• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Out Twice in Two Days

The rest of my weekend after Saturday’s post was laaaaaazy. And not just lazy, but I literally left my apartment once each day. Saturday I went to the gym for a little over an hour (which is in my apartment building but I’m still counting it) and then yesterday, we went out for church and came immediately back afterwards. I know that probably seems SUPER lame (and I realize it may by definition be exactly that) but I enjoyed it SOOOO much. Wil and I rarely have time off together (besides Sundays) and if we do happen to have time off, we usually are visiting family or have plans and are constantly go-go-going. Just sitting down and watching movies, cooking, and relaxing was such a welcome change!

Getting in so much down time did not make waking up today any easier though. The weekend felt quite long and I kept saying “I can’t believe it’s only Friday/Saturday/Sunday, but when my alarm went off today it was still a shock. So it goes.

Saturday night we had pizza and salad at home. I used a flatout wrap for mine, which was so awesome because I got to eat the entire pizza, load it up with toppings, and felt zero guilt but it still was delicious and awesome. I started with some tomato sauce and crushed garlic, and then loaded on some veggies.

Layer1

Sauteed onions, spinach, and artichoke hearts.

Then I added the cheese and veggie sausage.Layer2

Shredded Mozzarella, part-skim ricotta, crumbled veggie sausage, and extra fennel seeds. Into the oven at 500 for 15 minutes.

FinishedPizza

This pizza was LOADED with toppings and the flatout wrap actually stood up to the toppings well. I added some banana peppers to the pieces for a little crunch and spice.

UpClose
And served it with a spinach salad loaded with blue cheese, almonds, walnuts, and pomegranate seeds.

Salad

A drizzle of evoo, salt and pepper – and the salad was amazing just like the pizza.

Sundays normally consist of eating out after church, but we both wanted to get home afterwards so decided to cook instead. I made a fruit salad while Wil prepared everything else.

FruitSalad

In the mix is one banana, one granny smith apple, 2 clementines, pomegranate seeds, and a sprinkle of OJ to keep everything from browning. Can you tell I opened up all the remaining pomegranates from our POM party? 🙂

I had a scrambled egg with cheese in a flatout wrap.

EggWrap

Plus some fruit salad and hash browns.

Breakfast

It was awesome.

I also got a brand new crockpot on Friday at Target.

Crockpot

For $8.99!!!! I hate Black Friday just because of the crowds, but Target was next door to the movie theater so we decided to check it out. I used this to make an incredible easy veggie chili recipe for dinner yesterday and lunch today, and will be back with the recipe.

Questions for Today:

1.) What was the tone of your weekend? Go-go-go or lazy like me?

2.) Are you into Black Friday? What’s the best deal you’ve ever gotten?

11 Responses

  1. My weekend was pretty low-key as well! I loved hanging out with my family and just getting some quality r&r.

  2. That pizza looks amazing.

    As for Black Friday, I was out there. I didn’t think the crowds were that crazy this year. It’s tradition in my family to shop on that day!!

  3. I was mostly lazy and it was glorious 🙂
    I tried to do Black Friday once (as in wake up at 3:30 am for a tv at target) and the TVs were sold out before the doors even opened, since they gave the first 20 or so people a ticket. Never again!

  4. I was a bit of both…some on the go, but lots of lazy where I got where I needed to be (if that makes sense!).

    I am far from a Black Friday person! I avoid it as much as I can!

  5. Your pizza looks fabulous and your salad is my kinda salad! I don’t usually go out for Black Fridays! It’s too hectic for me! 🙂

  6. that pizza looks SO good… I love the flatouts, they generally stay pretty sturdy, but if I add too many toppings? I just roll… 😉

    I stay away from Black Friday… we spent the weekend with family – it was SO nice… pretty low key and lots of fun.

  7. I saw they had crazy prices on their appliances at Target on Friday! Nice work…

    I don’t really do Black Friday, but I did have to go by Target in the early afternoon. I was out of toilet paper. While I was there, I picked up the Season 5 of Weeds dvd because it was on super sale.

    I also watched the entire dvd on Friday. Clearly I had a lot going on.

  8. I don’t do Black Friday. It makes me too anxious! I’d rather skip it and do my shopping online. 🙂

  9. How funny, I just tried flatouts the other day and the first thing I made with them was pizza!
    I went to Target on Friday at 12:30, and got in and out in 20min, it was great! Especially since I came out with a free $50 giftcard that will go towards another gift, score!

  10. Wow I can’t believe that crock pot was so cheap! I got mine a year ago and it wasn’t expensive but it’s the baby version.

    Also, I spend at least one Saturday or Sunday every other weekend just doing nothing. It always feels fabulous! I feel like so many people did it this past weekend. Gotta gear up for the rest of the holiday season1

  11. Glad you got to have some relaxing down time!

    My weekend was spent in full on hostess mode entertaining guests and trying to take them to see and do various things.

    And I hate black Friday. Sure I love deals and spending less, but crowds are super annoying!

Leave a Reply

