• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Perfection

I am seriously considering not coming back to the east coast… I love it here.

For starters, here was yesterday’s fruit infused water selection:

001

Lemon and lime, grapefruit, pineapple, and strawberry. It seriously makes guzzling water so easy slash delicious. I had one huge water bottle each of the pineapple and strawberry today. So good. These alone are enough to make me want to stay.

What’s more, I went outside for a 45 minute walk during lunch and I couldn’t get over how amazing it was outside. It was 72º, sunny, and just slightly breezy – literally the perfect weather. Since I only had 45 minutes, I walked away from the hotel for 20 minutes, looked up, and realized I was right by the grocery store I went to when I first arrived. I ended up running through the store quickly to pick out lunch, then turning around and walking the 20 minutes back towards the hotel, making it right on time.

Since I didn’t want it to end, I ate my lunch outside on the covered patio next to where the course is. The bulk of it was a humongous (literally 2 pound) salad:

007

A base of spinach, topped with feta, chickpeas, kidney beans, green peppers, baby corn, tabbouleh, roasted corn, tuna, hard boiled egg, and black bean and corn salad. Plus more that I’m sure I’m forgetting. It was enormous, and I ended up eating about 2/3 of it for lunch, and the rest for a snack around 3:30.

I also picked up a small container of sunomono:

008

Sunomono is a Japanese salad with a vinegar dressing with just a touch of sugar. I’ve had it in sushi restaurants before with different types of fish, but this one just had cucumber and seaweed. It’s super light but so delicious. I ended up pouring the leftover vinegar dressing over the salad after I gobbled it down.

Plus, a side of grapes.

009

Unfortunately those needed to be carefully picked over because a lot of them were soft. Boo.

Besides the gorgeous weather, San Diego itself is also beautiful. Once the class wrapped up around 5, I went outside for a run by the harbor, which is just a few blocks from the hotel. The timing was perfect because the sun was just setting and made the sky such pretty colors. As soon as I got close to the harbor, I was so excited to keep running along it!

013

The run itself was super low key. I stopped a lot to take photos because I couldn’t soak it all in with just my eyes. A few of my favorites…

021

027

024

017

Saying it was a run to remember would be an understatement. I honestly didn’t even realize until I was writing this that I didn’t have my ipod. I NEVER run without music!

Since I stopped so much and kept bringing my heart rate down, I burned less calories than usual but that was a-ok with me.

035

I’m guessing I ran right around 3 miles (which is what I set out to do) because I stopped the watch each time I stopped to walk.

If you could pick up and move anywhere in the world without factoring in logistics (money, family, children, job, etc) where would you go?

34 Responses

  1. It looks like you’re having an amazing time in San Diego!!! But I want you to come back to DC!!! If I could move anywhere logistics aside, I’d have to move to Florence, Italy. I studied abroad there and absolutely fell in love with the culture, food, wine, etc. Have a great rest of your trip!

  2. Mmm, that sunomono looks delicious! I’ve never had it but now I want to look up a recipe. Your photos are beautiful, they make me miss California.

  3. Beth, I’m sooo jealous!!! San Diego sounds like the perfect place–awesome healthy food, perfect weather, and that fruit infused water. I wish I was there right now, instead of in chilly Richmond.

    Maybe we should all move to California? Haha, I’m game if you are =)

  4. Looks like so much fun and those pictures are too pretty!
    If I could love anywhere I would live in DC, Chicago, London, or anywhere in Italy. 😀

  5. Very beautiful picture of the Coronado bridge! And I am so glad that you are loving SD! It is a beautiful city!

    If I could pick up and move anywhere without a fear in the world, I would definitely go to Hawaii. How about you though? Is SD your move-away spot?

  6. I would move to DC without question. It’s my favorite place ever. San Diego looks beautiful! I’ve never been but would love to visit, your photos are gorgeous!

  7. I’m so jealous! It is freezing here. I would live in Hawaii if I could live anywhere.

  8. I think I’d like to live in St. Thomas. I’ve known two seperate people who have literally just picked up and went. I have no idea how they did it (I’m waaaaay too structured for that), but they love it!

    Basically, they work in bars/restaurants during the busy season and then during the “off” season, they either keep hanging out (and make less) or come back to the states to do the same here. No permanent address, no car, no anything. Just flying by the seat of their pants…

  9. I guess I’m living the dream! I came to San Diego for a work trip 3 years ago and transfered permanently right away.

    So glad you liked the harbor run. Those funky statues are called urban trees. I love them!!! Also I drive over that bridge every day for work.

    And if you can imagine it, down town isn’t even the best part of the city. you haven’t even seen the ocean yet 🙂

    that was a long comment. But it’s just so fun to see my home thru your eyes!

  10. That water looks awesome!!

    You are going to think I am crazy for my answer, but I would move to Maine! I lived in Maine for part of college and completely fell in love. Plus most of my very close friends live there!

  11. If I had to pick, it’d probably be Spain, but I doubt I’d ever do it. I thought southern California was my dream place and it ended up being not my cup’o’tea at all. After about 6 months, my east coast side was roaring to come home.

  12. I love trees that have big thick trunks/branches but don’t have many leaves like the one in your picture – they’re just so pretty! (weird obsession of mine?)

    If we could go anywhere-we’d pick North Carolina…the Asheville area. We’d still get the benefits of living in the “South” (i.e. warmer weather) but still see the seasons change. Plus, there’s lots of hiking, mountain biking and running going on there!

  13. Those waters look so yummy. What a great way to get water in. Is is sweet at all from the fruit?

    My boyfriend and I talk about where we would live if we didn’t live where we are now (Central Florida). I would love to live somewhere with more mild summers even if I would have to sacrifice the perfect winters. I love the south west though, and I think Arizona would be perfect for me if nothing else matter.

  14. Looks like you’re having a great time in SD. Must be nice to be in some warmer weather this time of year (jealous).

    If I could pick up and move somewhere I have been before, I’d go with Maui. Although, I have never been to Italy, and have a feeling once I get there and see family I still have there, it will be pretty hard to get me back to the Midwest.

  15. I grew up in San Diego and it is truly a wonderful place. There is something magical about the ocean. I still have lots of family there so I visit a couple times a year.

    My husband and I have dreams of moving to New Zealand. He lived there for a couple years before we were married and has always wanted to return. I am attracted by the polynesian culture. I am native Hawaiian and I have always longed to live where polynesians are not a minority.

  16. I’ve always wanted to live in the country, and live a simple life You know those towns were you see a beautiful house in the middle of no where and you think about where these people work, or where their kids go to school.

  17. I LOVE San Diego! I was there in October and the weather was soooo good! We went over to Coronado Island and rented bikes to ride around the bike path that goes around the island, it is a must-do if you have time!

  18. Love your great pics!!! And, 315 cals in 30 min is awesome!!! Way to go!!!

  19. I would most definitely move back to San Diego. I got to live there for almost 2 year and I miss it so much. Being close to family is really the only thing keeping us from moving back. I pretty much change my mind about moving back there every day.

  20. Savannah, GA. I love it there. Everything is so beautiful. My husband would probably say Key West which I’d be happy with too. 🙂 I really just want away from so much snow!

  21. OMG you’re in San Diego! YAY! Isn’t it gorgeous?!?!

    As much as I love it there – I’d give anything to move back to NYC! 🙂

  22. Love the fruit infused water, what a great idea!!!! Enjoy the rest of your time in San Diego 🙂

  23. I am seriously jealous of your weather especially since it’s so cold and windy here in the South! I am definitely thinking about making myself some flavored water very soon! BTW – ever since I started following your blog I have been wanting to try the peanut flour. Finally made it to TJ’s today (don’t live close to one) and bought 2 of them. The cashier told me they were discontinuing the item….I said perfect….:(…..not doubt I’ll love it! Maybe not the same situation at your TJ”s….mine is in Atlanta. Love your blog and I’m a die hard WW’er too! I get a lot of motivation from you!!

  24. Glad you are loving SD! I actually grew up just north of San Diego ‘proper’ in a town named Carlsbad (very cute beach community, you should visit some time, they have amazing outlets! lol) I now live in Northern CA in wine country Sonoma County, but I do miss SD very much, especially bc my parents and younger sister are down there. If I could live anywhere, I would live in Spain or France…which might become a reality here in the next couple of yrs..fingers crossed!! 🙂

  25. I have to say living in Cali, I wouldn’t trade it for anything!! Love LA!

  26. Hi Beth!!
    I live in Okinawa~ a tropical island in Japan! It is a bit chilly right now, but it is beautiful here! We have an area called “Araha Beach” There is a sidewalk all along the beach for a good distance, and it makes for a beautiful running area! I just started the C25K and am starting at week 3 since I set of goal of running a 5K on March 5th (I don’t drink alcohol so this is my St.Patty’s Celebration). I just saw that you started through C25K as well, and it is great to see that is has helped someone else like me ~ someone who never ran! I love your posts about San Diego! When we were stationed in Vegas, we went there for me to get my serenity (I need water near me, I am an ocean girl) and I always loved how laid back, peaceful and healthy I felt everytime I went there! Great job with the tips on eating well while travelling, and enjoying the sites while still being healthy! Love this blog!! I will go for my run on Araha tomorrow and will take pictures for my blog!! 🙂

  27. great pics!

  28. Love following your blog! San Diego looks awesome and so does that salad!

  29. I’d LOVE to move to the US (from England). I read all these blogs from people in the US, and you guys have so much more variation of food! All the healthy food you can get is just unreal. Plus, I love the fact that you could live somewhere cold where it snows a lot, or you could move to somewhere with gorgeous, warm weather and still be in the same country.

    Either the US, or I lived in Australia for a while, and I just about fell in love with it!

  30. I would move to London in an instant. I lived there for a bit back in my early 20s and would kill to go back.

    Glad you are having a nice time. I love water with cucumber. mmm…

  31. would so love to have some of the grapefruit infused water! thats quite a neat set up with the variations of citrus waters!!!

    pick anywhere in the world to live…oh how i wish i traveled more to actually know which places i feel more at home in…but i think i would say Arizona..Tucson…since the climate seems like it would suit me the best. but if i were to choose somewhere a little more fun/impulsive i would choose some place along the South of France… 🙂

    xoxo

  32. Ummmm…your salad looks freaking amazing!!!! Like I could just come out and eat it with you – you share right? 🙂 JK!

    As for anywhere in the world – I have to say after traveling, I prefer the U.S. and I would choose San Fran to put up tent! 🙂

Leave a Reply

