• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Candy Coated Chocolate Covered Pretzels

Morning and happy Friday!! So happy its finally here. Today is our office Christmas Party, which is super low key and held in our conference room but is always tons of fun. We get the main dishes catered, and then everyone brings in sides and desserts to complete the meal and we do a gift exchange. I’m excited for it!

Last night, I had to make a treat to bring to the party, so a quick dinner was in order. I made Open-Faced Quinoa Burger Sliders!

Quinoa Burgers 041

With the leftover quinoa burgers from Wednesday night, I made one serving into two smaller burgers and ate them open faced on an english muffin. Doused, of course, in more of that same yogurt sauce.

Quinoa Burgers 043

SO good. Seriously – the quinoa in the burger makes it crunchy on the outside and just adds such a great textural element to the traditional veggie burger. Yum.

The reason for a quick dinner was because I had to get down to business making office treats! I decided to make chocolate covered pretzels dipped in different kinds of candy, and yesterday someone tweeted about Sabrina doing them with candy canes so I added that to my rotation as well.

Not my typical kitchen contents:

Quinoa Burgers 046

White and regular chocolate chips, oreos, sprinkles, and candy canes! The other essential thing (besides pretzels) is wax paper – completely necessary!

To start, crush up your toppings. I unwrapped all the candy canes and put them in a large ziplock bag.

Quinoa Burgers 047

And then went to town with a meat tenderizer.

Quinoa Burgers 050

Crush these until you think you’re done, and then keep going. The smaller the better because the smaller pieces stick much better to the chocolate!

Quinoa Burgers 054

Same process for the oreos…

Quinoa Burgers 056

Once the toppings are prepped, you are ready to go.

Start by melting some of the chocolate chips in 30 second increments in the microwave, stirring. I had to do each batch for 1 minute total to get it totally melted.

Quinoa Burgers 058

Coat your pretzel in chocolate, but don’t make the layer too thick. I used a spatula to scrape it down so there was only a relatively thin layer of chocolate on there.

Quinoa Burgers 060

Next, roll your pretzel in whatever topping you want, and then set it on wax paper to cool. You will speed up the process (and help solidify the chocolate) if you put them in the fridge for a few minutes, which is what I did. I actually stored them in the fridge overnight to keep them solid, but they are now warming up to room temperature in preparation for the party.

My intention was to take pictures with every step of the process, but it gets pretty messy and my hands sticky from the chocolate and candy, so I only have photos of the finished products!

Quinoa Burgers 061

I did both pretzel rods and large pretzel twists.

Choc Covered Pretzels

White chocolate drizzled with milk, and milk chocolate rolled in oreo, sprinkles, and candy cane.

Quinoa Burgers 066

Pretzel rods dipped in milk or white chocolate, rolled in oreos and candy canes.

Quinoa Burgers 063

I think the ones with the sprinkles are the cutest, but I only made 3 of them! Sad story.

These treats look so fancy but are really simple to make. All the products are also super cheap, and you can make them festive to any occasion with different candy and colored sprinkles to dip in. The only problem was trying not to taste test during the process. Next time I will use gum.

What’s your favorite holiday treat?

19 Responses

  1. Those look adorable – and salt+chocolate is an amazing combination. I can’t really pick a favorite holiday treat (me and my chocolate…sigh), but I made these last night http://www.saveur.com/article/recipes/Basler-Brunsli-Chocolate-Almond-Spice-Cookies
    and I’m in love…

  2. These look awesome! Can’t wait to try them today 🙂

  3. Love the pretzel rods! I attempted a sad version of them with my leftover chocolate/almond bark. They still tasted delish, but didn’t look nearly as nice as what you ended up with!

  4. OMG Beth I was JUST thinking about making these exact things over the weekend. I read the title and laughed out loud!! They look amazing 🙂

  5. Oh man those look GOOOOOD and really easy to make (which I like even better)!

  6. Those treats look beautiful! What a good idea, I might have to add that into my holiday cookie baking rotation this weekend.

    My favorite treat is peppermint bark – anything with peppermint really.

  7. Oreo balls are definitely my favorite treat. I can’t get enough! Those do look tasty too though. Hope your party goes well.

  8. Those look so good, and I can’t wait to make those quinoa burgers!!!

    I have mass amounts of pretzels, chocolate and candy canes. I think these need to be chocolate dipped 🙂

    Jen

  9. Those quinoa burguers look lovely.
    And, about those chocolate covered pretzels…
    Holy YUUUM!
    🙂

  10. Those look beautiful Beth! I especially love the platter you assembled! 🙂

    I feel like taste testing is so very necessary. I mean, Julia Child would have never sent a recipe out to her fans without testing it multiple times to ensure it was as close to perfect as possible. I know…I have a random obsession with Julia Child.

    Hope you had fun at your party!

  11. Ok, I seriously can’t wait for my camera to get here now. These pictures are beautiful!

  12. My goodness!! You have about the most beautiful dessert talents I have seen this Christmas season in the blog world, girl!

  13. WOW these look delish. My grandpa has a pretzel addiction.. so i might have to make him these 🙂

  14. Chocolate dipped anything = love.

    My favorite holiday treat though is egg nog just because you can’t get it year round, so I like to enjoy it when I can 🙂

  15. These look wonderful! My mom makes great chocolate covered pretzels that I just inhale. HA!

  16. sweet and salty is my FAVORITE combination!

  17. What a fantastic idea! I love pretzels. Book-marking you 🙂

  18. Oooh I made these except I just used chocolate and sprinkles and my family ate them in seconds flat…so addictive! I love the idea of crushed peppermint.

  19. […] Beth’s Chocolate Dipped Pretzels (great take home gifts for dinner guests!) […]

Leave a Reply

