• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Variety with an Old Friend

It’s funny to me that the day I write a post about healthy dates, I meet up with an old friend from middle school for happy hour. Variety is the spice to life.

We ended up going to a Mexican restaurant called Rosa Mexicano – a place that somehow in all of my 9 years in DC I have never been to. I’ve walked by in many, many times but have never gone in, and after last night I’m not quite sure why that is!

002

We started out with a round of Pomegranate Margaritas – their signature drink.

004

After that I switched to vodka sodas, and had two more and then switched to water for the rest of the night. I had to run this morning and knew if I had too many sugary drinks that would not happen!

Jaci is a friend of mine from Connecticut and we met back in 5th or 6th grade. I was a bridesmaid in her wedding back in August 2008, and I’ve only seen her once since besides last night!

006

She has some family also living in the DC area so she was down visiting, and her soon to be cousin-in-law Sam came out with us. I had met her before, but this was the first time we had really hung out for a while and she is awesome.

007

I only ended up staying out until 10:30 or so because I was totally exhausted, but it was so much fun to catch up with Jaci and get to know Sam!

I was happy when I woke up just before 9am and motivated myself to go to the ygm immediately to get my training run out of the way. On the schedule for today was a 3 mile pace run, so I did it at 6.3mph which is my stretch goal pace for the half. I finished 3 miles in 28:36, and I felt pretty good during the whole run. I’m really hoping with 10 more weeks of training and the speed work, I’ll be able to pull it off.

010

After the run, I walked for 10 minutes at 4.2 mph, and then stretched for almost 10 minutes – a record for me. As I start to stretch more and more and make it a habit, I’m really dreading it less and less. I think I might actually be starting to enjoy it.

After the gym, I whipped up a quick and very necessary breakfast.

011

1 egg and 1/4 cup egg whites scrambled with frozen peppers and onions, 2 slices of toast, and some veggie sausage that I made into patties that was on sale. The whole plate was only 6 pts+… not too shabby!

How’s your weekend going? What do you have planned for the rest of it? Wil’s daughter Charkey and her sister Nora are with us today and spending the night, so we might be going to a museum a little later on and then cooking dinner at home and relaxing. Tomorrow I have to run 6 miles, and we’re going to go to church and bringing the girls back. Nothing terribly exciting but I leave for San Diego for 6 nights on Wednesday, so I’m really looking forward to being low key!

PS: Honest thoughts about the header??

18 Responses

  1. I have a feeling that pomegranate margarita was phenomenal.

    The Header — I really liked the figs and soft color scheme. Why the change?

    • It was! 🙂

      I got some feedback that the old header looked a little too serene and artistic for my personality, and I had to agree. I wanted something a little lighter.

  2. I’m digging the new header. Especially the color scheme… nicely done!

  3. I love the new header!

    Your friends are gorgeous, it looks like you guys had an awesome time! 🙂
    Glad you finally got to see them!

  4. I just about died when I saw those Pomegranate Margs. Amazing. Sometimes you have to let a little loose when you’re catching-up with old friends, you know?

  5. I love the new header! It definitely suits you! If you are going to do Broad St this year you better sign up quick! I heard it’s already a 1/3rd full and registration just opened today!

  6. I love the header! 😀

  7. I’m digging the new header! Looks like you had a great time. Those margaritas look killer.

  8. Cute header! It looks nice and refreshing.
    A pomegranate margarita sounds great. I wish I could have one right now 🙂 Even if it’s 0800 in th morning.

  9. I like the new header, but I am not a fan of the blue or the font for the sub-header. Maybe another pretty neutral color in a pretty script or something? LOVE the rest of it though! 🙂

    I want your polar!! My bday is tomorrow so I am harassing my bf right now to make that my present, hehe!

    Glad you had such a fun meetup! 🙂

  10. Beth, I love the new header and those Pomegranate Margaritas look AMAZING. I’m kind of jealous that you live in DC and can check out so many awesome bars/ restaurants.

    Ironically, I used to work right next to the American Indian museum, when I worked at Voice of America. It is a truly cool place! Glad you had such a nice weekend =)

  11. Oh, and I like the blue–it matches the rest of your page.

  12. I really really like your new header! It’s fun and spunky 🙂 Also pomegranate margaritas sound delicious! And you only live once 😉

Leave a Reply

