• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Highlights from NOLA

I’m alive! 🙂

New Orleans was SO fun. We had such an amazing time and ate so much delicious food, saw great live music, and did a lot of walking around and exploring the city! I even managed to squeeze in two workouts while I was there.. be proud (I am!). I am feeling ready for some detox from both drinking and fried food, so am very much looking forward to rejoining Weight Watchers tomorrow night.

The fun ended a little later than plan because after we packed up and checked out of the hotel yesterday, I got a call saying our flight home was canceled. They had rebooked us on a flight this morning, but instead of the direct flight with seats next to each other like the original flight, we had a 3 hour layover in Charlotte, NC and were both smushed in middle seats in a completely sold-out plane. Talk about a downgrade. We also had to buy another hotel night, and even though there are much, much worse places to get stuck than New Orleans, we were literally packed and ready to go when the call came so it kind of put a damper on the end of the trip.

Our flight out of New Orleans was at 6am this morning, so I am kind of a zombie and though I did make it to work for a few hours, I have a lot to get done before I feel settled.. including unpack, grocery shop, laundry, buy bigger pants, etc. I promise a full recap (probably spread out over a few days to spare you!) but for now, let me leave you with a few highlights from the trip.

Waiting for Oysters

View from our Hotel Roof

25 Cent Martini Lunches

Carolers at Lunch, New Orleans Style

Eggnog Mustache

The Streetcar

Music on the Street

New Orleans School of Cooking

Homemade Pralines (pronounced PRAH-lines)

Hurricanes at Pat O’Briens… you gotta do it

Free Outdoor Music Festival

Shrimp Po Boy

Cafe Du Monde!

Beignets

Ahhh SOOO fun!

What is the best vacation you’ve ever taken?

25 Responses

  1. I have never been to New Orleans but I know that it’s a place I definitely want to go someday!

    It looks lik eyou’ve had a blast.

  2. Looks like you guys had a great time.

    Why are you rejoining weight watchers? I need to lose 20 lb and I am struggling. Do you feel weight watchers really works? I was considering signing up because I hear the online version is great. Any suggestions?

    • I’d like to lose around 15 more pounds (maybe more after that trip!) and I really do believe Weight Watchers is an awesome program that works. I don’t know too much about the new program they just unveiled two weeks ago, but I’ll definitely post about my impressions and progress with the program. I have heard good things about the online program and I know you get all the tools you get from the meetings themselves, but for me, the in person meetings with the weigh ins really are what hold me accountable. It’s definitely a lot cheaper to do the online version though, so I’d say give that a go first and see how it works for you. If you feel like you need or want the support from the meetings, you can always switch.

  3. Oh, Pat O’s hurricanes. At my old job I had a client in New Orleans and spent a ton of time down there. I suffered through many morning meetings, courtesy of Pat O’s.

    Glad you had a fun trip!

  4. Oh! It looks like you had so much fun! I’ve always wanted to check out New Orleans. What a fun time.

  5. wow – it looks like you guys are having such a great time!! 🙂

  6. Oh my, is that fried shrimp po’ boy from Mother’s? I got such a concoction there in February and want more…

  7. Looks fun!! I have always wanted to visit NOLA.

    I think the best vacation I’ve taken was the 10-day road trip I took this past June with my boyfriend. We saw 6 concerts in 10 days (two DMB and four Phish) and explored cities we’d both never been to. It was entirely too much fun and I can’t wait to do it again!

  8. Glad you had so much fun, did you LOVE the beignets? I can’t wait for Nick to try them when we go in March!

    • They were sooooooo good!!! I was kind of shocked with the amount of powdered sugar on them but quickly realized it was the perfect amount. The entire floor was covered in it!

  9. I love NO!!! Especially their beignets:) Looks like you had a great time!

  10. Welcome back, i missed your blogging. 🙂 Looks so fun and delicious!! I am dying to go there.

    Are you going to the K st location by any chance for ww? I’m thinking of going this week to rejoin.

    • You HAVE to go – its so fun! Not good for the waistline though. 🙂

      And yes, I am going to the K Street location! I’ll email you. 🙂

  11. Beth-

    So glad you had a great trip!! Can’t wait to hear more.

    I will be in DC in a couple of weeks, we should try and meet up for a coffee or lunch!

  12. Looks like you guys had a blast! Sucks about the canceled flights though. It seems like that always happens when you are ready to leave and just want to be home sweet home!

  13. I’ve never been to New Orleans and I’m dyyyying to! what a fun trip!

  14. Beth, it looks like you had an amazing time in New Orleans! And I am impressed that you managed to get in two workouts–that’s amazing!!

    As you can see from my blog, last week was a bit of a whirl for me, with me changing my mind every two seconds about what plan to follow. Lol. Can you tell I don’t like change? Anyway, I think WW is the best WL system out there and good luck with your meeting tomorrow. I’m actually leaving for a week vacation to Florida on Friday so I’m just focusing on living healthy for the time being.

  15. To the Amalfi Coast, of course! 🙂

  16. Welcome back 🙂

    I re-joined weight watchers two weeks ago and I am totally LOVING the new program!!!

    Jen

  17. Looks like such a fun trip! I love the shrimp po boys! I’ve tried to made the pralines a couple of times but they aren’t as good as the ones I had there. I really want to go back with my husband…he’s never been!

    It’s so hard to choose a best vacation…my husband and I took a cruise to Key West, Belize, and Cozumel that was pretty amazing.

  18. Fun! So looking forward to the recap!

    My favorite trip was our annual honeymoon part-2 up to Sonoma for brewery tours. It was incredible!

  19. i’ve never been to NOLA but really want to go and you definitely solidified that I should!

Leave a Reply

