• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Easy Crockpot Vegetarian Chili

In honor of my new Crockpot, I threw together a recipe for vegetarian chili that is so hearty and satisfying that you won’t miss the meat at all.  The great thing about chili is you can completely adopt it to the ingredients you have on hand. I used canned beans in this recipe, but you can use dried if you have them – just soak them beforehand. I also used an onion and a pepper, but you can use other veggies, leave out the corn, add in extra spices, etc. etc.

Here’s (almost all of) what you need:

Chili Ingredients

  • 2 cans beans (I used dark red kidney, but any kind will do!)
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I used garlic and onion)
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbsp chili powder (more or less to taste)
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 poblano pepper (or other chili pepper)

To start, chop up the onion, bell pepper, and two cloves of garlic:

ChoppedVeggies

Heat up the olive oil in a pan over medium heat, add the chopped veggies, and heat until soft, about 3-4 minutes.

InAPan

Once those are done, add everything to the crockpot except the corn, plus one can of water – (beans, veggies, tomatoes, tomato paste, chili powder, cumin, and water).

ChiliinCrockpot

Turn on low and heat for 6-8 hours until its to your desired consistency. About an hour before you’re ready to eat, add in the corn.

AddinCorn

And that is IT!

Wil made us some vegan corn muffins to go with the chili, which had corn meal, white flour, apple cider vinegar, a flax egg (!), soy milk, and a touch of maple syrup.

CornMuffins

I ate 2 with my chili.

FinishedBowl

Plus added some light sour cream and reduced fat cheddar for garnish.

ReadyforGarnish

This was AWESOME. Even Wil, who is a self proclaimed carnivore, loved this chili. It is so thick and hearty, and requires such little work. The entire prep time took about 15 minutes between chopping and sauteeing the veggies and then dumping everything into the slow cooker. I set it up in the morning yesterday before church, and by the time we got home our entire apartment was fragrant.

It’s a good thing I have leftovers for lunch today (with two extra corn muffins!) because the heater is broken in our office and it is FREEZING.

Are you a fan of chili? What’s your favorite type of chili? Feel free to leave links to your recipe on your blog if you have one! I’m always looking for new ideas.

I loooove regular chili, but also love black bean or black bean sweet potato chili! yum!

13 Responses

  1. I am a big fan of chili. In fact I have some leftover chili for lunch today!

  2. broken heater on the first wintery day of the year?? not cool. Glad you have that chili.

  3. That looks delicious! I am obsessed with chili right now. Last night I made a delicious sweet potato and black bean. I recently made a veg chili using my crock pot for the first time and it was SO GOOOD!

  4. I love love love chili & have an easy recipe to share! (I don’t have it on my website though, so will share here if you don’t mind…) I call it “7 can chili” & it’s good in a pinch when you don’t want to have to put any effort at all into dinner!

    Here’s what you need:
    1 package dry ranch dressing mix
    1 package dry taco seasoning
    1 can tomato sauce
    1 can Rotel diced tomatoes w/ chiles (any “heat” level)
    1 can plain diced tomatoes (or one w/ onion & garlic)
    1 can light kidney beans
    1 can dark kidney beans
    1 can pinto beans
    1 can corn

    Directions:
    1. empty the ranch dressing & taco seasoning into the bottom of your pot/crockpot.
    2. add the can of tomato sauce to the pot & mix with a fork to remove any clumps of ranch dressing/taco seasoning.
    3. without draining first, empty ALL of the canned beans & canned corn into the pot/crockpot and stir.
    4. heat through & enjoy!

    I’ve played around with this quite a bit, subbing in black beans, white beans, garbanzo beans, etc and also play with the diced tomatoes depending on how “hot” I want the chili to be. I always serve it with sour cream, cheese and tortilla chips!

    (And I drain the cans of beans before adding them & drain off half of the water from the corn just because I don’t like runny chili – the canned tomatoes & tomato sauce make it just thick enough!)

    I will definitely have to try adding some fresh veggies now – seems like onions & peppers will be a great addition!

  5. My grandfather used to own a restaurant in NW Indiana. My mom gave us his chili recipe that he served almost daily in this restaurant. Its made with black beans and I love it. Best part about it is its just as good on the 1st day eating it as it is on the 2nd or 3rd!

  6. I am a big fan of chili with cumin in it, like yours. So many people leave it out and it’s just not the same. I love to pack mine with veggies (zucchini, bell peppers, eggplant).

  7. I love chili! It is so yummy and I love how warm it makes you, but I use to only make the meat and bean varieties.

    My stomach has had some serious issues with beans and I have practically removed them from my diet, so I need to get back in the kitchen and play with a new recipe.

    I am in love with Heather Eats Almond Butter’s recipe for Almond Butter Chili. So yummmmmmy!

  8. I love chili. What’s so great about it is that it also freezes well, so if you make a huge pot, you can freeze it and reheat for lunches or quick dinners.

    I love my crockpot.

  9. I love chili! It comforts and makes everything so warm/cozy!

  10. […] Easy Crockpot Vegetarian Chili […]

  11. […] the sudden, I see chili all over the blogs this week (at Beth’s Journey, at Eat Live Run, and Carrots n Cake – there are probably more too).  Had I not already planned […]

  12. Here’s another take on crockpot chili, although this one has ground turkey. I love the look of this one though, hearty without the meat!

  13. Of course it would help to post the link! http://wp.me/p16OIF-2G

Leave a Reply

