• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Make-Your-Own-Stirfry

Back to work, boo. I’d way rather think about yesterday… 🙂

Sunday was the perfect mix of productive with relaxation.  I naturally woke up at 8am (without an alarm) so decided to make the best of my morning and get my workout in first thing. I ended up doing my long run this week (5 miles) on Friday night since I was going out of town on Saturday and wasn’t sure exactly when I’d be returning. That meant this morning was an easy 3 miler. Because I indulged quite a bit at the baby shower yesterday, I wanted to do a bit more than 30 minutes but nothing too strenuous, so I walked for 10 minutes to warm up (4.0 – 4.2 mph), ran 3 miles in 30 minutes (6.0 mph), and then walked for 10 minutes at the end (4.2 – 4.0) to cool down. Afterwards I spent a good amount of time stretching (read 6 minutes) before calling it quits.

It felt so good to have my workout out of the way early, even on the weekend. My goal is to try to get 1-2 workouts in before work this week… we’ll see how that goes.

After the workout, I had a quick breakfast of an egg and toast, and then we headed to church. Today marked the start of an 8 week series on relationships, touching on everything from romantic relationships, to friendships, to parents, to those with your boss. I’m going to try to go as much as possible during the next 8 weeks because the subject matter is so relevant and I love when the topics are things that I feel like I can walk away from church with and apply to my every day life.

After church was Whole Foods, and then home to clean the entire apartment. We divided up the rooms and got everything knocked out in about 2 hours. It had been a little too long since the last full clean, so it was completely necessary and made me feel so much better once it was done. After that, I called being productive quits and vegged out in front of the TV until dinner time…

Make-Your-Own Stirfry

It was so fun to make dinner this way, because Wil got to eat chicken so he was happy, and I got to have tofu, but we both used the same veggies and noodles. I know a lot of people talk about making separate meals for their family and themselves once they start making some changes to their diet, but something like this is perfect for everyone because you can customize your stirfry with whatever you want, and you don’t have to do twice as much work to have two different dishes.

For my stiryfry, I started by marinating some tofu in garlic, ginger, and just a touch of soy sauce.

While that was soaking up the flavors, I got to prepping the veggies.

Oyster mushrooms, carrots, onions, and baby bok choy. I don’t have baby bok choy (or regular for that matter) very often, and I always love it so I’m not sure why that is.

I chopped all the veggies up into similar sized pieces so we could just pick out whatever we wanted in our stirfrys and throw them in.

I started my stirfry in a wok with 2 tsp of olive oil, the tofu, and some carrots.

After those cooked for about 2 minutes, I added in the bok choy and onion.

Then added in the red cabbage…

Last, the mushrooms and the cooked sobas.

I added in a touch of soy sauce at the end, but the marinade from the tofu provided most of the flavor for the whole dish.

All done!

This whole plate has only 7 points+ (3 for the tofu + 3 for the sobas + 1 for the oil) and was soooooo much food. Soba noodles are one of my favorite type of noodles – you can find them in the asian section of most grocery stores. I love their texture and how well they hold up to a sauce, and the fact that they are the only noodle I’ve stumbled across that’s 3 pts+ for a cup on the new Weight Watchers system doesn’t hurt either. 🙂 I ate the whole dish with chopsticks, which was awesome because it forces me to eat slowly (though I still ate the entire plate no problem).

Side note – if you are looking for some cookwear to add to your kitchen that you can use for tons of different things, get a wok. Here’s the wok that I have, (and the one I used for dinner) and it’s been going for over 5 years. You only need a touch of oil or nonstick spray, and it is perfect for making stirfrys, steaming veggies, (and deep frying – but I try to stay away from that). I love how big and versatile it is and is probably one of my favorite things in the kitchen.

How are you with using chopsticks? What your favorite piece of kitchen equipment if you were forced to choose?

16 Responses

  1. I love my wok, I use it for everything. If I had to choose though, I would say my hand mixer is my favorite. I use that literally all the time.

  2. Yum, that stir fry looks delicious. And good for you for being so active on a Sunday–running, cleaning the house, grocery shopping and cooking dinner. Wow! I, on the other hand, also woke up naturally at 8am but I turned over and went back to sleep until 10, haha…

  3. Aren’t early-morning workouts the best? I have to get my workout in at 6am or it won’t happen at all 🙂

    Your stir-fry looks awesome–I love using chopsticks to eat sushi, but that’s pretty much the only food I eat with them!

  4. My friend who doesn’t cook gave me a wok that someone gave her. It’s a serious lifesaver for some big plates I love making…

    And I’m awful at using chopsticks. I’d probably end up going hungry…

  5. I love using chop sticks when eating stir fry and Chinese food. It really does slow down the intake of the foods your eating.

  6. Someone gave me the exact same Calphalon wok for my wedding and I love it! Stir fry is so easy to make and I love how you can use whatever ingredients you like. Sounds like you had a very productive Sunday!

  7. I’m pretty much terrible with chopsticks, I love love love my Vitamix. I’d marry it if I could I think. 🙂

  8. That is such a good idea to do a make-your-own stir fry bar!
    I would keep a small non-stick skillet because I cook omelets so often.

  9. If you can get yourself in the habit of pre-work workouts for a couple of weeks, you’ll be hooked. It’s so nice to have evenings free for other things AND to get your workout in.

  10. I love to use chopsticks! And I agree that its great to get your workout in in the morning. My workout of choice is swimming, and it really wakes me up and energises me for the day when I get there earlier! Plus you don’t have it hanging over you all day either, and don’t have to think after a hard day at work that you didn’t do your workout. Love your blog by the way! I only discovered it a few days ago, but it’s rapidly becoming one of my favourites! =)

  11. I am pretty decent with chopsticks. They are super fun too! 🙂 My favorite kitchen items would my cast iron pieces.

    I like the idea of your stir-fry. Once upon a time my daughter had a fleeting desire to be vegetarian and I ordered this cookbook http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0028609964/ref=oss_product. It uses the same principle. Making the base of the meal for both the vegetarian and meat eaters and then just making modifications for each individual.

  12. I love using chopsticks, but never use them at home for some reason. And my favorite kitchen item is hands down my Magic Bullet – haha, love that thing!

    Happy Monday!

  13. I love my kitchenaid mixer 🙂

  14. Ive never cooked with bok choy, which by the sounds of it is a mistake! I love eating with chopsticks. It makes it so much fun!

  15. I hate chopsticks because I just can’t seem to get it right to use them. Everything seems to fall off. I will starve if I have to use them with every meal 🙂
    What my fav kitchen equiptment? My bread baker – we don’t buy bread anymore, we bake instead therefor we get to add Digestive bran and seeds as much as we want to.

  16. The vitamix is by far my favorite appliance, I use it every day, at least twice a day.

Leave a Reply

