• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

It’s Over

Sorry for the hiatus from blogging! Once Friday came and my coworkers arrived, things got a lot more hectic, and unfortunately a lot less healthy. During the first few days in San Diego, I was staffing the course, so I was there by myself and had a pretty easy schedule, with evenings off starting at 4:30 and an hour break for lunch.

Once Saturday came, I was working over 12 hours a day straight, with barely enough time to eat (though trust me I managed not to miss one meal). Since we didn’t have a lot of time, I had less options for food than I did for the first few days, but I have to say that my shopping trip was definitely a saving grace and something I will try to do every time I travel from now on. It was so great to have fruit, string cheese, peanut butter, and bread to snack on if I was hungry, rather than the cookies and brownies that were put out way too often. I did manage to have a healthy breakfast almost every day, mostly resembling this:

002

Besides breakfast though, I definitely fell off the healthy eating train. Here’s a breakdown of my trip as it related to healthy living.

First, the positives:

  • I ran 3 times during the 6 days I was there. 3.5 miles, 3 miles, and 3.5 miles, only missing one 5k pace run from my training plan.
  • I had the “morning off” yesterday (meaning I had to be at the conference at 8:45 instead of 7am) and instead of sleeping in, I woke up and ran 3.5 miles.
  • I drank a LOT of water each day. The fruit infused water bar made that super easy – I have never been so happy to have a reusable water bottle with me!
  • I had a healthy breakfast every day – peanut butter and banana on toast, greek yogurt with blueberries, or fruit and oatmeal.
  • I ate a lot of fruits and veggies, and made really good decisions about eating when I got to choose (healthy options, dressing on the side, water to drink etc).

Now, for the less than stellar parts:

  • I ate a lot of sweets because they were there. There was cookies or brownies out for afternoon breaks every day, and when we ate lunch at the hotel they always served dessert (delicious chocolate cake). I don’t normally have that much of a sweet tooth, but towards the end of the trip I was tired and it was there, so I ate it. It tasted delicious, so I had another one (or two).
  • I drank more alcohol than normal – only two nights while I was there but I don’t usually drink much so I woke up feeling not so hot twice during the trip.
  • At the conference receptions, I ate way too many of the passed appetizers, a lot of which were fried (stuffed artichoke hearts which were to die for, spanakopita, etc.)
  • I wasn’t very good about paying attention to my hunger cues when I was full and just kept eating when food was there. One of the things I struggle with the most is portion control, so when I prepare my own meals, I measure things out and know I can eat the whole plate. When eating at a restaurant or when someone else is making your food, it’s a lot harder for me.

Now that I write it all out, it actually doesn’t sound as bad as it could have been. In my Healthy Travel Tips, I mentioned being realistic with your expectations, and I really don’t think I followed my own advice on this one. I really was expecting to be as good as I am when I’m home, and it just wasn’t feasible. I was sleep deprived and surrounded by a lot of my trigger foods, and I couldn’t really do much about either of those things. I could have exercised more self control obviously, but I did make some good decisions and it definitely could have been a lot worse.

That aside, I seriously am in love with San Diego. I’m in the airport right now laying over in Phoenix, getting on a connecting flight to DC within the hour, where it’s cold and supposed to snow tomorrow. I’m not looking forward to that AT ALL! Argh. I am looking forward to getting back to my normal routine, being in my own kitchen, and working 8 hour days instead of 12+!

I’ll leave you with a few photos from last night of me with my coworkers and some conference attendees at the Mexican restaurant where we had dinner and drinks.

Jackie, Me, and Kelly

020

Me and Bobbie

030

Kobi, Me, Phil, Tedra and Ted

024

Such a fun night! I want to go back to a place where I can sit outside in January not bundled up in winter clothes…

What’s your favorite way to get back on track after an indulgent weekend or vacation?

17 Responses

  1. I make sure that my next meal (snack or whatever food I eat next) is clean and nutrient rich. It sounds simplistic but it works for me.

  2. You ran, you drank lots of water, you worked long hours and had a few treats! I think you did really well, and I am sure you did a lot better than you would have say, a year ago!!! 🙂 I love SD and would love to end up there after the Hub puts in his 20 for the military (5 more years…which will be spent in Germany!!). I love seasons, but I always end up loving the nice weather and the ocean, more!! 🙂

  3. I’ve been watching your trip pictures on facebook. I was so jealous! It looked like fun!

  4. spanikopita, omg i have such a soft spot for it. uno what tho, starting each day off on a healthy note like you did was the best thing. so what if u had other foods later on that weren’t as healthy, you still fueled the day off right and ur body will thank you for it!

    I used to dream of living in San Diego..maybe i still do, but if i could have jumped onto the plane with u and be there im sure i wouldn’t have to ‘dream’ anymore hehe 🙂 the weather in SD would be a real treat too right about now!

    xoxo

  5. I’m SUPER impressed with how healthy you kept things while you were traveling! Definitely more to be proud of than you give yourself credit for 🙂 After a period of indulgence (like going to my husband’s parents’ house for the holidays!), I always kick off the first day back with a workout and big, loaded salad for dinner. Usually I miss my usual veggie intake while I’m gone, and I love to get the first-day-back workout out of the way soon (it’s always the hardest, isn’t it?!)

    Glad you had a great time on your trip!

  6. Great job on staying healthy! If I stray for a few days, I start writing everything I eat and do in advance. I find if I’m not planning ahead, I get sunk easily.

  7. I think you did a lot better on your trip than you give yourself credit for. Trips are difficult to manage our usual routine but you did manage to maintain some. Give yourself a pat on the back.

    The best way I get back on track is by having a super healthy breakfast. 😀

  8. It sounds to me like you did a great job! It’s all about balance and you have to enjoy yourself too 🙂

    My favorite way to get back on track is hit up the grocery store, gets lots of fresh produce, and work out a little harder!

  9. I think you still did really well! It’s really hard to pass up little things here and there, but you still kept up with your training and made sure to make healthier choices elsewhere… I call it a win. 🙂

  10. You look so cute in your photos. Vacations are hard, work related trips/functions are even harder. I think you did really well and now it’s just time to get yourself back into routine – that’s what works for me, anyway!

  11. You definitely can’t be perfect all the time, and I think you still did really well. A lot of people would have chosen another hour of sleep, but you still got in workouts.
    Welcome back! Hope u have a relaxing week.

  12. I usually do great at the start of my trips and by the end I use it as justification to eat not so healthy, but delicious, options.

    I think you were so smart for hitting up the grocery store. I think you did better than you think, especially with sticking with your training plan!

    Love San Diego!

  13. I’m glad the trip was so much fun, and it doesn’t sound like you did too bad eating wise. I mean you got in three big runs–that’s pretty freakin impressive =)

    You look great in your photos, by the way!

  14. I like your sweater! Very cute.

    I get back on track by going for a run. It always makes me feel better… even when I go out and get drunk on a random Tuesday night.

  15. It is so hard to not let work impact your eating habits! You did so great though and made excellent fitness choices – it is not easy to run off of little sleep.

Leave a Reply

