go out to buy it?

7 Responses

  1. It looks like you have done really well in the eats department while you have been away…good job!

    I pack my lunch everyday, I use to eat out for lunch EVERY day, but when I got on the weight loss/healthy eating train I quickly figured out that is much easier for me to pack something. I am terrible about portion control…if it is on my plate, I will eat it so I skip the temptation and pack something healthy and yummie. It has also done wonders for my pocket book! 🙂 And, I usually have time left over to take a walk or just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air afterwards!

  2. I pack a lunch most days for work. If I don’t, I won’t get the fruits and vegetables I need for the day, and end up feeling it the next day.

    I only eat out when I’m scrunched for time, or need to go grocery shopping. ^_^

  3. I usually pack my lunch when I go to work. I feel more comfortable with that because I can control what I’m eating, and won’t give into temptation 🙂

  4. I almost always pack my lunch, but if I don’t, there are a bunch of really good sandwich shops near my work that I can go to. The only problem is when I travel for work, I have to go out, and that’s where I run into trouble :/ It’s hard to say no to a big lavish lunch when you can expense it…$25 steak?? YES PLEASE.

  5. I almost always bring leftovers or a packed lunch. Once every week or two I may run out and grab something. It’s hard to find gluten free fast food and I only get 30 minutes so bringing stuff works better, is healthier, and saves money.

  6. I prefer to pack by own lunch so that I can stay in control of what all it is I am eating. Sadly I have reached the pointed where eating out with coworkers is a bit hard because I am so stingy spending money on food that doesn’t taste awesome. You start to get spoiled with homemade quality quickly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

