• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Unintentional Vegan

I made an awesome dinner last night, and halfway through I realized there was no cheese, butter, eggs, or fish in sight. I pretty rarely have vegan meals, and if I realize it’s vegan I generally just add some cheese because I love it. But last night, the meal was so great that it didn’t even need any! I started by soaking a bag of kidney beans in water overnight. I kept it uncovered but actually put it in the fridge overnight.

SoakingBeans

I’ve never made dried kidney beans from scratch, so I was kind of excited for these ones. I heated up a whole onion in a pan with a little oil, and then added in the beans, the rest of the veggie stock I had left, and some water so they were covered. Then I added 2 bay leaves for good measure.

InPot

I brought it to a boil, then covered it and turned down the heat and simmered them for about an hour. You know they are done when most of the liquid is absorbed and they are to your desired texture. Again, these beans were AWESOME. Though definitely more time consuming than canned, they are totally worth the time they take to prepare, especially since most of it just involves letting them simmer.

FinishedBeans

While those were cooking, I prepped a pound of asparagus, a pound of brussels sprouts, and 3 carrots. I tossed them in 2 tsp of olive oil and then salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

LotsofVeggies

I really like vegetables.

Into the oven at 400º for 40 minutes, stirring once, and then they were perfect.

FinishedVeggies

I took one shortcut on the rice…

BrownRice

Totally worth it.

Half the veggies…

Veggies

A large scoop of beans.

Beans

All served over half the rice (a bag makes 2 servings).

BJTT 472

This was sooooo good. I added a dollop of Sriracha for some extra flavor but it was so delicious I didn’t even notice I was missing animal products until half way through. 😛

Do you ever have vegan meals? If you are a vegan, do you ever miss eggs, cheese, and/or butter?

17 Responses

  1. Not a vegan, and it’s incredible though how many meals are really really good without any animal products.

  2. I am not vegan – but I too have often found myself making vegan meals without even realising it!

  3. not a vegan, but always wondered if they miss eating eggs/cheese. definitely gonna be checking back on your comments for that!

    i would love to research and make a yummy vegan meal one day. Tried some raw vegan pumpkin pie the other day and it was AMAZING

  4. What is sriracha? I’ve never heard of that before!

    • It’s this AMAZING hot sauce! It’s thick and quite spicy so you only need a little bit and it goes a long way. They have it in the Asian section of most grocery stores.

  5. I have never made my own beans but it’s definitely on my to-do list. I know it’s not hard so I should really just do it.

    I could never be a vegan, I love meat and cheese way too much!

  6. This is my kind of meal! Beans yes, roasted veggies, for sure!

  7. I love meals that come together like that! I am back to not eating meat and want to limit dairy some as I seem to eat a lot of cheese too! I enjoy reading your blog!

  8. Sometimes my meals are unintentionally vegan (like lunch today is veggies, beans and brown rice) but I could never go vegan because I’m an egg addict.

  9. We eat black bean fajitas every once in a while, so that would count as a vegan meal. Oh and oatmeal 🙂 But very rarely do I even notice to be honest!

    Have a nice holiday Beth!

  10. Not a Vegan, only have vegan meals when I’m trying to drop weight :-p I would totally miss cheese, yumm 🙂

  11. Awesome idea on the roasted veggies. Looks delicious. I don’t know why I haven’t thought of that. Simple and yum.

  12. Unintentional vegan meals have been happening more these days! I don’t think I could live without cheese though!

  13. Once in a while I’ll have something vegan but like you I usually have either butter, egg or cheese in there somewhere!

    I have only made dried beans once, and it was a 12 bean mix but I did something wrong as they started spliting open on me. I must give it a second try since I have so many of them! I must break away from reaching for just black beans as well…

  14. I love accidental vegan meals!! Sorry I haven’t been super involved in the blogging community lately. Hope you are having a good holiday!

  15. BEAUTIFUL! I love unintentional vegan days 🙂 I eat chicken once a week, and don’t miss dairy at allll. But I was never truly a die-hard cheese fan, so I can’t talk for those who love the little guy. I love how creative we’re forced to be when animal products aren’t involved. I vote Vegan day once a week for all the cheesy, meaty, eggy lovers out there! It’s just plain fun. Happy weekend 🙂 and hope your thanksgiving was wonderful!

  16. Sadly I almost never go vegan. I am addicted to cheese. 😦

Leave a Reply

