• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Yearly Goal Check

Somehow it is already the last day of 2010. How on earth did that happen!? I was looking through my freewebs page that I kept last year prior to starting this blog, and came across the goals I had written down for this year.. Unfortunately, I only met about half of my goals, but 2011 is a new year and a new chance to make positive changes in my life.

new-year-resolutions

To review, here was my list of goals for 2010 and how I did on them.

  • Run a half marathon – Check! September 19th I ran the Rock n Roll Half in Philly. You can read the recap here.

  • Get to my goal weight and become a lifetime WW member! – Not so much. In fact, I am heavier than I was at this time last year by about 8 pounds, but I’ve had a great year of moving towards a very whole foods diet rather than the processed stuff and have completely overhauled my diet. I’ve also given up meat for almost an entire year – though I’m not really sure if I’ll stick with that or not.
  • Work for WW – Again, not so much. You have to be Lifetime in order to be a leader, and I’m not there yet. However, I really really want to become a leader once I’m lifetime and will keep you posted once I get there.
  • Start saving 10% of my monthly income and DON’T TOUCH IT. I did save 10% of my monthly income, but I did also touch it a little more often that I should have. I do have a lot more saved at this time than I did last year, but still not enough.
  • Try to be a nicer person….. less judgmental, send hand-written thank yous, be proud of what I say – umm. I think I lost sight of this one right after I wrote it down. I did, however, eat beignets in New Orleans and those were very nice.. maybe they will rub off on me.

So all in all – I did OK with my goals. I think being flexible with yourself and letting other things come to the forefront when need be is important. At the beginning of 2010, I had no idea I would even start this blog, much less than it would become such a big part of my days and my life. Also, I didn’t know that I would completely overhaul my eating and move towards a much less processed diet and eat so much healthier. So looking back on those things on top of the half marathon, I really do think I accomplished a lot in 2010 and am proud of what I’ve done the past year.

That said, I’d like to set some new goals for next year to help me become a healthier, more balanced person in 2011. Here they are..

Goals for 2011

  • Run a second half marathon faster than my first (2:16:18) – March 26th is the date I’m signed up for my second half.
  • Continue to strength train several times a month. (Ideally 2x a week but I know that won’t always happen).
  • Get to my goal weight and become a lifetime WW member (seen this one before?)
  • No More Cigarettes. I’m not an everyday smoker anymore (quit in January 2009) but have been struggling with having them if I’m drinking (which isn’t that often). No more of this. It’s a slippery slope.
  • Read at least one book a month. I love reading, especially before bed, and reading more causes me to watch less TV.
  • Continue to Save 10% of my income and really don’t touch it this time.
  • Make positive changes to Beth’s Journey because I love writing this blog and being able to do something daily relating to my passion for healthy living. I think I’ve found my groove with blogging once a day and alternating it between recipes, random thoughts, workout tips, etc. I also want to improve the look of the site and am in the process of getting a new header and making it easier to navigate around the site.

That’s a lot to accomplish, but I really think I can do it if I stay focused.

Please share three things with me:

  1. What is your biggest accomplishment for 2010?
  2. What is one of the things you hope to do in 2011?
  3. What would you like to see here on Beth’s Journey? Any questions/topics/thoughts you would like to see addressed? Anything you’d like to see more or less of on here?
36 Responses

  1. Biggest Accomplishment in 2010: finally making the connection between exercise for health, rather than exercise for calorie burning

    Intention for 2011: publish a law review article & continue on my weight loss path in a healthy manner

    Things I’d Like on Your Blog: Honestly, I like what I’m reading now. You have a nice balance of topics, which keeps things interesting.

    Looking forward to seeing your new header.

    • Turning exercise into something you do for your health rather than something you do to punish yourself for eating something/just calorie burn is HUGE. Congrats!

  2. I think the goal you checked off is a huge one – a half marathon is incredible.

    -In 2010, I became the youngest national-level synchronized swimming judge in the USA. That was pretty cool.
    -In 2011, I want to be able to bench press my weight again. I can possibly help myself by losing 5 lbs, but I think lifting more weight is the way to go. I could do this 7-8 years ago, right now I am about 30 lbs short.
    -For stuff I personally want to see on this blog: I LOVE seeing DC-area stuff here…because I’m also in DC. But I think it’s great the way it is, especially because you are so honest about how things are going.

  3. 1. One of my biggest accomplishments for 2010 was completing my first half marathon and full marathon, and really making exercise a priority. I was also able to maintain a weight loss of 35 lbs for the first 9 months of the year (the past 3 months were hard for me!!), and I am proud of that.

    2. My goals for 2011 include running a half marathon in under 2:10, and getting off the extra 10 lbs that I packed on over the past 3 months plus 15 more. I am going into this year with a new motivation (and a new blog!) and am looking forward to the outcome.

    3. I am a new reader to your blog, so I am just glad to have added you to the list of blogs I read! It is nice to read about others on WW and living active lives. It sounds like we have very similar goals, so I would like to see both of us successful this year! Thanks for writing.

    • Wow you SHOULD be proud of your accomplishments!! And I’d love to run my half in under 2:10 too. My first one was 2:16 so I have a lot of work to do, but I think I can do it!

  4. I think these are all great, achievable, and perfect goals! Good luck to ya!

  5. 1. I don’t have a big accomplishment for 2010 but overall I had a good year.
    2. My biggest goal for 2011 is to become a Lifetime member of Weight Watchers. I have to get down another 47 pounds to do it. I’m a work in progress.
    3. I’m also a new reader and happy to have found your site. Recipes are great with plenty of pics. You’re already doing that so just keep them coming.

  6. biggest accomplishment? finding a job I enjoy and getting a promotion! 🙂

    biggest goal for 2011? Get running again and stick with it 🙂

    i really enjoy your blog! I love blogs with recipes and blogs i feel I can relate to 🙂 Thus why I enjoy reading about your running goals 🙂

  7. I LOVE seeing what you eat and the points..I get your posts by email and have really been enjoying them….

    BTW..I have a sister named Beth and you both kinda look a like!

    • Ha that’s funny! I guess I look like a Beth!? 🙂

      And so glad to hear you’re enjoying the posts with the points. I’m having fun with coming up with new recipes, and being a “whole foods weight watcher”.

  8. Congrats on the goals that you did accomplish! My biggest accomplishment was running a 10k. Ny resolution was to a run a 5k! I think I want to do a half marathon in 2011. Also, would love to get to my goal weight!

    • That’s awesome that you doubled your goal for the year!! I think a half marathon is awesome because its a really challenging distance, but doesn’t require as much time and investment as a full marathon. I’d love to check a full off my bucket list, but I just don’t know how feasible that is for me!

  9. I just found your blog this and I’ve really enjoyed reading it. It’s nice to find others with similiar goals. As a plus-sized runner, the weight issue is constant – I lost no appreciable weight this year but consider myself healthier overall and more aware of what goes into my mouth. My biggest accomplishment for 2010 was getting my first book out; now for the next… In 2011, I will be working toward my second full marathon and two halfs. Will start with a 5K on NY day!

  10. My biggest accomplishment in 2010 was definitely graduating with my master’s degree and one thing I hope to do in 2011 is yoga yoga yoga! Happy new year Beth!

  11. I just want to congratulate you on your half and your other accomplishments this past year. Good luck in 2011!
    I also have goals to run a half, pay some debt, and shed some weight.

  12. Congrats on the half marathon, what a huge deal! That’s going to be my one goal for 2011 (June!) and I’m definitely going to give your post a good read before I jump into training. I love your blog, and don’t think it lacks in nada! Thanks for being such an inspiration + one of the first blogs I started to follow 🙂 You’re a lovely girl, blessings in 2011 and I hope you meet (hahah I wrote “meat” accidentally) your goals!

    My goals are Seattle Rock n Roll Half, read the Bible daily, finish a few rad books (The China Study and 50/50 the dude that ran 50 marathons in 50 days in 50 states!!) and we hope hope hope to finally find a house after paying rent for 3 years! We’ll see! It’s all in God’s hands, so I’m excited!

    • Good luck on your half! The rock n roll series is awesome. There is a band every mile and cheerleaders to keep you pumped up. You’ll do awesome!

  13. love the reading 1 book a month goal! I need to add that to my list too 🙂

    Congrats on all of your wonderful accomplishments HLS roomie!!

  14. You would be such a great WW leader!
    1. Running a marathon
    2. Do an olympic triathlon
    3. I love your recipes, so I would like for you to keep posting those as often as you do!

    • Look at your list!! A marathon (and you left out sprint tri!) one year – and an olympic tri the next! Very impressive!

      And thank you – i realllllllly want to become a leader because i’ve had such a hard time finding someone thats a good fit. I like Melvin but I don’t LOVE him sadly. He said something weird at the last meeting that made me feel strange.

  15. I think my biggest accomplishment was acknowledging when something isn’t right be it a relationship with food, or a relationship with a person.

    After that I really actively worked to improve those things and I’m in a much more awesome place now.

  16. That cartoon’s so true…unfortunately most people give up on their list a week of so into it. Glad to see you stuck with them, though!

    As for my resolutions, there’s one that I know of: run a marathon! At least one 😛

  17. Beth!! I am SO happy to have found you this year, I love your blog and it’s inspiration!

    My highlight of 2010… leaving the clinic and starting my own biz… so excited about that. Also, a few months later I started my blog, which has been SO much more amazing than I could have known.

    Looking forward to in 2011? running more (hopefully back up to at least a half…), traveling, buying a house.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!! ❤

  18. Your achievements are beyond amazing! I really hope to this year become a runner! I need the inspiration to make that goal a reality through you and others like you. Have a wonderful 12 months =)

  19. Thank you for sharing your goal re-cap from 2010, as well as your new ones for 2011. It’s so awesome that you accomplished the half-marathon goal, which seems like it would have been the hardest one! I love your blog as it is, but will look forward to seeing any new changes you bring.

    My biggest 2010 accomplishment was landing a new job that I love and am super happy with. I’m still working on this year’s list, but my first goal is to run a 5K 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  20. It is hard to believe that your blog is fairly young. It is so creative, unique, and grounded – your voice in your posts is so clear and genuine. 🙂

    Great goals for 2011!

  21. […] Yearly Goal Check […]

Leave a Reply

