• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Substitutes

Morning! I’m so excited because we just got an email saying we are getting out at 2:30pm today for a holiday treat, and no more work until Monday! I leave tomorrow morning early to head to New Jersey to my parents house, and then we will be heading into Philly for church and fondue. We’ll stay at my parents house, and then go out for Chinese on Christmas Day, then head back to DC and spend Christmas night with just Wil and I. I’m excited for it all, but its so sad when you start working how you only get a day off for Christmas instead of “winter break” like when you’re in school. Sucks!

Moving on… even before I stopped eating meat back in February (I can hardly believe it’s been almost a year!), I would often have meat substitutes because they were great sources of protein, so easy because you can cook them from frozen most of the time unlike real meat, and lower points than real meat as well. I’ve practically tried every single brand of them, and only recently have I gotten into Quorn products. They tend to be a lot more expensive than Boca or Morningstar Farms, so I only buy them when on sale. Last week at the grocery store, the Quorn Turk’y Burgers were on clearance (since when does food go on clearance?) for just 2.44 for a box of 4, so I couldn’t pass it up.

Last night, I cooked one of them in a pan with 1 tsp of olive oil.

BJTT 076

It was almost freaky how meat-like these little burger patty was. Packing in 10 grams of protein, and just 90 calories and 4 grams of fat, this baby came in at 2 WW P+. Last night, I served it on a bed of sprouts on an english muffin, with some green beans and leftover quinoa salad.

BJTT 079

I drizzled 1 tsp of olive oil over the (previously frozen) green beans, and then put a huge dollop of mustard and the other half of the english muffin on top of the burger.

BJTT 081

It was awesome. This meal took under 10 minutes to throw together, and was so satisfying.

I took another one of the turk’y burgers out of the freezer and put it in a ziplock with some frank’s red hot, and plan to have that over sprouts today for lunch with a laughing cow blue cheese (new product alert!), with some more green beans and the rest of the quinoa salad.

How do you feel about meat substitutes? Do you eat them? Like them, love them, hate them? Are you a vegetarian? What are your favorite ones?

28 Responses

  1. As for meat substitutes, my favorite to date is a Boca burger – flame grilled. I have had others but have not really wanted to buy them again and again like the Boca.

    I had a tofu dog, which I will never speak of again…

  2. I like Boca and Morningstar burgers but haven’t gotten them in a while because they do tend to be expensive. I’ve never had Quorn’s before, but they look huge and just like the real deal! Yum!

  3. I do often keep some substitutes on hand since they can be a quick and easy option, but I try to eat them minimally since there are a ridiculous amount of ingredients (at least in the Boca/Morningstar ones). I’ve never tried Quorn though!

  4. I really like the Morningstar Farm sausage patties. I struggle with meat substitutes and vegetarianism in general. While a strict vegetarian, it was never fully about ethics or morals for me but rather about health. Although I didn’t rely on meat substitutes for most of my protein, I did eat them a few times per week. I finally began to wonder whether processed substitutes were really any better for me than organic versions of real meat.

    At this point, I’m eating meat a few times per week. I actually find I feel better when consuming some animal protein. However, I struggle with whether I should be a vegetarian or not.

    • The sausage is my absolute favorite meat substitute. It tastes so much like the real thing! The crumbles are my favorite but the patties are a close second.

      I gave up meat for the same reason – for health. I don’t eat the processed kind too often but sometimes when I don’t have a lot of time on my hands its really convenient.

  5. I know you’ve mentioned Quorn before and really like them. I’ve only had a few meat substitute attempts. The chickenless chicken from TJ’s did a number on me. Wasn’t a fan. But that doesn’t mean I won’t give it another chance!

  6. That whole meal looks really good Beth!

    I don’t eat much meat substitute, I just eat the meat instead! I’ve tried bocas before, but I didn’t really like them.

    I am totally with you on missing “winter break” from school!

  7. I really like veggie burgers and eat them on a semi-regular basis. I am not really picky about the type but right now I have Boca bruschetta burgers in my freezer.

    I am not a vegetarian but I am also not a huge meat eater. I flirted with the idea and was a veg. for three years in the past but my boyfriend and son are such huge meat guys. I don’t like the idea of making two separate meals

    • I hate making two meals too – I don’t get how some people do that! Sometimes I’ll make chicken or some extra protein for my boyfriend to have in addition to the meatless meal, but thats about as far as I’ll go. And bruschetta burgers sound awesome!

  8. I love them. I’m not a vegetarian anymore (at all. I love me some bacon, sushi and shellfish) but I definitely developed an appreciate for meat substitutes during my decade of being meat-free. I love morningstar products. I’m not a big fan of meatless burgers that still try and taste like burger.

  9. I like the morningstar farm veggie crumbles! Great in veggie chili and then I put the chili on scrambled eggs. How is the laughing cow blue cheese?! I have seen it in the grocery but have been too nervous to try it!

    • To be honest, it tasted just like the other laughing cow cheese to me – – not like blue cheese at all. It was fine, though. Still just 1 pt+! 🙂

  10. I do eat some meat, but prefer none or the substitute. I’m basically a vegetarian, I just need to make the switch already!!

    Jen

  11. So far I’ve not really found any meat substitutes that are gluten free. I’ve not looked at Quorn to see what they are made of. I’ve never been a vegetarian but I did use to eat veggie burgers on occassion.

  12. That dinner looks awesome! I’ve always been a fan of Boca burgers or Morning Star, so I’ll have to try something new. Yum!

  13. I love meat substitutes! Never tried the Quorn ones, but my favorite brand is Morningstar Farms. Mmm, their veggie riblets are too die for!

  14. I am not big on most meat substitutes because they are usually full of lots of fake crap that is anything but natural. I believe Quorn is on the more natural side, which is likely why it’s more expensive. Seriously though, check out the back of some of the Boca or Morningstar Farms boxes…ingredient lists as long as your arm! To me, that’s wayyyyy worse than eating real meat!

    I have heard good things about Quorn though, so I will have to look into them more!

  15. Lately I’ve been eating Quorn “Chicken” Patties because they are soy free and have somewhat of a crispy texture. They are decent.

    My all time fav has to be the Veggie Corn Dogs from Morningstar! I LOVE eating them for my “healthy junk food” nights.

  16. I don’t like ALL of them, but I like boca burgers and ‘chicken’ patties… I had a chicken wrap for lunch today!

    YAAAY for getting out of work early, HAPPY HOLIDAYS and safe travels !!

  17. I love chicken meat substitutes, and can live without the red meat kind – they’re always way too salty. I love salting my food, so for me to say that it’s gross.

  18. I love looking at the back of the boxes on those meat-free creations and trying to make them at home with less ingredients. It forces me to be creative and it’s usually more fun, too.

    Have a beautiful Christmas girl, God bless!

  19. I love meat substitutes! The texture of meat never really bothered me (more it bothered my stomach) so I’m not turned off by the realness of some of the subs.

  20. I was a vegetarian for about 12 years. I started running and CRAVED meat. Like real meat. I tried eating meat substitutes but it did not work. Now I’m a full-fledged meat eater.

Leave a Reply

