• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Roasted Veggie Lasagna

Hi! One of my goals for December was to read at least one book – and last night, I just finished my second one of the month – Love the One You’re With. It’s by Emily Giffin, who wrotes Something Blue and Something Borrowed (and some others I’m sure), and it was a really quick read. It’s really good, too, and I stayed up the last two nights a little too late reading it, but now its over. I dropped it back off in my Community Book Room, which is a room in my apartment complex full of books that people drop off and you can take anything you like. After dropping off that book, I picked up another beach read, Can You Keep a Secret?, which I’ll start on today. I’m on a roll.

Last night, I made an awesome dinner that I’ve been contemplating for a while. I really love lasagna, but its normally pretty unhealthy if made the traditional way, and more of a special occasion treat than a regular meal. I decided to come up with my own creation and see how it turned out just topped with cheese rather than filled with cheese too, and it turned out awesome!

Roasted Veggie Lasagna

BJ 017

To start, I preheated the oven to 400º and took 10 brussels sprouts, a carrot, and part of a red onion (all I had!). I trimmed the stems of the brussels and cut them in quarters, peeled the carrot and chopped it up, and cut the onion into a similar size.

BJ 027

Tossed with 1 tsp of olive oil and some pepper, and then into the oven for 20 minutes. I stirred around the veggies, then added 1/3 cup of frozen corn kernels and put it back in the oven for 10 minutes.

BJ 029

Then came the fun part – assembling the lasagna. I used a loaf pan because I only wanted to make a few servings rather than a whole tray, and I layered 1 1/2 cups sauce, the roasted veggies and 2 servings of no boil lasagna noodles.

BJ 023

Once I’d used up all the fillings, I sprinkled 2 servings of reduced fat cheese over the top. I used a cheese blend because that’s all I had, but mozzarella only is preferred.

BJ 033

Meanwhile, I turned the oven down to 350º and covered the lasagna in foil.

BJ 034

I threw it in the oven, and then came the dumb part – I decided to go to the gym. I knew I was pressed for time, so I ran for 40 minutes, walked for 5, and then hurried back downstairs to see if I had burned my apartment down.

BJ 051

I had not, but the lasagna was definitely cooked for a little longer than ideal.

BJ 039

It was still delicious, but I think 30 minutes, then remove the foil and cook for 10 more until the cheese is crispy would be ideal.

BJ 045

This recipe is 5 points if you divide it into 4 servings, or 10 points if you eat half (which I did). I brought in 1/4 for lunch, plus some of that leftover health salad, so only 6 points and it will be super delicious and filling. You can easily change up the veggies based on what you have, and feel free to steam them rather than roast them if you prefer. I just really love roasted veggies, and throwing them into a lasagna makes you not miss the cheese at all since the filling is so flavorful.

Mmmm now I want lunch.

Two questions – Are you a reader? What types of books do you like to read? and… What’s your favorite italian dish? Have you ever tried making a healthier version of it?

33 Responses

  1. I got that book from Leah @ Why Deprieve! It was a fun one. Usually I do collections of short stories, but I must say, I’d probably read another Emily Griffen if I ran across it at the library…

  2. I am a reader but to be honest, I haven’t picked up a book in a long long time – I need to start again. The last one I read was the Gargoyle. I tend to pick dark books. I’m weird that way.

    As for Italian – there is nothing I don’t like! I try to be healthy by lowering the cheese and increasing the tomato sauce and veggies. I usually health up my meatballs by adding flax seed, oats and chia. You can’t notice once cooked!

  3. I’m definately a reader. Just got The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown for Christmas.

    And my latest purchase…Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. (This puts a WHOLE new perspective about the meat industry).

    • Ohh Skinny Bitch is a good one! The language is a little offensive but once I got past that, I really liked the amount of information. It does get pretty graphic though and is not for the faint of heart!

  4. I love reading. I mostly read historical fiction and mysteries. I really like Kathy Reichs.

    I do like a good chick lit book too.

  5. I’ve read all of her books! They’re great for quick reads!

  6. I wish I was more of a reader. I actually really like reading, but always feel like I should be doing something more productive and quickly get distracted. I like reading historical fiction and sometimes the odd philosophy or poetry. I made an AMAZING mushroom (vegetarian) lasagna for Christmas dinner, but I can’t tell you that it was healthy or lower in fat/cals then regular because it was made with a beschemel (sp?) sauce and lots of havarti and smoked gouda. 🙂 It sure was good though.

    • You have to be indulgent on the holidays (hello fondue!), but I like to remake dishes for every day meals so that I can eat them more often than once a year and not feel guilty! Bechamel sauce is amazing and I’m sure that mushroom lasagna was, too!

  7. I’ve gotta try that using less lasagna. Rather than 4 layers you have a bunch of good veggies in there. Looks delish!

  8. I love chick lit! And I love, love Emily Giffin. Something Borrowed (going to be a movie soon) and Something Blue are great, but I love Baby Proof. Can You Keep a Secret is also great. I also like Jennifer Weiner and anything David Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs (not really chick lit).

  9. And fav Italian to make healthier—stuffed shells! Use part skim ricotta, and sub in spinach and mushrooms for some of the cheese. Top with tomato sauce and mozz!

  10. That looks delicious! We’ve never tried to make our own lasagna. It’s something I’d like to try.

  11. OH yummmm!!!!! That looks so good!!! My kids would probably FREAK out if I served that too them, but I may make a little batch for me 🙂

    Jen

  12. Beth, that lasagna looks wonderful. I’m bookmarking this recipe.

  13. This looks fantastic! Roasting veggies brings out the best flavor, doesn’t it? I love your idea of using a loaf pan to reduce the amount (I’m always reluctant to make lasagna because it lasts for a week with a whole pan-ful!)

    I’m reading “Somebody Else’s Daughter” by Elizabeth Brundage right now and I’m loving it 🙂

  14. Yum, what a great lasagna alternative!

    I have experimented with healthy versions of favorite recipes, but often times it just turns into a hodgepodge of sorts.

    I do love the Something Borrowed, Something Blue books and have been eyeing her other books for quite some time. However, right now I am on a nutrition book kick and am currently reading a book called Real Foods – it is pretty interesting.

  15. ok i am totally a veggie lasagna lover, but ick brussel sprouts.

    i am a total reader! i read 500 pages on our two day vacation!!

  16. Loved this recipe, Beth!
    Looks really delicious 🙂
    I actually am quite an avid reader. I love to read all kinds of books! But, lately, I’ve been reading mostly Agatha Christie’s books – I’m in love!
    Oh, and about Italian dishes – I love vegetable lasagnas and gnocchi (mostly the cassava one – a famous kind of yam we have in Brazil) with funghi sauce. So YUM!

  17. I think lasagna is as healthy as what you put into it – as evidenced here! I like to make it with fat-free ricotta for the bulk of the cheese, it actually melts better than you’d think.

  18. looks tasty!

    I have a recipe for a lasagna that uses veggies, and wonton wrappers instead of noodles – it’s delish! I’ll have to give this one a shot though!

    (ps adore your blog! think this might be my first time commenting though )

    (pps the last one auto entered my last name could you delete that one?? :-/ Silly auto fill…)

  19. That lasagna looks yummy 🙂

    I love Sophie Kinsella. Have you read any of the Shopaholic novels (much better than the movie)?? I also really like Jennifer Weiner. Her book “Good In Bed” is one of my favorite novels. The majority of her female lead characters are overweight and her description of the emotions and anguish of trying to loose weight/not hating your body are so realistic that if you’ve ever struggled with weight you instantly connect with the character.

  20. I’m definitiely a reader, I read a TON. I’m currently reading the latest Ken Follett book, Fall of Giants (so good!)

    My favorite Italian dish is a tossup between chicken parm and ravioli…both are so easy to make healthy

  21. I am a reader too! But I did slack a lot this year. 😦

    Favorite Italian dish… well I have more than I could count probably! My mom came straight off the boat from Italy! That side of my family all still lives there! It’s an amazing blessing. For Christmas Eve dinner we made my Grandfathers Lasagna recipe. The recipe is in Italian and it’s an old family recipe so I did not translate it, but you can see it here: http://www.sabrinaisonthemove.net/2010/12/christmas-weekend.html

  22. I love to read. Just getting into the mystery genre and reading Harlan Coben’s, “Deal Breaker.” Started it last night and it’s really good.

  23. This year I read a ton of non-fiction books related to health, fitness, eating, running.

    Well, a ton for me anyway. Probably like 8ish?

  24. I love to read. I am reading three books right now. U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton, The Count of Monte Cristo, and Les Mis.

    Lately I have been reading a lot of free classics with the Kindle app on my phone. I love that I can download a book anywhere! This month I’ve read The Picture of Dorian Gray, The Scarlet Letter, and Pride and Prejudice all for free!

  25. I just finished the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series a few months ago and those were really good. I usually don’t read mysteries, but I really liked those. I am usually reading some fiction book, but I have a terrible memory and unless it is really good I forget the plot like a week later! So basically that makes me suck at giving book recommendations.

  26. […] Roasted Veggie Lasagna […]

  27. Beth,
    i just stumbled upon your blog yesterday and am loving reading it. I just re-joined WW after having lost the weight 4 years ago and gained it all back. 😦 I find your story inspirational and want to thank you for sharing.
    I am a HUGE reader. My favorite genres are chick lit and mysteries. I am obsessed with James Patterson, especially his Alex Cross series. For chick lit I like Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes, Jenifer Weiner and Jane Green.
    The trade room in your apartment building sounds awesome. If you ever want a book that is not there, there is a virtual trade room on the internet. It’s called swap.com.

    • Hi Cristina!! Thank you! You know, the new Weight Watchers program is pretty awesome. I am loving it so far and its much more in line with healthy eating in my opinion that the old program was with fat-free/sugar-free everything. That is so awesome about swap.com – thank you for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

