• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

All Over the Place

Yes, that’s me.

Here are some random things for today:

1.) My nephew Harper is doing really well lately. He is up to 3lbs1oz which I understand is still teeny, but he dipped under a pound after birth so he’s nearly trippled in size. He now (mostly) fits into preemie sized clothes, so they get to dress him up and he’s looking chubbier and more adorable each and every day. Prayers in numbers seem to be working!

2.) I signed up for another half marathon today!!!! I’m so excited to crush the time from my first half marathon and start training early next year for this race! My goal is to keep my running up to 5-6 miles between now and the end of the year and then start upping the mileage and doing more interval training like I did this weekend to improve my speed. The race is the National Suntrust Half Marathon on March 26, 2011.

3.) I had an awesome trip to the grocery store last night, though I left with way more than I intended. The bill was $58 before putting in my phone number and handing over my coupons, and after all those discounts came off it was only $36! Check it out:

Groceries

  • 2 bananas
  • 2 oranges
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 2 heads of garlic
  • chopped celery and onions
  • 1 pound brussels sprouts
  • asparagus
  • parsley

Beans and Things

  • Whole wheat linguini
  • Dried Kidney Beans
  • Dried Black Beans
  • Dried Navy Beans
  • 2 avocados (on sale for .97 cents for both!!)

Refridged

  • Fresh Express Spring Mix (Free Coupon from Foodbuzz Tastemakers)
  • Arnold Sandwich Thins
  • Nasoya pre-cubed tofu
  • sliced almonds
  • Minced Clams
  • Canned mandarin oranges
  • Chunky Almond Butter (free coupon from MaraNatha)
  • Stonyfield yogurt – plain and black cherry (.50 cent coupon which they doubled)
  • Ciao Bella Mango Sorbet

That’s a whole lotta loot for just $36, don’t you agree?

4.) Breakfast this morning was simple, but delicious.

YogurtBreakfast

Low-fat plain Stonyfield yogurt, half a grapefruit, 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/2 serving walnuts, sprinkle of chia seeds. The only thing I didn’t like was how much thinner regular yogurt is than Greek – I almost forgot!

Are you a yogurt lover? Regular or Greek? What’s your favorite way to have it?

20 Responses

  1. I’m running that race too! Just signed up. So excited.

  2. I would die without my plain greek yogurt. I love it with peanut flour, or cocoa powder, or melted chocolate. Or some combination of that. In the summer, fresh berries are good, too.

  3. I do Greek, since regular isn’t vegetarian friendly. Plus, I love the thicker consistency so much more!

  4. Hi I love to read your entries. You are inspiring me to eat healthier and try new foods for me. I was wondering about the chia seeds why you eat them often and where do you get them from.

    Thanks-Jana

  5. So glad the prayers are being heard for Harper! I will continue to keep him in mine!

    Your groceries are so healthy and economical! Way to go! 🙂

  6. beans Beans BEANS – look at all those beans!! wow, that’s a great job shopping!! 😀

    your yogurt bowl looks perfect… I LOVE grapefruit and have been CRAVING it lately…

  7. Beth,

    That’s a ton of food for jut $36! Way to go!! By the way, I’m so happy to hear that your nephew is doing well =)

    Anyway, I am considering signing up for my first 5k on Thanksgiving. I’m super nervous/ hesitant but I think I can do it. I havent trained outside at all though. I would really appreciate your input, since you’re such an experienced runner.

    • I say do it!! I did almost all my training indoors for several races, and the only suggestion I have is to maybe use a little incline (like 1 or 1.5) to account for wind drag, but other than that you should be OK! Worst case scenario you can walk if you need to, but I’m warning you – racing gets addictive!!

  8. Wow, you have a lot of foods I would buy. Where do you get your coupons? The coupons I tend to see are not what I would buy.

    For $36, that is awesome! Please tell me! 😀

    • A few of the coupons I got through my blog, but Stonyfield (Oikos yogurt and regular, too) has coupons that you can print off their website every month. I also always look at circulars every week to make sure I know whats on sale ahead of time. It helps a lot!

  9. I love Greek yogurt! It’s good with fruit, but I also love using it in place of mayo, like in tuna or potato salad. Yum!

  10. I’m 99% sure I’m signing up for that same race!

  11. It is amazing that you were able to get all of that food for $36 dollars. For some insane reason, I go into Target or any grocery store and I pick up not more than 4 items and I spend $20 + . I need HELP getting my food bills DOWN!! 🙂

  12. I myself also enjoy Greek Yogurt every morning along with either my Oats or Muesli

  13. I love greek yogurt with honey!

Leave a Reply

