• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Busy Bee

Good morning and happy Thursday! It is a chilly one here in DC – it was 34º when I left my house this morning! Brrr.

Last night was a busy night for me. It’s funny because in retrospect its not like I had that much to do, it just felt like a lot for a week night. I wanted to work out, and needed to go grocery shopping, pick up a gift for my mom, and also make a batch of those black beans that will change your life. Somehow I ended up getting it all done and not even feeling too stressed.

I started by changing into workout clothes and going immediately to the gym after work. I ran on the treadmill for 45 minutes, starting with a 15 minute warm-up at 6.0 mph, and then I upped the speed by .1 mph every minute, going from 6.0 to 7.0. I stayed at 7.0 for 2 minutes, and then moved it back down .1 mph every minute, so that was a total of 20 minutes. I ended up with 10 minutes at 6.0, so I covered 4.67 mph in 45 minutes. Then I did the 5 minute cooldown to bring my heart rate back down before heading out. At the end of the workout, the treadmill said I had burned 155 more calories than my Polar HRM said. Crazy!

Workout

After the workout, I took a quick shower, ate a piece of bread with some melted cheese and a Jumbo SmartDog (tofu hotdogs that are actually awesome). No picture because I was moving so fast.

After that, Best Buy for my mom’s gift, and then the grocery store. I’m trying to stick to a $50 weekly budget, and came very close last night to going over since I was picking up taco supplies for Kids in the Kitchen tonight, but I managed to stay at exactly $50. Check it out.

Groceries

I only used one coupon – $1 off the sandwich thins, and otherwise shopped the sales and made sure to look at the grocery store’s website before heading over so I could make my list based off that. I ended up leaving the list at home but managed to remember most of what was on it.

Produce

  • Onions
  • Baby bella mushrooms
  • shredded iceberg lettuce
  • bell pepper
  • 3 bananas
  • cilantro
  • 4 limes
  • a grapefruit
  • grape tomatoes
  • low fat cottage cheese

Otherstuff

  • Baked Tostito Scoops
  • Arnold Sandwich Thins
  • Corn Tortillas
  • Fat Free Refried Beans
  • Fat Free Refried Black Beans
  • Sliced Almonds
  • 1 lb 93/7 ground beef (for tacos – not for me)
  • Shredded Cheese
  • low fat sour cream
  • Ortega taco shells – half soft, half crunchy
  • organic frozen corn
  • organic frozen peas

Not too shabby! I ended up getting back from the errands around 8:45, and got to work on starting the beans. Instead of doing them in a pot since it takes 2 hours and they wouldn’t be done until 11 or so, I ended up making them in my crockpot. I followed the same directions, including soaking the beans all day, heating up the garlic and onion in a a pan beforehand, and then adding the beans and liquid into the crock pot. I waited until going to sleep to add in the cilantro, and then this morning my apartment smelled SO good. I haven’t eaten the beans yet but I’m pretty sure these are just as good as the ones in a pot. I’ll keep you posted on that after lunch. 🙂

I also haven’t mentioned breakfast on here in a while, and that’s because I’ve basically been eating the same thing every day – Heat n Eat Steel Cut oats. These are super simple, and so good. The night before, you add 1 cup water and 1/4 cup of steel cut oats to a pan, bring it to a boil for 1 minute, turn off the heat, cover it, and leave it on the stove overnight. In the morning you just heat them up and you are ready to go. Lately I’ve been adding 2 tbsp peanut flour into the mix the night before, and in the morning they are SUPER creamy.

creamysteelcutoats

Look at that! The peanut flour makes the steel cuts even creamier than they are normally, plus adds 8 grams of protein and only 55 calories.

so good

Today I had them with a sliced banana and raisins.

toppingsupclose

pboats

Sometimes I just have them with a banana.

BJTT 614

And sometimes I bring them to work with the toppings on the side.

BJTT 464

Almonds, raisins, and honey.

BJTT 469

Any way you have ‘em, they are amazing.

What have you been having for breakfast lately? Do you tend to eat the same things every day or change it up?

15 Responses

  1. I generally eat the same thing for breakfast, normally a bowl of cereal or oatmeal that can be transported and eaten in my car. My sister made me a breakfast burrito with egg and sausage the other day. It was delicious and so much better than cereal!

  2. After I read your directions for your oatmeal I have made that. It is so easy. Right after dinner I cook it.
    Sometimes I get tired of the same breakfast but I do not know what else to make.

    • The thing that’s great about oatmeal is its a palate for anything you want to top it with! I love that you tried the steel cuts that way – it really is so easy! You do need to think about it the night before, but this whole week its just been automatic for me.

  3. Do the steel cut oats have a different flavor than the rolled oats kind? I ❤ oatmeal, as you know. Your toppings look delicious by the way!

    • Steel cuts are a lot creamier and more filling than the rolled kind. They are less processed too, so have more fiber/protein. The only problem is they take 30 minutes to cook on the stove, but this solves the problem as long as you think about it the night before!

  4. I’ve been using peanut flour in my oatmeal too since I bought it last week – love it. Have you found any other uses for it yet?

    • I mix it with water or milk sometimes to make “peanut butter” and i’ve thought about making it into a sauce for noodles but haven’t tried it yet!

  5. I almost always eat the same thing for breakfast for at least a couple of months, then I change to something different and eat that every day for a couple of months. I’m not very creative 😉

  6. Still on my oatmeal kick, too (with cereal on top). I don’t see it changing anytime soon. :p

    It seems I prefer not to put that much thought into my mornings- just go with what’s a proven winner.

  7. You oats are looking delish! I’m getting into them more and more as it gets cooler. They are so filling! I need to look into getting those little individual honey packets!

  8. Yum, I want to try those oats. Lately, I’ve been having 2 slices of whole grain innkeeper’s bread toast with strawberry & champagne jelly on top. it’s the only breakfast i’ve ever had that keeps me completely full for 4-5 hours. so easy to make, too — which is good for me b/c i don’t wake up any earlier than absolutely necessary!

  9. I usually eat the same breakfast for a week or two and then switch to something new for a couple of weeks. My current breakfast is 2% greek yogurt, a spoonful of pumpkin butter, a spoonful of homemade cranberry sauce and a tangerine on the side.

  10. I LOVE that breakfast idea! I’m going to have to give it a shot

  11. I have been bouncing back and forth between smoothies and eggs, which tends to be pretty typical for me. I would love to get more creative with breakfasts, but am still working on being more creative with dinner. 🙂

  12. Love my oatmeal but I needed to switch things up so I made a huge batch of homemade egg sandwhiches. I basically cook 2 egg whites on the stove (folding into a square), let them cool, then put them on a whole wheat english muffin with a slice of low fat cheese. If you wrap them in saran wrap, you can freeze them and just defrost in the microwave for breakfast!

    How do you like the Polar heart rate monitor? I got a cheap one from Wal-mart but I can’t figure out how to set up everything and figure out my calorie burn. Is the Polar HRM easier to set up/read?

Leave a Reply

