• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Go Go Go

Good morning!

I. Am. Exhausted.

I feel like I’ve been go-go-going and there really is no end in sight until 2011.

I got back late on Friday night from Kansas City (around 10:30pm) and crashed HARD. I woke up and got an intense workout in doing the following:

  • 10 minute warmup on the treadmill covering 1.05 miles (5.8mph – 7.0)
  • 2×15 static lunges with a bicep curl (10 lb weights)
  • 1×15 dead lifts with a bicep curl (10 lb weights)
  • 3×15 tricep curl (15 lb weight)
  • 2×25 wall squats with a stability ball
  • 3×15 chest presses (20 lb setting)
  • 3×15 shoulder presses (10 lb setting)
  • 30 minutes of intervals on the treadmill (5.8 mph for 1:30, then 7.2 mph for 1:30, covering 3.23 miles total)

Whew! I am still a little store today but it felt great to get in such a good workout before starting the weekend.

After showering, throwing a few things in a bag, and repacking my toiletries (why did I unpack them in the first place on Friday night?), we got on the road for the 3 hour trip to see Wil’s mom for the night.

We had a really good visit, and stopped at Ruby Tuesday’s on the way. I normally hate chain restaurants, but the salad bar there gets me every time.

SaladBar

I started off with one mighty plate.

MySalad

I honestly don’t even know what’s on it but I promise there was spinach underneath it all. Also in the mix:

  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Peas
  • Feta
  • Corn and Black Bean salad
  • Chickpeas
  • Zucchini sticks
  • grapes
  • banana peppers
  • croutons
  • cucumbers

That’s all I know. 🙂 I ended up getting another small plate when Wil’s Turkey Burger came just because I felt like having something in front of me but I barely ate it because this first plate really packed a punch.

Dinner that night was pizza at home – very low key, but perfect.

We made brunch the next morning which was super heavy because they live in the South and love breakfast like that (so do I, on occasion) with scrambled eggs, cheese grits, biscuits with butter, hash browns, bacon and sausage (not for me!). I ended up eating not one but two biscuits, a good serving of eggs, and too many hash browns. It was delicious, but I was definitely in the mood for a light dinner when we got home around 6pm. I ended up running to pick up more than a few things at the grocery store, and Wil ordered us Chinese food.

I got eggdrop soup and we split an order of steamed veggie dumplings to start.

Chinese1

And then we shared the steamed jumbo shrimp and veggies for dinner with some white rice. My portion:

Chinese2

Plus some extra veggies.

After unpacking (again) we watched Dexter (which is getting CRAZY!!) and then I went to bed right after 10.

How was your weekend? What was the best part? What TV shows are you loving lately?

6 Responses

  1. Hi Beth! My weekend was good. Went to Peddler’s Village to celebrate my mom’s 61st birthday. We had a Sunday country brunch at a restaurant there and way overate! But it was good.

    I am loving Dexter too. I thought last night’s episode was really good.

    I am also loving Boardwalk Empire (gotta watch that on demand because Dexter is on at the same time) and Parenthood. Also, the usualy Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice.

  2. I feel the same way about chain restaurants- but my friends swear by the salad bar at Ruby’s! Maybe I’ll have to check it out if I get tired of Sweet Tomatoes…

  3. My weekend was good, but it went fast (don’t they always). I’m loving Hellcats as my new “must watch” show!

  4. hash browns ate not a very popular food here in South Africa

  5. I love Dexter! I’m not as enthusiastic this season as I was last but it’s still good. Love Breaking Bad and The Walking Dead.

  6. Never has a TV series had me in such suspense as Dexter. I love it!

    My other TV addictions are Modern Family, the Office, Outsourced, Bored to Death, and Eastbound and Down. I like Boardwalk Empire but I’ve missed a few episodes and need to get caught up.

Leave a Reply

