• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Restaurant Week at 701

Hi guys! Today is my last day in the office before heading to San Diego tomorrow… I am so excited (even though its for work!). I’ve never been to California in my life! Can you believe that?

Since I’m leaving on an early flight tomorrow, I wanted to get my interval run in this morning, so I can do the “easy” 3.5 mile run tomorrow around downtown San Diego. Speed work this week called for 6 .25 mile repeats, so basically 3 miles of intervals. Even though I did one more today than last time, it felt easier. The reason is that I figured out the “secret” – go SLOW during recovery. I was going 5.8mph last time to recover, which is slower than I normally run, but was still fast enough that my heart rate wasn’t lowering enough. Today, I went from 7.0 during the sprints to 5.5 during the recovery, and it felt soooo much better. Before the last interval, I even went down to 5.2mph because my heart rate wasn’t coming down far enough at 5.5. That might seem obvious to some but for me, it made a huge difference today.

I also only warmed up for .25 miles today instead of a full mile, which I also think made a difference in energy levels. So glad to have that over with for the week!

Last night I had an AWESOME meal for Restaurant Week in DC. Do they do these where you are from? Basically, they hold a restaurant week twice a year and over 200 local restaurants participate. You get to pick an entree, main course, and dessert for 35.11 for dinner (this year – lase year it was 35.10) and three courses for lunch for 20.11. It’s a really good deal if you pick some of the swankier restaurants on the list because there’s no way you could eat there – especially for three courses – for $35 for dinner. The menu is usually entrees off of the regular restaurant menu, but sometimes there are special features on there.

My friend Erika and I got together for dinner. She lives in DC too, but we grew up playing soccer together in Connecticut. Even though we live in the same city, we only hang out every few months. Every time we do hang out, we always promise to not let it be so long until the next time, but then all of a sudden a few months have passed and we’re sitting at dinner again having a blast, swearing it’ll be the last time we let it be so long… you know how that goes.

I made the coat check lady take our picture because it felt too funny to take our picture inside the restaurant since it’s so swanky.

701 is a restaurant I’ve wanted to go for ages. The restaurant’s website describes its style as “an inventive approach to Contemporary Continental Cuisine.” Read: swank. 😉

To start off the meal, I ordered the escarole and baby beet salad.

I asked for the dressing on the side, not realizing the moody blue cheese was a dressing in addition the sherry vinaigrette, so the salad seemed a little plain. I sprinkled it with some of the moody blue, and it transformed the taste of the salad. Escarole is pretty milk, but you can see some fresh rosemary in there which just took it to another level. The beets were roasted to perfection and the salad tasted so fresh and delicious.

For my main course, I was really struggling with what to order. There were three things speaking to me. First, a Red Snapper with Saffron Risotto, Peeky toe crab, and Meyer Lemon. Yes, please. Next there was a Scottish Salmon with Parsnip Puree, Coffee Crunch, and a Red Wine Reduction. Finally, Royal Trumpet Mushrooms with Salsify, Swiss Chard, and Blood Orange. I was totally torn, but after speaking with the waiter, I was intrigued most by the vegan mushroom dish, so I went with that. It did not dissapoint!

The Royal Trumpet Mushrooms are across the top, with little segments of blood orange distributed throughout. Underneath there was a swiss chard puree – very similar to a pesto but with little to no oil, plus the roasted salsify. Salsify (which I had never heard of before tonight) is a root vegetable, really similar to parsnips in flavor and texture. This dish was serious out of this world. If I had someone cooking dishes like this for me every day, I could be vegan. Except cheese. Nevermind. 😉

Next up was the dessert course. Tons of delicious things on the menu but I wanted to stay pretty light, so I went with the trio of sorbet with winter berries.

I sort of zoned out when he was telling me the flavors because I was so curious about those sesame crackers, but I know one of the flavors was prickly pear, and all I know about the other two is that they were delicious and I was sad when it was over. I can’t even describe the perfection that were those sesame crackers. They had the slightest hint of sweet and added a perfect amount of crunch against the cool sorbet and soft winter berries. They almost added a biscotti factor to the sorbet, but with a lot less sweet and bulk. So good.

Overall, it was an incredible meal, and I had an awesome time catching up with Erika who I hadn’t seen in months! Let’s not let it be so long til the next time…

Is there a restaurant week in your town? Do you participate? How often do you eat out at restaurants? I only eat out a few times a month, max. I love cooking at home, plus its healthier and cheaper!

30 Responses

  1. I think I’m totally skipping restaurant week this time around. I’m jealous that you went to 701 AND are going to San Diego this week!

  2. We have restaurant week coming up in the Chi. 🙂
    I’ve never participated before, but think I’m going to make it a point of picking out one I really really want to try this year…

  3. We have restaurant week coming up in a few days! I really want to try it out 🙂 You looked so pretty in your purple sweater– a really good color on you!

  4. I’ve done Restaurant Week in Indianapolis. It was $25 for three dinner courses and we went to Harry and Izzy’s, a fancier steak place. It was great!

    There’s one coming up next week near here that we’re thinking about trying, but the Food and Wine fest is also next week, so I’m not sure we should do both! Decisions decisions 🙂

  5. We had our first ever restaurant week in November, it was great!

  6. That is why I love heart rate monitors over any other kind of watch, they really help you understand your body and how to treat it during a workout. Great job getting that run out of the way for the week.

    I am sure that LA has a week like that, but I haven’t heard of it. Sounds like a lot of fun though!

    Have a blast in San Diego, you should get some incredible weather while you are here! And by the way, there are so many amazing places to eat at in San Diego!

  7. talk about perfect timing!! San Diego restaurant week is going on right now!! it lasts until friday. let me know if you need a recommendation.

    also there are amazing places to run here. if you are staying downtown, have someone point you to the harbor.

    and its very warm this week. yesterday was almost 80!! you’re going to have so much fun on your first trip to cali!!!!

    • Are you serious!?! Ahhh what awesome news! I’m so excited! And yes, any recommendations you have would be great. I’m going to look up the harbor so I can map out a route to run before i get there.

      Thank you!!

      • you’re very welcome!!

        during the last restaurant week I went to Croce’s. its a restaurant/ jazz bar. the food was amazing!! also The Fish Market is really good. its on the harbor and has amazing views.

        let me know if you need any other info on SD (yoga studio, running at the beach, etc.)

  8. Love the new header! I have never been to 701 but have always wanted to go. Tonight I’m going to Oyamel and tomorrow night my favorite restaurant ever, Rasika.

  9. I have not been to 701, the food looks great, should go there sometime. Will be going to Zaytinya, its one of my
    favorites in DC.

  10. I live for restaurant week! I love it in Boston, there are always so many restaurants that participate.

    I eat out quite a bit even though I know it is a lot cheaper to eat at home, but it’s one of life’s luxuries that I really couldn’t live without.

  11. I usually always miss Restaurant week due to travel. Yesterday we went to Zaytinya and I didn’t even know it was Restaurant week. What a welcome surprise! It’s FAB.

  12. I can’t wait to restaurant week. I’m trying to remember the last time I ate out anywhere and I don’t think I can. Normally I love cooking and buying ingredients, but now and again eating out isn’t so bad 😉

  13. Denver does restaurant week. I think it is coming up pretty soon- it is $52.80 a couple because we are the Mile High City (5,280 ft.)

  14. 701 looks awesome!

    And have you heard of http://www.bodyrock.tv/ ? It’s exercise videos online, and was recommended to me as a really good workout w/ good form. I do the Shred stuff too, but may look into trying this one out…

  15. Annnnddd that looks like a spam advertisement…but it’s not! I just thought you might be interested! 😛

  16. I’ve never been to California either! And I’ve done a fair bit of traveling both inside and outside the U.S.

    We rarely eat out..same as you maybe 3-4 times a month tops. I don’t even know if they have a restaurant week in town…obviously I’ve never been lol!

  17. First of all, everything you ate looks so delicious. Just sayin’.

    I love eating out, but can’t afford to do it very frequently. this is a blessing in disguise, as my health almost always benefits from me cooking at home. However, when i do get to eat out, I love to eat at Asian or Asian inspired restaurants.

    As far as restaurant week is concerned, downtown Winston-Salem has something called The Big Eat during January and February. It’s similar to DC restaurant week, except it’s a collection of downtown restaurants which offer their signature dish for 50% off on Tuesday nights. My girlfriend and I are going to our favorite Mediterranean restaurant tonight- $4.25 for a heaping plate of couscous, hummus, baba ghanouj, and falafel. SO excited!

  18. I wish that we had restaurant week here! That’s a great idea!
    I don’t eat out a lot because I have kids and every time we try to, they pretty much do something really embarrassing;)

  19. I live in a small town with mostly chain restaurants. I would love to be in D.C. for restaurant week someday however!

  20. I love restaurant week! We’re doing the Morton’s in Arlington on Saturday… scheduled that one for the BF… hopefully they have a fish dish as part of the restaurant week menu. Next week is also Bethesda’s RW, and I have Food, Wine & Co. scheduled – one of my favorite restaurants!!

  21. oh that meal looks so elegant and gourmet!

  22. You look really CUTE! I love the sweater.

    We try to eat out less. It costs a lot and neither of us can afford the inflated restaurant calories. We’ve been eating out a lot this week because of being out town and I’m kinda restaurant done! At least for awhile.

  23. I’ve been trying to cut back on eating out but I’ve been lazy and eating a lot of Whole Foods hot bar…I pretend it’s not eating out since I purchased it at a grocery store.

    Have fun in San Diego 🙂 Can’t wait to read all about your trip!!

  24. I always forget about restaurant week here until the very end of it at which point it is too late. How did I not know that you grew up in CT? That is where I live now!

  25. We don’t have Restaurant Week here either. 😦 – The biggest rage that I have heard about here “where the winds go sweeping across the plains” is Pioneer Woman. I’ve yet to check her blog out yet, but every where I go, I hear about this woman.

    You will have a blast in San Diego! I’ve been there four times with work and LOVE it, especially the times we were by the beach. Have fun and be safe!

  26. The month of September is restaurant month here in Orlando. I never get to participate in it cause I am broke that month for some reason.

    All that food you had looks fantastic.

    I will really need to get on going to our restaurant deals this year.

  27. all salad dressings should be described with personified adjectives. I really like ‘moody’ blue. Maybe I’m missing the point but I am entertained at least…
    best,
    Katherine

  28. Both Virginia Beach and Norfolk have restaurant weeks. I’ve never taken advtantage of VB’s, but I will most definitely be enjoying Norfolk’s AGAIN this year. 🙂 Yum!

Leave a Reply

