• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

A Few of My Favorite Things

Hi! I hope you had an awesome weekend and are easing back into the workweek effortlessly. I’m trying…

I thought it would be a fun change of pace on this Monday morning to do a post highlighting a few of my favorite things lately. Some of these are newer discoveries and some are things that I’ve been using for a while and have recently resurfaced. It’s a mix of both food and workout stuff, all of which is helping me to lose these last few pounds and continue with a healthy lifestyle. Enjoy!

1. SO Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer (0 pts+)

creamer_coconut_opening

This is my new favorite coffee creamer that I discovered because it was on sale at Whole Foods for $2! I went with the Original Flavor, and a serving is 1 tbsp. There are only 10 calories and 0 fat per tablespoon, and even 2 tablespoons has 0 pts+ on Weight Watchers. Besides it being super healthy, its also delicious, with just a faint coconut taste, but it looks like half and half in your coffee because it lightens it up so much. It is soy, dairy, and gluten free, plus totally vegan – so fits into any healthy lifestyle.

2. My Polar FT7 Heart Rate Monitor

polar

This one can’t surprise you if you’ve visited my blog anytime lately, but I couldn’t write a post about my favorite things and not have this near the top. The model I have is the FT7, and it is literally my favorite piece of workout equipment. I think this is the first time I’ve ever put this in writing… but I’m pretty sure I love it more than my Garmin 305. :-O I wrote a full review of the FT7 that you can find here, but basically, its amazing. I love that it tells me the number of calories I burn while I go, and it syncs up with every treadmill/elliptical I’ve been on to date. I’m sure I’ll find one that isn’t Polar equipped at some point, but so far I haven’t had any issues and I LOVE this.

3. Bananas (0 pts+)

banana

These are a brand new product found in the produce section of your local grocery store. Juuuuust kidding. But really, bananas are amazing. They are more filling and substantial to me than other fruit, and are so great any time of day. I usually stir them into my oatmeal, but also love them in smoothies, with peanut butter, or mashed up on toast. So versatile, and so good for you. I also love that now that Weight Watchers has changed fruit to 0 pts, I can just munch on a banana while I’m figuring out dinner and not think twice.

4. Frozen Spinach (0 pts+)

ChoppedSpinach10oz

Would you believe me if I told you I’ve only used frozen spinach for the first time a few weeks ago for that spinach dip I made for my sister’s shower? Only then did I start to discover the awesomeness that is frozen spinach. It has a really long shelf (freezer shelf?) life, and is super easy to defrost and use. My favorite discovery so far has been using it in green monsters! It makes you need less ice, and if you don’t have any frozen bananas, it doesn’t matter because you have the frozen spinach! It’s also awesome scrambled with eggs, in spinach dip, and in soups.

5. Lululemon Headband

lululemon

Ever since I chopped off my hair, I can’t get it all to stay in a pony tail. This thing has been a lifesaver. It’s lightweight enough that it doesn’t make me overheat, but its warm enough that it keeps my ears from freezing if I run outdoors. I need to pick up a few more of these because I only have one and LOVE it. Plus, its only $12, which is pretty cheap for Lululemon…

6. Laughing Cow Babybel Light (1 pts+)

mini-babybel-light

Love. The babies are just 1 pt+ a piece, and are so tasty. They are also so portable, and have just 50 calories, 6 grams of protein, and 3 grams of fat each. Nothing majorly new here, just something I recently picked up and have been loving lately.

7. Peanut Flour

peanut-flour

I’ve been over this one before, but my love for it has not wavered. In fact, I went to Trader Joe’s and picked up two extra packages of it today just in case I start running low. 1/4 a cup has 3 pts+, 2 tbsp has 2pts+ (the portion I normally use), and 1 tbsp has 1 pt+. It is the perfect addition to oatmeal to make it stick to your ribs for 4-5 hours, and is awesome mashed up with banana on toast for a quick and healthy breakfast. I also love adding a little bit to smoothies for extra staying power. I can’t wait to keep experimenting with it and discover even more ways to use it.

9. The Shred

theshred

Another thing I’ve mentioned on the blog many times, but this is the only workout video I use. I normally get too bored to follow DVDs all the way through, but this one has 3 different 20 minute workouts on it, and they are all super challenging and condensed. Each workout is set up in 3 circuits, and each circuit consists of 3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio, and 1 minute abs. Within the strength training, it’s 30 seconds of a power move, 1 minute of a compound move, and then repeat. With the cardio, its 30 seconds of two different moves, then repeat. And the minute of abs is usually 2 different moves about 30 seconds each. There’s literally no time to get bored, and I am ALWAYS sore the next day. If you’re looking for a quick workout you can squeeze into your busy day, this is it. All you need is hand weights (I use 3 lbs), and a mat. That’s it!

So what about you? What are you loving lately? Are any of these things near the top of your list?

PS: Anyone in the San Diego area and want to do dinner/drinks this week?

29 Responses

  1. How do you cut the frozen spinach for the Monster and how much do you use per smoothie? Just wondering. Your blog is GREAT!

    • Thanks Amy! What I normally do is just break a hunk off or else cut it with a sharp knife. If that doesn’t work, you can nuke it for a few minutes, and then it probably makes sense to divide it into portions before refreezing the rest. I use about 1/4 of a block per smoothie depending on the size of the chunk that breaks off. 🙂

  2. I was just going to ask the same question! The frozen spinach is a hard block, and I can see me injuring myself trying to cut off a piece. I’ll try dividing it up after thawing a little. Did you not use any ice then? I also like the idea of mixing it in soup & eggs.

    P.S. I made the Lentil Loaf and loved it. It was a little crumbly, so I might add a little more egg next time. It was really good.

    • haha don’t hurt yourself!! I added about 2 blocks of ice but I would just see the consistency and if its how you like it. I like my smoothies on the thick side so I added a bit extra ice.

      Glad you enjoyed the Lentil Loaf! You could definitely add an extra egg to help with the crumble, or maybe you blended up a bit less of the lentils than I did becuase mine wasn’t really crumbly?

  3. Beth,
    I recently went to a HUGE Trader Joe’s in New York, specifically looking for peanut flower (after seeing it here I was super curious) and I asked a man there and he had never even heard of it! Do you think you can only find it at TJ’s in DC? Cause I’m dying to try it!!
    Thanks for your help and for keeping me entertained every day haha!
    Joanna

    • Ugh I’m sorry you made the trip out there and didn’t find it, but I bet you found a ton of other awesome things at TJ’s!! The peanut flour is in the flour section where they have regular flour, but you might want to call the store directly to ask. I’ve been to several different TJ’s but all in my area, and they’ve had it everywhere. I actually just bought two containers of it yesterday for good measure.

  4. Beth,
    I wanted to tell you I made your lentil loaf today and it is AMAZING!! I loved it!! I’m about to go back for seconds:). Thanks for the recipe! It’s a keeper:)

  5. I can’t find Peanut Flour anywhere, I think I’m going to have to try and find it online! I’m currently saving up some $$$ to buy the Polar FT7, it’s exactly what I have been looking for 🙂

    Jen

    • I’ve only ever seen the peanut flour at TJ’s, but you can call your local store to ask if they carry it. It’s in the flour section where they have regular and other types of flours. And yes, save up for the Polar. It’s awesome!

  6. I’ve been craving a green monster like CRAZY lately. I need to go get the ingredients for it. So I guess you can say I’m loving that right now.

    • That’s the great thing about my new found love for frozen spinach – its so easy to keep on hand. I always plow through the fresh kind so quickly I don’t have any left for GMs!

  7. Love chopped frozen spinach and The Shred! Jillian kicks my ass! Christine actually turned me on to it.

  8. HI Beth, I just purchased the Polar FT7 yesterday and have read the manual online just minutes ago. I’m ready to record my workout during the Jillian Michaels 30 day Shred. I too love this workout and find it hard to make an excuse to not do this since its only 20 minutes long. It is a HARD 20 minutes but so worth it. I’m now on level 2 and cringe at the idea of doing jump planks, I think that’s what they’re called. They kill me everytime and i can’t wait to see how many calories are burned. I read your blog daily and love all your posts. I’ve incorporated much of your recipes and tips into my days. I just want to thank you for doing this. I’m sure you’ve helped tons of others out there. You are an inspiration to many!

    • Aww thank you so much Stacy! This comment really means a lot to me. 🙂

      So glad you got both The Shred and The Polar. They are AWESOME. I only used the polar during Level 1, and I burned 203 calories. I bet you burn so much more. Level 2 is the hardest out of the 3, in my opinion. It’s SO hard.

      • Just finished the Shred level 2 and my Polar FT7 says I burned 403 calories. WOW, no kidding! I’m exhausted. 🙂

  9. Just to add one thing, I have picked up the peanut flour at Trader Joe’s in Pennsylvania and love it! I put it on Kamut puffed cakes, bagel thins, in my steele cut oatmeal and have also made a peanut sauce to mix with tofu stir fry. Delish!

    • I haven’t done a peanut sauce yet but I’m excited to try it! I was thinking of adding it with some soy sauce, garlic, ginger, a little oil, and maybe some water too to break it down. Mmmmm.

  10. Wow that coconut creamer looks great!

  11. Thanks for the helpful list of things I should check out!

  12. Although I’ve been reading about peanut flour a lot in the blog world lately, I have yet to use it myself. I’m addicted to basically every nut butter that exists though, so I have no doubt I’d love it!

    Have you tried any of Jillian’s other DVDs? If you like the Shred, you would probably love her new 6 Week 6 Pack–it’s super-charged circuits and only 30 minutes (she has 2 different 30 minute workouts on the DVD). I love ALL the Jillian DVDs, but this one is my new favorite 🙂

  13. These are amazing!
    I wish I could find peanut flour around here…
    Trader Joe’s should definitely come to Brazil 🙂

  14. I’ve never tried the So Delicious creamer but I keep thinking about purchasing it…now I shall give it a try. I also think I’m going to get the Polar HRM. I agree with the peanut flour…it’s amazing. I love it smashed with a banana on an english muffin for breakfast!

  15. Beth, I so love that creamer and I too lately have been loving the SHRED. Jillian is the best for sure 🙂 So good to hear from you and happy you are blogging still.
    Have a good night!

  16. I really want to try coconut milk! And coconut yogurt, and coconut water and… well, everything that’s coconut, I bet I could even throw a splash of the creamer into my oats since I don’t drink coffee, nah? I wish I were in San Diego to meet up with you, except it might be a bit like meeting a famous person and I might hide in a corner and/or laugh nervously throughout our entire meal. Ah shoot, maybe some day we’ll meet in this NW side of the states!

    Have a rad week, Beth!

  17. Im loving my little man right now. 🙂

  18. I’m in LOVE with So Delicious coconut milk creamer. The French vanilla tastes like heaven. I really love your heart rate monitor. I must get one asap!

  19. I love the peanut flour from Trader Joe’s! I can not get enough of that stuff. YUM! I need to try that Coconut Milk Creamer, it sounds delicious.

    and I love your blog!! 😀

Leave a Reply

