• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Still Feeling Thankful

Long time, no blog! I kept meaning to come here and update everyone but have been enjoying the time off from work and time with family and relaxing so much!

Wednesday night we were supposed to go up to Philly, but Wil ended up working pretty late so we went up on Thursday morning instead. We went to my sister Wendy’s house and were joined by my parents, my other sister Heather, her husband, and her kids, and then two of Justin’s brothers and their families. It was a group of 11 adults and 3 kiddies, so was the perfect size! Wil and I were in charge of appetizers, so we got off pretty easy. We were told to keep it light on the carbs since the dinner was so carb-heavy, so we made Citrus Cured Salmon, Deviled Eggs, and Endive with blue cheese, toasted walnuts, and apple. I did a really bad job at taking pictures, but did get one of the salmon curing:

The salmon is covered in equal parts sugar and salt, plus clementine juice and zest, lemon zest, and tarragon. We kept it that way for 48 hours, and then removed the sugar salt mixture, and it was ready to be eaten! I’ll do a post on curing salmon soon because its SO easy, and keeps for 2-3 weeks in the fridge. It seems so fancy, but its really simple. We served the salmon on top of crostini (toasted bread) with a cream cheese clementine sauce that I made by running a tub of whipped cream cheese through a food processor with the juice of 2 clementines and some clementine zest.

I got a picture of SOME of the deviled eggs..

We garnished them three ways – some with caviar, some with chive, and some with gremolata (parsley, lemon zest, and garlic).

For the last one (no pictures), we took endive leaves, and in each one put a toasted walnut, a little blue cheese, a piece of granny smith apple, and a dollop of Balsamic Pom Jam (left over from the POM Dinner Party!). These were also super simple and a huge hit.

I spent most of the day Thursday hanging out with my niece Claire…

and nephew Ben.

Aren’t they darling? Claire told me she loved me for the first time and my heart almost melted. šŸ™‚

The dinner buffet was also incredible…

The usual suspects… Turkey, mashed potatoes, creamed spinach, stuffing, sweet potatoes with pecan crumble (AMAZING), green beans with mushrooms, carrots with pecans, and corn muffins. Also, turkey shaped butter!

This was my first turkey-less Thanksgiving, and you know, I didn’t even miss it. There were so many vegetarian sides plus the appetizers which were loaded with protein (salmon, eggs, blue cheese) that I still felt stuffed and satisfied and didn’t feel like I was missing out whatsoever. Somehow, I missed snapping a picture of the pies, but my sister Heather made three.. pumpkin, chocolate bouron pecan (!) and salted caramel apple (!!!!). They were unbelievable. I had a piece of the pecan and apple and they were amazing and the perfect ending to the meal.

Wil and I ended up driving back on Thursday evening, which was a good thing because Heather and her son Ben both ended up getting sick with a stomach bug!! It was also awesome waking up in my own bed yesterday and having nothing to do for 3 full days! Wil also has the whole weekend so it is so great to just be low key and relax with him for a few days because that NEVER happens.

Yesterday, we went out to Don Pablo’s for Mexican and I got my go-to, the veggie fajitas.

I love these veggie fajitas because they are full of tons of different kinds of veggies – peppers, onions, carrots, corn, spinach, poblano peppers, tomatoes. Plus all the fixings.

(No sour cream or cheese, and black beans instead of refried). I had two corn tortillas, plus the entire tray of veggies and all the sides. Also lots of chips and salsa of course, and then we went and saw Due Date. I thought the movie was pretty good – I definitely laughed a lot but it’s not one I would say run out and go see now. It was fun being at a theater though because we haven’t been to the movies in a looooong time.

Today we made a nice brunch.

Two eggs (sunny side up!), hash browns, half a grapefruit, and a toasted arnold thin.

Now we’re just relaxing and waiting for pizza and salad for dinner… yum.

How was your Thanksgiving? Did you travel or just stay put? What were you in charge of making, or did you just have to show up?

6 Responses

  1. Wow, that Mexican food looks YUM! I’ve got some tacos planned in my near future and your blog has definitely made my mouth water in anticipation : )

  2. It looks like you had a wonderful time with your family! Those deviled eggs are my weakness! And wow even with caviar!

  3. Awwww – your nephew is the cutest!
    I’m in love šŸ™‚
    Oh, and all that food looked delicious, btw šŸ˜‰

  4. I stayed put and had a wonderful time!!! All of that food looks fantastic. And the kids are adorable!

  5. Those kids are adorable! Looks like an amazing meal and weekend

  6. Oh my goodness, those kids are darling!

    Those pies sound super good. It seems as if pumpkin pie is making a quiet fade on the preferred dessert front. The pumpkin pie I prepared was hardly touched.

Leave a Reply

