• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Real or Fake?

Last night was our night with the girls for Kids in the Kitchen, but they ended up staying out of the kitchen and just letting us do our thing. I made some cilantro rice and then we set out a taco spread so it was easy-peasy.

CilantroRice

The usual suspects – guacamole, shredded cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, ground beef, chips, and taco shells.

BJTT 473

The reason we were in a rush was because we were going out to pick up a Christmas Tree last night! I was so excited because last year, we waited a long time and ended up buying a really sad 2.5’ fake tree and it just didn’t feel like Christmas. When I was little, we always used to have a huge real tree and it was such a fun tradition picking it out, decorating it and then setting up our train to go around the three.

I really was leaning towards a real tree again this year, but with the crazy amount of traveling we’re doing in December, maintaining it is going to be rough. Not to mention, we have carpets throughout our apartment (besides the kitchen and bathrooms) so it would just be messy. I agreed to go with a fake tree again, but insisted it be at least 7’ tall. We went to Target and all their fake trees are on sale, and we found one that was 7’ for just $40! Right after we got back, we all got to work…

Settinguptree

Wil, Charkey, and Nora.

It took about 30 minutes or so to get the tree itself set up because we had to put the three parts together and spread out all the branches.

BJTT 479

Charkey, Me, and Nora.

After the tree was up, we went crazy with lights and ornaments… and it was done!

BJTT 481

It was so pretty when we turned the lights down.

BJTT 485

Though getting a good picture of a light Christmas tree is definitely easier said than done.

So now the question – if you celebrate Christmas, did you go real or fake this year with your tree? Do you feel strongly one way or the other?

17 Responses

  1. I feel very strongly for FAKE trees! I know I’ll be the only one, but I am super allergic to real trees. I can’t even be in someone’s house with a real tree for more than 30 minutes (it starts being uncomfortable after 5). It stinks having to ask people if they have real or fake trees before I go over.

  2. Real for sure! My parents always have a fake one, but I love my Frasier Fir. It doesn’t shed needles everywhere and it smells wonderful. And my cat loves to drink the pine water! LOL!

  3. Gotta love a good Target tree! That’s where mine is from, too… 🙂

  4. Your tree is fantastic. I have a wreath…. it’s fake.
    Ho ho ho.

  5. I’ve never had a real tree. I put up a 4 foot fake tree with fiber optic lights. Lame I know! lol

  6. I’m so lazy that I’m going “no tree.” Too much work travel this month. If you miss the smell of the “real tree” with your “fake tree,” go to Yankee Candle and pick up a Christmas Wreath scented candle. All the smell with none of the allergy flare ups or neddles to vacuum.

  7. I have a thing about chopping down a tree to put in my home for a couple weeks – it makes me sad… so I go with a fake tree, which I love anyway, because mine are bright fuchsia, turquoise and silver! yep, I have three…

    with the big trees, it is so easy to put on a level, then add lights… put on another level, then add lights… it looks SO great that way!! 😀

    HAPPY HOLIDAYS !!

  8. Oddly enough, no preference! As long as I get the pine smell… even if it comes from a yankee candle, I’m good!

    Yours looks so nice!

  9. I love real trees because of the smell, but they are a lot of upkeep. Since we travel for Christmas, we’ve gotten a fake tree. It comes with the lights already on, and I have a candle that smells like pine tree, so it’s easier to set up and still smells good too!

  10. A couple of years ago, I opted for a fake tree with the lights already on it. It’s big and very pretty, but it is unbelievably heavy! It comes in 3 parts also, but the bottom part actually takes two people to carry up from the basement. Not sure what makes it so heavy, but it is lovely. Years ago the fake ones were funky, but they have gotten really nice and it’s so much better for the environment not to cut down a tree and just toss it after a couple of weeks!

  11. Hi Beth! Nice job with the tree. It looks great!

    We are going to a tree farm tomorrow and cutting one down. We did that last year too. When I was a child, we did that every year. It’s so much easier with a fake one and we have one too but my 10 year old wants to chop one down this year.

  12. This will be the first year I’m getting a tree since I got my cats. I will get a real one (maybe even a living tree) and see how it goes. Next year I might need a fake one. 🙂

  13. I love real trees, but we have an artificial one because my husband is allergic. When we were first together, we had real trees. My husband knew how much I loved them and didn’t tell me he was allergic and just suffered through. Now that is love. When he finally told me after a couple years, we went out and bought a fake one. I actually like how they don’t shed needles or need watering.

  14. That cilantro rice sounds delicious! I cant wait to try it! And your tree is beautiful! I cant wait to set mine up tomorrow! 🙂

  15. I love fake trees. When I was a kid we had a real one for a number of years that always had to be taken down before we went traveling for the holidays. Then we got a fake and I loved that we could leave it up all of the time. I subscribe to this as an adult!

    Chipotle rice…the best thing ever!

  16. Yes, I am all about the real tree. However, this year I had to cave and get a fake tree because we will be gone for a significant amount of time and I would hate to return to a dead tree.

    My husband always grew up with fake trees and both of us think of decorating the tree on totally different levels. He thinks of separating branches after pulling the tree out of a box, I think of letting the branches settle for a couple of days before having the chance to decorate.

  17. Aww it’s beautiful! I agree, though, I always want me a real nice n’ pine-smelling tree. It just isn’t the same without one! I set up a fake one at work and just felt strange. My hubby keeps bringing up the idea of a fake one (even a crazy white one!) but I keep turning him down. I think he understands haha 🙂

    Chipotle rice looks/sounds SO good! I love how simple a dish with cilantro can be, but the fresh-herb taste is so loud and delicious!

    have a happy weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

