• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Random Thought Wednesday

Happy hump day!

I have some super random, sort of all over the place thoughts to share for today so enjoy.

1.) THANK YOU. Yesterday was the highest traffic day of all time for Beth’s Journey! I have no one to thank but you guys who come back and read my ramblin’ day after day.. so thank you!! 🙂 Also, thank you for all the book suggestions on yesterdays post! I love having a list of books I want to read because it makes me excited to get through the one I’m currently reading.

2.) I am absolutely loving the new Weight Watchers plan. I’m two weeks and one day in, and just like I said last week, I really haven’t changed what I’m eating that much – I’ve just been more conscious of it, and measuring out portions rather than eyeing it like I did before. The old plan used to make me feel almost punished for wanting to eat real food because the sugar-free, fat-free stuff was always way less points than the real food, even though the food was chemically engineered to have more fiber added to put it in a certain point bracket. That drove me crazy, but now fat-free sugar free stuff is the same number of points if not more than the regular kind, so the choice is easy. Plus there’s a lot more points to work with, so I don’t feel like I’m using up all my points so early in the day. Love love love.

3.) Dinner last night was an old favorite but with a slightly new twist and it was awesome. I started with an arugula salad.

BJ 064

Topped with 2 tbsp walnuts, 2 tbsp shredded parmesan, 1 tsp olive oil, salt and pepper.

For the main part, I cooked up a sweet potato, but instead of baking it whole, I sliced into really thin slices.

BJ 061

My original plan was to make them super thin like chips, but my mandoline is not the best and was not cooperating (in fact, it was tearing the pieces when I used it) so I just used a knife and I’m not good enough to cut them paper thin. However, after tossing them in 1 tsp olive oil and baking in a 400º oven for almost 30 minutes, they were perfect and crispy!

BJ 067

Original plan part two involved only eating half of the potato and saving the other half for lunch today, but that also failed. I ate the whole thing because it was so good. There are worse things in life.

I topped it off with 1/2 cup of those black beans that will change your life (they really will), which I whipped up on Monday night. They are best eaten the next day, so this was PERFECT.

BJ 071

I love doing the potato this way rather than baking it whole or in chunks because it gets sooo much crispier. Yum. Too bad since I ate it all I have a sweet potato to nuke today for lunch. Not the same.

4.) I lost another 1.6 pounds last night at weigh in, which means I’ve lost 7.2 pounds total in my first two weeks on the plan!! 1.8 left until I get the Tata Tamer and reach my 5% lost. 🙂

5.) I cannot believe tomorrow is my last day of work in 2011. Insaaaane. Time flies. That is all.

Please share with me a random thought going through your head at the moment!

50 Responses

  1. That is my favorite way to eat sweet potatoes, it’s a pain but I cut them by hand…and I always eat the whole thing…it is a vegetable after all 😉

    Now my random thought is about my dinner because now I’m craving a sweet potato!

  2. Very happy to hear about your success with WW! It also sounds like you are feeling healthier with the new plan, which is wonderful.

    Ever tried roasted sweet potatoes and/or butternut squash actually *on* salad (while still warm)? I had it at a party this fall and am now addicted.

  3. You have inspired so many of your readers out there and sound like an exciting and amazing person. Just wanted to say Happy New Years to you and all your readers. 🙂

  4. Love your thoughts on the new WW program. My mom was telling me about it and she doesn’t seem to like it very much, but hearing your view it sounds like a better way to view food. Although the calculator thing still sounds like another way for them to get $, but they are a for-profit company!

    Your dinner looks delicious! I love sweet potatoes like that and will have to try it with black beans!

    Okay, now going to check out the book suggestions, I need a new one!

    • I think for a lot of people the change is hard, especially if they’ve been following WW for a while. For me, its actually easier, because I went separate ways with WW because it was pretty incompatible with my eating style before. Now that they’ve revamped the program, its much healthier in my opinion, and encourages eating more whole foods so I am loving it!

  5. I can’t decide if I want to rejoin WW or not… I did it about 3 years ago and did well, but then gained it all back plus an extra 50 pounds. 😦

    Are you going to meetings, or just doing it online?

    UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    • I’m going to meetings. I really need the accountability factor of the meetings and weighing in each week. I really recommend the new plan! Plus I’m sure they will be offering insane specials for the new year!

  6. You are doing great! I really love the new program too 🙂 Congrats on such a great success!

  7. I love Sweet Potatoes! And I love slicing them and baking them!! I will have to try with the black beans though.

    Congrats on the weight loss. I have been considering WW’s but haven’t taken the plunge yet! You success is awesome!!

  8. That sweet potato looks delicious! I love seeing how you cook things – it seems so easy but yet I never think of it myself! 🙂

  9. I prefer sliced potatoes too! I usually roast them. I need to get better knives so it isn’t as much of a fight to slice them!

    • Sharp knives make a WORLD of a difference. It’s pretty unbelievable. You can get a cheap knife sharpener at Target and it’ll make your old knives like new!

  10. I’m anxious to start the new WW program—I’ve bought the books and I think I’m going to be doing it online while my mom attends the meetings. I had moderate success with the Points Program, but I was also frustrated with the concentration on fake food as I made the change to eat healthier, whole foods.

    Re: sweet potato slices: It’s really difficult to do on the mandolin since sweet potatoes are (in my experience) so much harder than potatoes. I usually dial up the thickness ever so slightly, and try to break the sweet potato into a few chunks rather than slicing the big huge potato by itself (if that makes sense!). Glad to hear about the high volume day—I check your blog very regularly and really enjoy it!

    • I’ll be excited to hear how you like the new program, but if you’re like me and like whole foods, you’ll probably love it a lot more than the old program!

      And unfortunately my mandoline is plastic and works fine for little veggies like cucumbers, but even slicing it up in chunks doesn’t work well with the potatoes. I need to buy a good one.

  11. That is one of my favorite ways to eat sweet potatoes as well. In fact, I will be doing that today for lunch!

    Random thought – I wonder if the UPS man shaves his head or is he bald?

    (The driver just pulled up as I wrote this).

    Glad WW is working out well for you.

    • Ha! My boyfriend is bald but he shaves. My mom always says “but you’re not REALLY bald since you shave it” but if he didn’t shave it, he’d just have some hair growing in random places. Not cute.

  12. Nice work on being that much closer to your goal! The program is really working!!!

    My random thought is if I’m in a practically empty office, and if other offices are like this, why is there still so much rush hour traffic???

  13. I swear – one of these days I’ll make sweet potatoes like you do! they always look super yummy!

    Random thought: I really love the gray streak I’m getting right at the front of my hair. And it makes me sad that my hair dresser tries to convince me I need to color my hair now because of it.

  14. Great job on your weght loss! I, too am loving the new point system.
    Random thought: why is the guy sitting next to me snapping his fingers?

  15. Congrats on doing so well on the new ww plan. I just signed up yesterday!

    I love the black bean sweet potato combo too.. delicious

  16. Wow, way to go with the weightloss!

  17. I’m glad that the new WW plan is working for you!

  18. I have a Justin Beiber song stuck in my head. GROSSSS

  19. Now I want sweet potatoes! 🙂

    I am interested enough in the new WW plan to maybe sign up for the online version. Your thing about feeling punished for eating real food on the old plan is exactly how I felt. Plus with my gluten issues all their processed low point stuff was off limits to me.

    • I reallllllly recommend the new plan. I don’t know too much about gluten intolerance and how it works in with the plan, but there is definitely more of an emphasis on whole foods, fruits and veggies, lean meats, and whole grains. Gluten free pasta has the same points as regular pasta, so I bet it’ll be a lot easier for you to follow.

  20. I LOVE sweet potatoes!! What a yummy looking meal!

  21. I have heard wonderful things about the new WW plan. A great girl on my FB page ( Facebook.com/FITori ) did the old (and now new plan) and I love the changes!!! So, thanks for another update! I love your perspective on it. I AM ALL FOR REAL FOODS!!! We made the switch this year and it’s so great!!!

    And, congrats on your all time high for readers!! How long have you been bloggin’?

    • Hi Tori! I started my blog in February 2010 – so coming up on a year! And yes – I totally agree that the changes WW has made are awesome!

  22. […] reading Beth’s post earlier this morning about sweet potatoes, I knew exactly what I wanted for lunch today.  I also have a TON of these orange fellas in my […]

  23. Congratulations on having your highest number of viewers. It’s a big deal to watch it climb!

  24. I slice my sweet taters like that, too. And it’s so easy to whip them up in a flash – even for breakfast!

  25. the sweet potato + beans? look PERFECT. yum.

    and CONGRATS on your successes! 😀

  26. When I lost my weight, the key was portion control using Nutrisystem. When I got to goal, I got out my measuring tools and to this day still use them. Measuring is the key.

  27. Congrats on your success so far with Weight Watchers!!

    Jen

  28. I love your blog and am very many others get to enjoy it!
    Also great job on another loss! I agree about the real food guilt on the old plan. I hate how they still want people to eat FF cheese though.

  29. A TaTa tamer is an amazing gift to yourself! 🙂

  30. Man you are doing so great with WW! So impressive! Keep up the great work!

    Random thought – I hate that I can’t maintain a healthy lifestyle while on vacation. Maybe a two week vacation was a bad idea, although the time visiting family and friends has been great. But….I don’t even want to think about the damage I have done on the scale.

Leave a Reply

