• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Baby Shower Recap

Yesterday was such a fun day! We finally got to have a baby shower for my sister Wendy and her hubby Justin in expectation of Harper’s homecoming, which should be in a few weeks. I got on the road around 8am, and headed straight for the hospital so I could get some time with my sis and Harper before the big event. I ended up getting there around 11am and staying for almost 2 hours at the NICU and got to watch Wendy hold and feed Harper. He is looking SO good lately, and just hit the 6 pound mark on Friday night, so this is a pretty huge milestone. It was so amazing to watch my sister flawlessly take care of him and how well motherhood suits her. I can’t wait to get to watch her in the comfort of her own home rather than at the hospital, and once he goes home that means I get to hold him too! I cannot wait.

After hanging at the hospital for a while, I headed to the site of the shower – at the house of one of Wendy’s best friends in Philly – Sabrina. Sabrina, Wendy’s other very good friend Colleen, myself, and my other sister Heather were the four hosts for the shower, so we all did our share of shopping/planning for the shower. We ended up having about 30-40 people all together, and did it Jack and Jill style per Wendy’s request (men and women both) and it was such a fun twist on a traditional shower. The theme was Pirates, because Wendy and Justin are designing Harper’s nursery with a pirate theme as well. My favorite part of the whole shower was the cake. Check it out!

How adorable is that!? I’d never seen an Ace of Cakes-ish cake in person before, and it was soooooooo cool (and delicious). Everyone loved it. πŸ™‚

My job for the shower was to make a spinach dip (which I somehow didn’t get a picture of!) I ended up making one from Skinny Taste, which is an awesome site for Weight Watchers friendly recipes. I used this recipe, and followed it exactly except I subbed greek yogurt for the sour cream, and doubled the recipe. Swapping out the sour cream changed the PointsPlus value from 3 to 2, and it was totally delicious. I had mentioned to a few people that it was a healthy version and they couldn’t believe it!

I also made an awesome fruit salad. I found a recipe from Epicurious and made a dressing based off that with 1 cup nonfat greek yogurt, 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup fresh lime juice, and some lime zest. When I mixed those all together, it got thin like a salad dressing but was such a nice balance of creamy and sweet, and the lime cut through the sweetness perfectly. I chopped up a bunch of random fruit to toss in the dressing – blueberries, strawberries, apples, bosc pears,and kiwis, and it was a big hit.

We served it alongside the cake and it was a nice balance because the cake itself was very dense and rich (and totally delicious).

There was definitely no shortage of food at the party.

Baked brie, deviled eggs, hummus and pita, and burekas. I had no idea what those were before today, but they are AMAZING.

They are middle eastern pastries, and half were filled with mushroom and onion, and half with spinach and cheese. They kind of resemble small bagels, but the dough was much flakier, lighter, and buttery-er. I had one of each. πŸ™‚

Veggies, Dip, Candied Walnuts, lots of cheeses, crackers, and bread.

Hummus and pita, crudite, chips, and tzatziki.

Oh man, so good. I ate way too much but had too good of a time to care. πŸ™‚

After we all mingled/drank/ate for a while, it was time to open gifts!

They got so much awesome stuff – it’s pretty amazing how much stuff you need when you’re new parents! I actually got them a signed copy of the book Baby Love, which is a recipe book for making your own baby food. The author, Chef Geoff, owns the restaurant group that my boyfriend works for, so that is how I got hooked up with a signed copy. We also got them a basket with all of the tools you need to make the recipes in the book – a huge mixing bowl, ice cube trays, measuring cups/spoons, a spatula, etc. I definitely think that this is a book I’ll look through once I decide to have kids (long time from now) because all the recipes are super simple and made with whole foods. I think they’ll enjoy experimenting with the recipes in the book. πŸ™‚

Here’s an OK photo of the sisters.

Heather, Me and the guest of honor, Wendy. πŸ™‚

Plus Wendy with the love of my life, Claire.

She is SO cute. She told me she hasn’t seen me in a while (even though it had only been two weeks) and could we please have a play date. haha.

Going along with the theme, everyone left with little bags of Pirate’s Booty.

Overall, it was a super fun day and I think it went really well! I ended up driving back last night after the shower was over, and getting home a little after 10pm. Long day, but totally worth it. πŸ™‚

Have you ever been to a baby or wedding shower? What was the best gift you ever gave at one?

13 Responses

  1. Looks like a good time was had by all. πŸ™‚

    That fruit salad dressing sounds really good… and so quick too. I’ll keep that one in mind.

    I’m making your quinoa burgers next weekend.

  2. I love your fruit salad recipe. Sounds really different than anything else I have tried in a long time with fruit.

    Glad you had fun at the baby shower. Oh and that cake was adorable.

  3. That cake is adorable! I’ve been to a few baby showers and wedding showers, but I’ve never given a gift as creative as yours πŸ™‚

  4. I’m nearly convinced that I need to take cake decorating classes. That cake looks so cute!

    Lol….three kids here so I’ve seen my fair share of baby showers. Honestly…the best thing I ever received was a boat load of diapers. Pretty simple but they’re so expensive so it was nice not to have to worry about them.

  5. So glad to hear that Harper is doing so well! And that is so exciting that he gets to come home so soon.

    The shower and your gift looked absolutely awesome! The cool thing about your gift is that it is the perfect blend of fun and practical, which I am sure is great for a parent to have.

  6. What a fun day! I absolutely love the cake–so cute πŸ™‚

    My favorite wedding shower gift I’ve given was to my best friend last summer–I filled a basket with baking pans from her registry, plus a cookie cookbook, cookie cutters, and Ina Garten cookie mixes πŸ™‚

  7. I just think that the idea of a pirate-themed nursery is adorable!

    And, that spread looks just delicious. I love the idea of a healthy spinach dip. That stuff is addictive.

  8. what a fun theme! That cake does look so cute πŸ™‚

    never been to either a wedding or baby shower.. hopefully one day though! would love to score some fun gifts hehe

  9. Aw sounds like such a fun baby shower! Cute!

  10. Claire is tooo cute!!!!!!!

    All the food looks amazing! I just love appetizers and seeing all the fun things the mothers get! It just makes the baby coming feel so much more real and exciting!

  11. That cake is adorable!! What a happy day. πŸ™‚

  12. So glad to hear how well Harper is thriving! Love the cake too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

