• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chopped

Happy Friday! So glad today is here, though this week did go by rather quickly.

First things first – last night I chopped off my hair! Well not me personally, but you get my drift. I have had the same haircut since I was about 10, and then during college when I lost some weight I decided to live on the edge and get some side swept bangs. But in college, I used to straighten it a lot and then as I got older (read lazier with some things) I started wearing it curly almost exclusively. I still straighten it from time to time, but I’ve been looking for a great cut that I can just let air dry with a little gel. Last night I went to a new salon on the recommendation of my friend Emily, Parlour in DC and told Abbey I wanted to go shorter and just have a better shape, and here’s what she did!

Haircut

That was after I got home last night, and this morning I woke up and it has a bit more body and I am really digging it… what do you guys think??

Moving along… if you asked me to tell you some of my strengths, patience would not be one of the things you would hear. I tend to be very impatient and always in a rush – I think its the east coast in me. It’s something that I’m trying to work on, and I was reading a Women’s Health article recently that said that getting yourself worked up over things that are out of your control actually does harm to your body. For example, if you’re in traffic, or in a long line at the post office, getting angry and frustrated and tapping your foot to express your feelings will not make the line move any faster, and it will also do damage from the stress hormones your body will flow through your system.

They had a simple suggestion – when you feel yourself getting worked up, tell yourself to stop. Now I know for some of you who aren’t type A, this might be kind of a “duh” statement. But for me, I never really thought to just tell myself to stop. I do get really mad if I’m waiting in line at the bank and just have to deposit a check and then when the person in front of me goes up to the one teller that’s open, they dump out a whole bag of change and loose dollar bills. Or, if I’m sitting in traffic and the person in the car in front of me clearly has time to go through the light but decides to stop instead, so I have to stop. These types of things get me worked up pretty easily, and normally I just let my head rant and rave and the stress hormones flow through my body.

But ever since I’ve read that article, when my head starts going crazy with those things, I just say “Stop.” And then I feel calm and think about other things rather than stressing about something I can’t do anything about. Moral of the story, if you are the type of person who gets worked up easily by things like that, just telling yourself to stop will make a huge difference and can allow to you actually be productive with that time rather than wasting it being mad. (My go-to replacement though is what to make for dinner – go figure).

Two questions for today:

1.) Have you always had the same haircut, or do you change it up frequently? How about color? I mentioned above that I’ve always had the same, so am excited for a change. And in terms of color, I had a rather traumatic platinum highlighting experience in high school, and have since never died my hair.

2.) What is one of your biggest strengths and weaknesses in terms of personality? Impatience is definitely one of my biggest weaknesses, and quick wit is one of my favorite strengths.

55 Responses

  1. Curly hair RULES. Check out http://www.naturallycurly.com/ for care and styling tips. I have a cut and curl type very similar to yours, and I throw my hair together in literally 90 seconds each morning thanks to that site. LOVE your haircut (obviously).

  2. VERY cute!! I love it!! I change my hair ALL THE TIME. 😀

  3. It looks AWESOME Beth! I’m pretty open when it comes to my hair and I change it up a lot. My theory is that hair will always do what it does best- grow!

  4. LOVE the cut. It is very flattering and pretty! A couple of years ago – at my lowest weight actually – I got one of those reverse cuts where it was long in the front and short in the back. I felt so bad ass and loved it. I might do it again in the future.

    I am WICKED impatient – and love and agree with the “it’s the east coast in me.”

    • I reallllly wanted to do shorter in the back and longer in the front but I’m using baby steps… this was a HUGE step for me, but one day. 🙂

  5. hottie mctottie hair, love it!

    I’m impatient too – it frustrates Carlos often because I often move onto the next thing before he has. You are so right, saying “stop” seems so logical…yet it isn’t.

  6. Hey Beth,
    Your hair looks great. Being from Long Island, NY, I can relate to the frustration waiting on lines and not having enough patience towards others. I will try and take your advise.The next time I get mad, I will say to myself -stop it, you have no control over this and move on. Thanks. Enjoy your weekend.

  7. Hi Beth. The hair looks awesome. I have thick straight hair. I had the same hair style for years (permed and long) and then I went short in 1999. Since then, my hair has been varied but never as long as it was. I like it shorter. It’s easier to handle and care for.

    I too am very impatient. Is sarcasm a strength? If so, I can be very sarcastic at times.

  8. I love your hair cut! I have always been blond and then in college, my hair started getting darker, so I started highlighting it. I’ve always wanted to try going brown, but am too scared! Change is good sometimes, so I think trying something new would be fun. Thanks for sharing!

  9. 1. I have had the same haircut for about five years now. Right after college, my hair went from stick straight to uneven waves, so I started straightening a lot. Now I generally just leave it but it’s just long with a side part. Boring! I get highlights to cover all my grey hair. So sad, I’m only 28!

    2. One of my biggest strengths is that I can get along with anyone (even if I don’t really like them!). My biggest weakness is that I avoid confrontation like the plague. If something’s wrong or I don’t like something, I generally won’t say anything.

  10. Cute hair!

  11. Beth. The hair looks great. I have curly hair too and I feel like the options are limited. I would love to get a shorter haircut but I don’t feel like my face can take it right now (maybe when I loose some weight it will).

    I also am very impatient. I am going to take that advice and see if it works. My DBF is the most patient person in the world and it makes me even more crazy 🙂

  12. Love the new haircut! Impatience is definitely my problem too! And I, too, have to tell myself to just stop sometimes. Not everyone needs to run around at a hundred miles a minute like I do 🙂

  13. 1. You look adorable! I used to have super curly hair but have been Japanese straightening it for like 8 years now…and am currently growing it out because I was getting bored of straight hair all the time.
    2. One of my strengths is being a good listener and one of my weaknesses is not being able to enjoy the present (always planning my next meal, next goal, etc).

  14. This is my first time commenting on your blog, but I always enjoy reading it! I saw the link on the 20 year olds message board 🙂

    1) I used to change my hair color a lot until I got tired of all the money spending on dye/highlights and my hair started getting really dry and brittle. My hair color is natural now so I don’t change that anymore. I pretty much keep the same haircut, but I’ve been trying to grow it out to be really long over the past 2 and a half years. It’s almost to the length I want it, yay!

    2) One of my weaknesses is definitely my lack of patience as well. One of my biggest strengths is my empathy and loyalty 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment! That would be my main problem – I am so bad at maintaining anything (ie my car) so i doubt i could keep up with my hair!

  15. LOVE the haircut! It looks so bouncy!

    I used to have loooong hair. Then I cut it. Then I grew it out. Then I cut it off. The cycle keeps repeating itself. Right now I’m at a middle length and am trying to grow it out. Then I’ll probably cut it again. 🙂

    I used to lack patience in a big way…but I’m getting over that I think. My post yesterday discussed one of my personality flaws which is getting loud. I’m workin on it this year. 🙂

    • getting loud! haha funny story… when I interviewed for my first job out of college, it was at a staffing firm and i didnt know id actually get hired to work at the firm itself rather than one of their clients. Fast forward a few months, and I look into my file since i now work there, and it says “talks kind of loud” in my comment section! hahaa!

  16. Love it! I work in a salon and rarely ever get my hair done. I’m lucky to have easy hair!

    I’m a very easy going person. I do sometimes hold stuff in too long and need a good “vent” now and then. 🙂

  17. Cute cut! Mine has always been the same with the layers and such… just varying in length. This is the longest it’s ever been and I’m wondering when the day is going to come where I just cut a couple inches off for the hell of it…

  18. Sheesh…I have had the same hair forever, it feels. From 7th to 12th grade, I never cut it, and I donated about a foot and a half the day after I graduated high school. I’ve donated once more since then, but I’m pretty resolved to keep it long these days. It’s kinda boring sometimes 😦 I love your cut! It gives the curls so much more life now that they aren’t weighted down as much.

    My weaknesses…I’m impatient, and I’m a perfectionist. And I’m not perfect, which I get impatient about while trying to perfect everything. Vicious cycle 😉

  19. I LOVE your hair!!!!! So cute!!

  20. I LOVE THE CUT!! It looks really good!

    I have been growing my hair out for 2 years now, but it’s the longest it’s been in my adult life and I love it! I’m always some type of blonde… used to be platinum, but now I have highlights and low lights.

  21. So envious of your curls! I have always had stick straight hair and it will not hold a curl. Its nice that you have options!

  22. I love the new hair. I”ve pretty much had the same hair since age twelve until right before Christmas when I got it cut a little shorter. And now, I’m considering going shorter yet. We shall see.

  23. I love the hair! You look adorable!

  24. Cuuuuuuuuuuuuute cut!!

    My hair is so thick and wavy that I never switch up my ‘do. In fact, I don’t really have a ‘do 🙂 In summer I let it go wavy, but usually I blow dry it straight 🙂

  25. I have had a variety of haircuts but I usually revert back to the same old look. I have super fine hair and it’s just impossible to work with. I laughed at your first line about not literally because in October I got the wild idea to chop of my hair literally. I should say I did almost finish school to be a cosmotologists so I’ve actually cut a lot of people’s hair…let’s just say it’s a way different ballgame than cutting your own. Everyone said they liked it but I cut way more than I intended trying to even it up. It was a serious WTF was I thinking moment. lol Also I’ve had every hair color known to man and some that were previously undiscovered. Now I stick to dark brown or auburn.

    Good points of my personality are that I am fairly laidback and I’m funny and witty…according to my friends at least. Bad points are that I’m impatient and I curse like a sailor.

  26. Your new cut looks great by the way! 🙂

  27. My biggest weakness is my mom. Lol She bugs the carrrrappppp outta me! Nobody else does like she does and therefore I get annoyed and rude to her.

    I am actually going to highlight my hair in a few weeks! First time doing anything to it! besides cutting

  28. Your cute is super cute!!! It really suits your face.

    I’m going to the store and I am making the lentil loaf (which is when I saw your new post) but without the raisins. 🙂

    I have had the same cut for pretty much my entire adult life. I have really thick, naturally curly black hair. I straighten it, but like you, have gotten lazier about wanting to just leave it curly and go. I had her add in layers recently, and it helped a lot.

    Have a great weekend, Beth!

  29. Love it, you look beautiful!

  30. That hair cut is so cute! I haven’t cut my hair in over a year. The last time I cut it I cut about 12 inches off and had a bob. It was a lot of upkeep so I grew it out and growing it out was not pleasant. I can’t wait to cut it here soon, I plan on just getting a few layers and leaving it long. I’m a wash and air dry kind of girl to.

  31. Beth I love your new hair cut! Very cute!

    When I lost my weight back 02/09, I had long hair and it just didn’t work for me anymore so my hair dresser cut it short and I love it! I also had her color my hair a wonderful red and love it!

    Everything changed once I lost my weight, my entire mind and how I viewed myself. Instead of covering up, I wanted to stand out. Standing at 6’3 I do stand out. 🙂

    My biggest strength in personality is my confidence my weakest would be anger.

  32. Very cute haircut!!!
    I usually change my hair style up a little every time I go to my hairdresser. When it’s time for a hair cut, it’s usually time for a change.

  33. Oh man I feel SUPER irritated at the same kinds of things you talked about.

    I also work on the top floor of my building and I get so ANGRY when I have to stop on every floor in the elevator every day (stair wells are locked from the inside so that isn’t an option).

    May try to incorporaite the “Stop” idea!

  34. You look so cute! I wish I had curly hair, I have stick straight hair – perms didn’t even work.
    🙂

  35. Your haircut looks beautiful! And you look so good Beth!

    I recently got a really fun and exciting haircut, and my style is typically anything but exciting. One of my college students even went and got my exact same haircut, which made me feel like a woman of style for the first time in my life. Haha.

    No to coloring, I tried the Jessica Simpson hair at my heaviest weight and eek!

    I read that same exact article in WH and am such a crazily impatient and easily annoyed person to a fault. That article really made me see how dumb it is to get annoyed over things that are out of our control, and it reminded me that the only thing we can control is our reaction to those/situations around us. It has helped tremendously to gain that perspective!

  36. You look adorable. I have the same hairstyle for over 10 years. I have really long hair and I love long hair, but unfortunately there aren’t many styles for long hair.

  37. Love the hair Beth! We both have uber curly hair, but yours is much more tame than mine!
    Saying Stop works great for those negative thoughts we get from time to time too. If I am being negative on myself about my weight or something else, I say STOP IT, and focus on a positive. I think being negative can create harmful stress hormones like you mentioned from the article as well. Great tip Beth, thanks for sharing.

  38. Your hair looks wonderful! I’ve had a similar haircut for a while but I’ve changed the color so many times I can’t count.

    My weakness in my personality is that its hard for me to take criticism. My strength is definitely my sense of humor. I can make anyone laugh!

Leave a Reply

