• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

New Month, New Goals: Part II

I said the exact same thing on November 1, but how the heck is it already December?! It is insane how fast this year has gone by – I can hardly believe the holidays are upon us!

For the past six weeks or so, I have been setting weekly goals, and then in November I set goals for the month for the first time in a while. I find the method very effective because my weekly goals feed into the monthly goals, and each week I set goals based on what I have going on. Here’s what I set out to do in November and my assessment of how I did.

November Exercise Goals:

  1. Strength Training Twice a Week. I did great with this one and actually strength trained 3x this past week. I can tell I’m getting more definition in my arms and shoulders, and I am happy to have made it a regular part of my workout routine.
  2. Half Marthon Sign Up – Check! I’ll be running the National Half Marathon on March 26, 2011.
  3. Run Once a Week (at least) – I’ve been really good about this one and have been running more than once a week. Last week I ran 4x!

November Food Goals:

  1. $50 Weekly Food Budget – I was very good about this one except with the POM Party (winners announced today btw!). I want to keep this one up, especially in light of the crazy amount of birthdays/holidays coming up this month.
  2. Eat out/happy hour at most 2x a week – I think I was pretty successful with this one. I tried to cook at home as much as possible and make healthy choices when traveling.

November Personal Goals:

  1. Continue to go to church every Sunday. I only missed church once in November, and that is because we were seeing Wil’s mom for the weekend. Unfortunately I don’t know that I’ll make it to church ANY Sunday in December (my church anyways).
  2. Read more and watch less TV.  I read one full book and am 2/3 through another in November. I still watch too much TV by anyone’s definition, but

So overall, I did really well with my goals this month. I like having them in three categories so I’m focusing on different elements of my life and not just one thing.

December is going to be a very busy month for me, as I’m sure it will be for a lot of you. I am traveling every single weekend from now through the end of the year:

  • December 4th – Philly for my mom and sister’s birthday
  • December 11th – New Orleans for Wil’s Birthday(!!)
  • December 18th – Wil’s family Christmas Party
  • December 25th – Christmas with my family
  • December 31st- Not sure yet, but maybe just staying put!

So needless to say, I am going to be extremely busy in December. With that in mind, here’s what I’d like to accomplish.

December Exercise Goals:

  1. Strength training 2x a week, and add in ab work.
  2. Try to do interval/tempo runs 1x a week.
  3. Establish my training plan for the half marathon so I know when to start doing the long runs.
  4. Keep up working out 3-4x a week for the whole month.

December Food Goals:

  1. Try to eat home as much as possible given the travel schedule and the amount of eating out I will be doing with all of the traveling.
  2. Stick to a $50 weekly budget for food.
  3. Drink a lot of water even during traveling.

December Personal Goals:

  1. Read at least 1 novel during the month.
  2. Try to get 8 hours of sleep a night.
  3. Try not to let the busyness of the month take away from all the quality time ahead with family.

Whew! Long post but I love having this in writing to help hold me accountable!

How do you keep yourself on track when you’re super busy? How is December looking for you?

23 Responses

  1. i love how your monthly goal posts always remind others to challenge themselves!

    i need to find a job asap (supposed to hear back from one sometime this week eek!!!), continue to go run even though its freezing cold out, and find cheap/healthy foods to eat.

  2. Morning!

    This season I am going to use monthly fitness plans and stick to them. I’m doing a trial for the next 4 weeks to see how hard it really is to stick to a plan.

    Basically I created workouts in blocks which consist of 4 weeks. I plan based on time in minutes, not during or length such as miles ran or meters swam. This way I can do what is best in that time frame.

    Depending on how my first block goes will help me decide what Block 2 will look like.

    Anyway, a basic plan helps me keep busy and stay on track.

  3. You kicked ass on your monthly goals! I can’t believe your travel schedule. I’m tired by looking at it 🙂
    I’m going away this weekend, but otherwise December won’t be too crazy for me.

  4. December is always super busy for me, but I always try to plan and organize so I have enough time to relax and enjoy the season. Congrats on sticking to your goals!

  5. Impressive work sticking to your goals! I need to get much better with strength training but I’m really intimidated by the machines at the gym. What do you do to strength train and was it difficult to just jump in and start doing it?

    • I am not that knowledgeable with strength training, but I have worked with a personal trainer before (only a few times and a while ago) and I also have done The Shred. When I first started, I mostly just used the machines (there are 4 for upper body in my apartment gym). Now I do a combo of free weights, the machines, and body weight exercises. I’ll probably do a post about it soon! About.com has lots of information about getting started.

    • Sparkpeople has free strength training routines that have pictures and demonstrations.

  6. I love seeing your goals! I think I will write down mine tonight for December…hopefully that will keep me on track! And I really like how you broke the goas into different categories too.

  7. Nice work on the workout accomplishments and such last month!

    8 hours of sleep every night? If you are able to do this one, you’re going to have to let me know how you did it! lol. I’m happy with squeezing in 7…

  8. You did great with your goals! i’m so impressed. I think your goals to focus on enjoying yourself and taking care of yourself over the holidays is really important. Good luck!

  9. I was just wondering if your $50 weekly food budget includes food for Wil and his daughters as well. If so, how the heck do you do that? I have three in my household and we spend at least double that a week!

    • haha i ❤ sleep. i almost always get 8+ hours or I can't function well! I just have to be especially mindful of it when i get really busy.

  10. These posts really help keep me accountable. I’m so glad we both do them. I love that you have separated your goals into different categories..that is smart!!

    Happy December.

  11. Great job on your goals! New Orleans next week? That is my very favorite city! Hooray for beignets.

  12. Man, you guys are busy bees! This month I am ALL over the place for work (and for fun!)- New York, Tahoe, NJ, DC, NYC, Kansas, and NYC again…

  13. oh my goodness – my December looks INSANE! I am trying to stay calm though 🙂

  14. I would go nuts if I didn’t have my Google Calender. I have my whole life planned there! 🙂

  15. […] holidays and Caitlin shared about being more mindful of healthy living.  Today, Beth shared her goals for December.  I found it quite serendipitous since these were both two thoughts on my mind recently, […]

  16. […] by Beth and Bebe, I decided to set some December Goals.  Why wait to the New Year’s to set goals?  […]

  17. Love all your goals! and congrats on having such a great November, good luck for this month!

    When things get crazy I just keep 2 things in line, and let the rest do its thing: exercise 5x/week and good food 7 days a week 🙂 Also, I might sacrifice a fun night of staying up late, and go to bed early so I can start the next day off as strong as possible. Lack of sleep is… the worst. And yes, calendars are GEMS! keeps everything so organized!

    Have a happy week, girl, take care!

Leave a Reply

