• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Day at the Museum

Sundays are always bittersweet for me… I love them so much but it also means back to work is imminent! This week though, I’m only in the office for two days before heading to San Diego for a week… so it’s not so bad.

I started off the day with an early 6 mile run. I did it on the treadmill in 59:30 (very close to a 10 minute mile) and to be honest, it was ROUGH. At the beginning, I didn’t think there was any way I would finish, but as the minutes ticked by and I zoned out a bit I somehow ended up making it. It wasn’t physically hard, I was just really struggling mentally. I was glad I was able to pull thru, but decided I really can’t do any more long runs inside. Partly because my treadmill only goes up to 60 minutes, but mostly because I’m going to drive myself insane if I keep up with the indoor long runs.

001

I was so happy to see almost 800 calories burned (especially after Friday night’s margarita, chips and guac!) but even happier that it was over.

Fuel wise, I had a banana before the run, and then coffee, an apple, another banana, toast with a huge serving of peanut flour (1/4 cup or 16 grams of protein) mixed with water. I’ve been trying to really listen to my body and make sure I’m eating enough to refuel with running even though I’m following Weight Watchers and therefore watching what I eat. I think this will be more important as I move into 7-8 mile runs and beyond, because today I haven’t really been that extra hungry.

After the run, breakfast, and a very needed shower, we went to church, and then headed to check out the National Museum of the American Indian. None of us had ever been to that one before, and it makes it so much more fun going with curious kids!

003

Don’t worry – we parked really close and didn’t want to carry our jackets, so sprinted to the entrance after this to stay warm. The museum was really cool! We only stayed for about an hour so didn’t see that much of the museum, but it was definitely a fun Sunday activity. It’s funny because even though I live in DC, I rarely take advantage of the more “touristy” things like going to museums, but I really should.

The building itself was SO cool.

004

There was a fountain around almost the entire outside of the museum, but since it is chilly out, the whole thing was frozen!

006

There were things you’d typically think of at an American Indian Museum – like canoes.

007

But then there were some really cool unexpected things, like a necklace made entirely of wildcat teeth!

011

So cool, right?

After about an hour, we were all starving so decided to leave the museum and head to the Silver Diner. It’s not your typical diner because they try to source all their ingredients locally and the food is actually quite good. The thing they have in common with other diners is the menu has everything you could ever want, so while Nora had eggs and bacon, Charlotte had spaghetti and strawberries (odd, I know), Wil had a turkey sandwich with fries, and I got grilled flounder.

020

It was actually awesome. There was grilled flounder (obv) with low-sodium teriyaki, brown rice, edamame, parsnips, carrots and broccoli, and then a mango/peach salsa on top of everything. I ate the whole plate minus a little brown rice. Now that’s some diner food. Smile

And I’ll leave you with this.

017

So cute.

Are you into museums? What is your favorite one? What’s the most well-known thing to do where you are from? My favorite one is the natural history museum, hands down.

16 Responses

  1. I can’t believe they didn’t winterize that fountain before it froze over, so crazy!

    I do love museums and my favorite are any of the Smithsonian exhibits. You do have a ton of great museums so close to you!

  2. I love DC and the museums there. I don’t care if they are touristy… I go to them every time I go to DC. I’ve never been to that museum though… it’s the newest one right?

  3. That looks like such a fun day. I’m a big fan of the American History Museum, I love the pop culture section 🙂

  4. Congrats on finishing the run!!

  5. Oh my goodness, I so know what you mean about indoor runs on the treadmill. They’re usually not tiring to the legs, but they do a number on your mind! I remember always wanting to stop the first mile or so, then the second, then the third. It took forever for me to enjoy that dang machine, haha. Congrayts on the awesome 6 miles! & Yay for magazines that cover up the time/miles screen and let ya get lost for a bit, nah? That’s my new favorite 🙂

    I LOVE art museums, there are a few free ones in Seattle but the Seattle Art Museum kinda owns them all!

  6. Your grilled flounder looks ridiculously good! Looks like you only need to lose a few more pounds! You don’t even need to but you could!
    Lookin fabulous!!!
    Are those your kids and husband?

  7. When I lived in Arlington the only time we went to the museums was on school trips! My parents would never take me! Now that I’ve moved I go to the museums at least once a year. My favorite is probably the National Gallery of Art. We went to the Native American one last year and it was neat! It was our first time there too! My daughter was excited to eat frog legs in the restaurant!

    I too love the Silver Diner. They have gluten free options! 🙂 I always eat there with my cousin.

  8. as a coffee-mate addict, WOW I must find that creamer ASAP!!!!!!!

    my mom would flip over that museum! She’s a history buff and reads native american based books like no other

  9. So excited to have found your website! I found it off WW when I searched for a calzone recipe. I am looking forward to try some of your recipes.

    I am an American Indian and live in Oklahoma, so I think it is cool that you visited the American Indian Smithsonian Museum. I have been there several times. I love DC! Our HQ office is there so I travel up there often. Where is this Silver Diner that you speak of?

    That is so true about being local and not taking advantage of all DC has to offer. If you haven’t done any of the Walking History Tours that the Ford Theater offers, they are really good and very affordable!

    I brought my family with me last Spring Break for a week’s vacation there and we did our best to hit every museum! At least the bigger ones. I love all the healthy options the east and west coast offer. In Oklahoma we don’t have very many healthy options. I so want a Chop’t Salad in Oklahoma!

    Looking forward to reading more of your page!

    • Hi Dione- Thank you for your comment. So glad you found me! I love DC and really do need to start taking advantage of the city more. I was actually in Oklahoma City in June 2010 for the first time and really loved it, but you are so right – there were not many healthy options! And speaking of calzones – – I have one defrosting in my fridge for lunch tomorrow! Yummmm.

  10. True Blood on my ipod get me through treadmill runs. But I agree it’s typically torture. I’ve actually never been to the American Indian museum but I love the American History Smithsonian. The First Ladies’ dresses are my favorite (and Dorothy’s ruby slippers). Glad you had a good weekend!

  11. I love museums! I also live in DC and checking out all the (free!) museums is one of my favorite weekend activities. The American Indian is a great choice, but I think the National Gallery is my favorite. Also check out the National Portrait Gallery/Smithsonian American Art Museum, located in Gallery Place (which is why Gallery Place is called that!). The contemporary art collection in the 3rd floor is a hidden gem.

Leave a Reply

