• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back to Bikram

Wow, you guys are awesome. Thank you so so so much for all the support that came from yesterday’s article. Every email, tweet, and comment really meant the world to me. It feels so surreal to see “Health Hero” next to my name and honestly gets me a little teared up (though I don’t like to admit it). I mean obviously I know that’s my story, but to see it all there in writing from someone else’s perspective just blows me away and makes me realize what a different person I am… I barely recognize the “before” Beth anymore. Strange.

Moving along – one of the things mentioned in the article from yesterday was Health Dates. For me,  one of the most challenging parts about trying to lose weight was the social aspect. Every time I wanted to see friends, it always revolved around happy hours and/or going out to bars, and I would drink a lot which would cause me to make really bad eating decisions and undo a lot of the hard work I was doing. How could I maintain friendships but still try to be healthy most of the time? Don’t get me wrong – I love happy hours and still do them a few times a month, but I needed something more. That’s where healthy dates came in.

Meet Amber:1 016

Isn’t she cute? 🙂

Amber is one of my close friends in DC and is also quite health conscious. She’s the one who originally got me to try Bikram because she’s been practicing for many, many years because her mom is a health fanatic, too. I don’t even remember how it all started, but for the past two years, Amber and I try to get together a few times a month (one day a week ideally but life happens) to have healthy dates. We’ll usually do a workout, then cook dinner, have a glass of wine, and chat.

It is such an awesome solution to still leading a healthy lifestyle but also getting time in with friends.

Last night was our first date of the year! We went to a new Bikram studio – Bikram Yoga Bethesda – that actually just opened on January 1st. They are doing a special for 6 classes for $25, so we gladly took up the offer. I hadn’t been to Bikram since the beginning of October – 3 months! I was a little afraid my body was not going to agree with my decision to go, but I actually had an awesome class and realized how much I miss it. I decided to wear my Polar HRM during the class to see how many calories I would burn, because I was so curious..

1 014

735! I know they advertise saying you can burn up to 750 calories during the class, but I thought that would be for super experienced people who can actually do and hold all the postures – not someone like me who falls out of almost every one. I was pretty impressed! Logistically it was a little hard to wear the HRM during some of the postures, since there’s a little block thing on the front of the chest strap so it caused a little pain during some of the postures on my stomach… and then when you lay on your arms and the wrist strap dug into my wrist. However, it was worth it just to see. I won’t be doing that again though. 🙂

Afterwards, we went to Chipotle for dinner and to chat. We were ravenous when we got there..

1 018

I got a burrito bowl, with black beans, cilantro rice, fajita veggies, pico de gallo, corn salsa, and lettuce (in case you wanted all the details).

1 019

I’m surprised that didn’t all fall out of the bowl during that picture! Ha.

And, it’s Friday. Thank God. I’ve been waiting for ya.

Do you ever do something like healthy dates with your friends? How do you deal with the trying to be healthy and still being social?

33 Responses

  1. I love healthy dates! In the spring, I like to meet at the park to walk and chat, instead of going somewhere to snack & chat.

  2. I am obsessed with Chipotle and always get the burrito bowl. It’s actually pretty point-friendly and oh so much food!

    Congrats again on the article! That’s fantastic =)

  3. I love Chipotle but I’ve heard that many people are turning away from them because of how much soy they add to their foods. I will probably still eat there every once in a while though 🙂

    I try and still join my friends for happy hours and such, just doing it in a healthier manner. I’ve been known to get a side salad or cheese plate instead of onion rings. I think it’s easier now that I’m older and my friends go to somewhat nicer places (nothing wrong with a little TGI Fridays though!). I also stick to lower calorie drinks when I’m out, though I can’t turn down a local craft beer!

  4. I need more friends that like to be healthy. I have 1 friend right now but she’s got 2 kids under the age of 2 yr so it is hard for us to have time together. Monday I’m going to her house since I have the day off to try P90X. She’s been doing that for the last week or so. I do have a friend at work that I use as a ‘buddy’ for workouts on occasion.

    Anyways – the real reason I was going to post is because I wanted to tell you how skinny you look in your photo. Holy!! That is all! 🙂

  5. I started healthy dates with my girlfriends last summer and we all LOVE them. Especially after weekends where we make less than healthy decisions. Ours usually involve running, yoga, pilates and sweet green!

  6. I don’t go on health dates with any friends, but my hubby and I have changed our usual date night favorites to more healthy places – it’s definitely made a huge difference. (That and cutting back on alcohol when we go out!)

    Is it bad that I knew you two were at a Chipotle before I even saw the food on the table?! I recognized the “decor” in the picture right off the bat! (Maybe I should go there less?!)

  7. I’ve never gone on a healthy date per se, but when I do go out with friends, I usually make sure I’ve had a great workout earlier that day so I can enjoy myself without feeling guilty!

  8. Unfortunately as I made healthier changes to my life, so did some of my friends. I didn’t realize it, but I had a lot of friends who couldn’t understand how to enjoy my company and not drink/eat poorly so I had to move on and only see those friends on occassion. But thankfully I am surrounded by healthier friends now and we have plenty of healthy/active dates!! 😀 I have climbing buddies, running buddies, riding buddies and all of them like to do an activity as our gossip/girl time and sometimes we get food but we understand if we don’t want to eat out due to fast food typically being unhealthy and straining wallets. I love my friends now 🙂 And I’m so much happier! sucks I lost some friends, but I learned some of them just weren’t really that good of friends and I had to move on.

  9. I love the idea of a healthy date. I have really been trying to think of ways to do that myself. My boyfriend and I have pretty much been only doing “healthy dates” but with my friends it is a little bit harder.

    Even with my birthday this year, instead of going out to a bar and getting drunk I want to suggest us going on a hike and having a picnic. I think it would be so much fun.

    I love how you have incorporated that into your life too cause it really helps with the transistion from a diet mentality to a healthy lifestyle change.

  10. I love doing healthy hangouts! I like meeting people at the gym, going for walks, and having people over to cook healthy meals!

  11. Quick question for you: When you wear your HRM while doing toning/weights/yoga/etc…it still tracks your calorie burn for you? I have an HRM, but it only tracks while I’m doing cardio and it’s 100% maddening!!! I’ve been looking into getting a new one, what is yours called?

    Jen

  12. My friends and I cook for each other every once in a while. Because it’s fun and we’re all trying to save a buck. I especially love it when Annie does the cooking- she goes above and beyond!

  13. I have one friend who is also health conscious. We work together so once a week we go to Starbucks which doesn’t sound really healthy but we always get low calorie beverages! lol Also once a month we get together on a Saturday and hit the gym and then have lunch. Usually something like sushi or salads. We also have occassional dinner parties with healthy dishes and few treats!

    Funny thing…I have another group of friends and when I was finishing college and didn’t work so much (and ate gluten) we had a weekly event we called Paula Deen Day where we all made a Paula Deen recipe. That was not a healthy date! lol

  14. Congrats on the article! I have to say that I have looked to you for inspiration over the last year since I ran across you blog and from yours I have found many more! Thank you!!

    I re-joined weight watchers last night because since going back to school I have not made my health the most important topic. However, I knew your journey with WW and felt that I should give it another go! Thanks for always providing get info and thank you for having the courage to share your story and journey!!

  15. Love Chipotle! One of my faves.

    I also love Healthy Dates. I have several friends who enjoy doing healthy-life things. Tonight I’m meeting with a friend for a dance cardio class as our date!

  16. Love this post. I went to my first Bikram class I’d say 2 years ago with a friend of mine and loved it. I haven’t been for quite some time, but they just opened a new studio near me, and are offering a month unlimited for $40. Sweet deal that I’m definitely taking advantage of!! I was wondering if you could wear the hrm to class. Good to know. And chipotle, mmmm. So jealous as we don’t have that here where I live. We have a knockoff, but it’s not the same. lol

  17. Thanks for the info about the Bethesda Bikram! I work in georgetown so that will be super convenient for me. If you’re up for meeting up, I’d love to!

    Btw, let me just say you look awesome for just stepping out of a bikram yoga class!

  18. most of my friends have enjoyed eating healthier..and maybe its also cuz its the new year and theyre more likely to join me on little health dates (i love how u call it that btw..so cute). and YES theyre very important. bonding over health means both of you will have long and healthy futures together 🙂 bikram and nourishing food- its the 2011 version of dinner and a movie i think! ❤

  19. health dates are awesome 🙂 I think i need more of those (with people other than my coworkers 🙂 )

  20. I love love lvoe chipotle!

    Ilove getting salad and vegetable and healthy smoothies when I go out with my friends! Its not a big deal to me i love eating healthy! and sometimes indulging a little extra too!
    Well yeah you burned that many calories! you almost did it for 2 hours! LOL
    how much did your Polar HRM cost and where did you get it?

  21. Oh King Chipotle, how I love thee!!!

    I’ve always wanted to try Bikram. I have a feeling it could become my exercise of choice, but the closest one to me is almost three hours away.

  22. During my undergrad, my friend Whitney and I used to go to the gym, eat a healthy dinner together, and then watch The Biggest Loser. It was a great way to keep motivating each other.

    Now, my little brother and I are going to do the same thing- every week, we’re going to meet for dinner and talk about our Weight Watchers experiences that week. I’ll keep you updated on how it goes!

  23. For me I just eat what I know is right for me. I hate lunch dates with my Dad, one tomorrow actually and I usually splurge and eat a few pieces of bread and a yummy salad.

  24. I love chipotle. I really like the ideas of healthy date. One of my roommates is trying to lose weight, but she doesn’t like the same sort of activities I do. Sometimes it is hard to do active things at night without gym memberships!

  25. Hi beautiful!! I love me some fresh Mexican food, it’s so basic and flavorful without all the unneccesary business. Just boat loads of bean-like protein + colorful veggie combos!!

    You make me so wish I had a Bikram buddy, or an exercise buddy at least. I have never taken a class at a gym/studio but it sounds like so much fun, wish I was in DC nowadays!!

    Take care and haaaaappy weekend 🙂

  26. Yummmmm Chipotle burrito bowls are the best dining out meal!

    Meeting up with folks makes healthy living feel so hard. I just try to practice moderation and remind myself of my goals, but it is very challenging. I am still working on this one because I often focus way too much on what I can or can’t have and not enough on the social aspect itself.

  27. […] I want to have active dates! As I was thinking about this I found that folks like Beth from Beth’s Journey are already on board with this concept. How is that for good […]

Leave a Reply

