• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Tidbits

Hi guys! I started this post last night noting a few things I wanted to mention today and realize its turning out to be much like the post from yesterday – random thoughts from me – except way longer because of the daily menu posted below. I promise to try to be more organized in 2011. 😉

First, I am sooo excited to have another three day weekend. I am so looking forward to not traveling for the first time since two weekends before Thanksgiving! Can you believe that? We’ve been out of town every single weekend for the last 6 in a row. I am very ready for a break from driving/flying/not sleeping in my own bed! It turns out we’re having Wil’s daughter Charlotte and her sister Nora for the weekend too, so low key, here I come..

Anyways, yesterday morning, I tried to get up early enough to get a run in, and it just wasn’t happening. Not all was lost though – I ended up doing Level 2 of the 30 Day Shred. I’m sure most of you know what that is, but if you don’t – The Shred is an AWESOME workout DVD that has three 20 minute workouts that will kick your butt. They are set up in circuits, with a short warm-up and cool down, and then 3 circuits consisting of 3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio, 1 minute abs, repeat. Even though its only 20 minutes, it is so intense. I never feel as sore from my own weight lifting as I do from these videos. Today, I woke up SO sore. My butt, my shoulders, my abs.. Ouch. But in a good way. 🙂

51QlqI3yaOL

Also, I wanted to give you an update on my baby nephew Harper! He is doing really great right now. He is up to 5 pounds 5 ounces (!) and there is talks of brining him home at the end of January!!! Nothing is set in stone yet, but it is looking really good. We are having a baby shower for my sister and her husband next weekend since the babies came before her original shower was scheduled. Just typing all this brings tears to my eyes – I am so so so happy for all the good news and the thought of Harper being home. Finally. Please keep prayers and positive thoughts coming so he continues on the course he’s on. 🙂

Finally, I’ve gotten a lot of questions about a typical day for me with eating now that I’m on Weight Watchers, so decided to post a typical day menu on here. Below is a menu for 29 points+ which I actually ate on Tuesday. 29 points+ is the minimum points anyone can have, so here’s an idea of how you can eat a mostly whole foods diet (that is coincidentally completely vegetarian) and fit it into the WW points+ system. Here goes!

Breakfast – 6 pts+

 BJ 057

  • 1 cup steel cut oats – 4 pts+
  • 1/4 cup peanut flour (16 grams of protein!) – 1 pt+
  • 1 banana – 0 pts
  • 1/2 cup milk in my coffee – 1 pt+

Lunch – 7 pts+

veggie lasagna

health salad

Snacks – 2 pts+

  • Cup of Fat Free Milk (2 pts+)
  • Small Fuji Apple (0 pts+)
  • Pear (0 pts+)

Dinner – 13 pts+

BJ 064

  • Arugula (0 pts+)
  • 2 tbsp walnuts (3 pts+)
  • 2 tbsp parmesan (2 pts+)
  • 1 tsp olive oil (1 pt+)

BJ 071

  • 1 large baked sweet potato (4 pts+) with
  • 1 tsp olive oil (1 pt+)
  • 1/2 cup black beans (2 pts+)

Dessert – 1 point+

The day ended with me feeling satisfied and not deprived at all.

What are your plans for New Years Eve/Day? Whether you follow WW or not, do you keep track of what you eat throughout the day?

18 Responses

  1. Keeping track of what I eat is a big issue for me. When I keep track, it sometimes leads to obsessive keeping track and incremental decreases in allotted calories. I do best when I just take it one meal at a time… I plan to eat a healthy meal in reasonable portions. This way, I don’t overdo it or underdo it, and I don’t obsess over writing it down, analyzing it, tracking it, and more.

  2. Oh drool, peanut flour. I love that stuff. And for WW points+, it sounds like a deal – all that protien and so few points.

    For NYE, I’m getting together with my aunt, cousin, and my cousin’s wife; aunt is visiting from California and cousin/wife live here. We’re having a cook-off/bake-off, and I’m making mini-Smith Island cakes in honor of their recent move to MD.

    I’ll track what I eat for NYE (via livestrong.com) – I did for every day around Christmas, including Christmas, and it’s really informative, especially if you can do it throughout the day. Also, I already have workout plans. Gym is open!

  3. I am throwing a football/new years eve party with my brother! I would love to say I will track, but I know it won’t happen! Heres to 2011 and making it a heck of a lot better than 2010!!

  4. NYE we’re going to a beer pairing dinner at a local brewery and then to a bluegrass concert. I’m excited!

    I don’t write everything down but I do keep mental track of what I eat. At some point I’ll need to reign things in again and start keeping better track but not quite yet. I’ve been doing really well with the fruits and veggies but Christmas really kicked my butt in terms of goodies 🙂

  5. I’m going into Chicago!! Open bar/food we paid for already. Needless to say, it will probably not be my most on plan day ever.

    I follow weight watchers, so I keep track of what I eat in a day.

  6. Exciting for baby Harper! I’m glad he’s doing so well. 🙂

    And tonight I think I’m doing The Shred, too- and it’s my first attempt at doing some of the moves with the new 8-lb weights I have. Let’s be clear- only SOME of them… lol

  7. YEAH for baby Harper! That is one weight gain we can be happy about!

    NYE plans may get shifted – weather reports suggest a huge storm headed our way so who knows, maybe Carlos and I will be snowed in again!

    Have a great New Years Beth!

  8. Enjoy the mellow weekend! And happy New Year!

    So glad to hear that Harper keeps getting stronger and stronger!

  9. We are going snowshoeing NYE during the day! I cannot wait! It’s been too long since we’ve been. Then out to dinner.

    Happy New Year Beth!

  10. ❤ So glad to hear about Harper's continued improvement! He, and your fam, remain in my thoughts!

    I bought the Shred over a year ago and haven't tried it. Should bust it out!

  11. I will continue prayers for Harper! So glad to hear he is doing well!

    New Year’s Eve I think we are going out for sushi. Nothing too wild or crazy!

    As for food I go through phases where I track on Livestrong. Usually about one month on and one off.

  12. Glad to hear about Harper!

    We’re going out in Alexandria for NYE.

  13. Great news all around! The meal ideas are fantastic!

  14. I’ve never even heard of peanut flour before… Will have to make sure I pick some up at Trader Joe’s :).

  15. Great news for Harper!

    I count calories. I used to do WW way back when (when the core plan first came out).

    I like counting and checking to make sure I get enough protein.

    New years I am just going to try to stay awake until midnight LOL!

  16. Beth, i have been reading ‘your journey’ for about a month now…i need to lose 150 lbs…you and your creativity are very inspiring..2011 is my year…i have joined a gym..been writing down your wonderful ideas and i am ready to go mon jan 3rd…with your inspiration, i know i can do this..happy new year to you and your family…and praying your nephew continues to grow and gain health…

    • Willyne – Thank you so much for your comment. It means more to me than you know. 2011 WILL be your year if you set your mind to it! Please keep me posted on your journey and let me know if there’s anything I can do to help along the way! And don’t think about it as 150… start small so it doesn’t feel overwhelming.

      • Thank you Beth…i definitely will be visiting your site every day…I will need your creativity and strength..I think you are so inspiring…Willyne

Leave a Reply

