• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Seven Things You Never Wanted to Know

TGIF!! Tomorrow is my first day off work in 12 days, so as I’m sure you can imagine, I’m really looking forward to it. Plans for the weekend include a 7 mile run (eek), dinner with my girlfriends, church, a meeting I get to tell you about next week, and then going to Philly on Monday to see Harper (and my sis). He’s been home for a week and I finally get to hold him!!!!! It makes me so happy I could cry.

To spice this Friday up a bit, I finally decided to come up with a list of some things I don’t think you know about me. I was tagged a few times with the Stylish Blogger Award but honestly couldn’t think of anything interesting to share, so I have been stalling! Thank you Kara, Stephanie, and Michelle for tagging me!

awardstylish-blogger1This award means they think I have great style (ha!), enjoy reading my blog, and appreciate my contribution to the blogging community. How nice! To accept, I have to share 7 things about myself, so here goes!

  1. Despite the obvious contradiction here, I played Goldilocks in my 4th grade play.
  2. In person, I am extremely sarcastic. My boyfriend always says to just assume whatever I say is not true. If there was a sarcasm font, my blog would have a much different voice.
  3. I didn’t go abroad in college. I applied for a program in Grenoble, France, got accepted, and then didn’t go because it was during my boyfriend at the time’s last semester of college (he was one year older). I came up with several other reasons that I couldn’t go, but they were really just excuses. It’s one of my biggest regrets.
  4. Once, I was in a crowded bar and was introduced to a guy. After we exchanged names, for the first time ever in my life (or since!), I said “What, no handshake?” He replied, “I would if I could.” It turned out he had no arms. True story.
  5. I had emergency back surgery back in 2006. I woke up one day and literally could not get up after having some minor pain for a few weeks beforehand. I was sent to a doctor, then to the hospital, and then had surgery the very next day. Luckily, I’ve had no issues since (relating only to my back, obviously).
  6. I worked at Friendly’s as a waitress when I was 16 through 19 years old, and actually worked at three different locations, crossing the state border into NY for one of them. To this day, I can still scoop a mean cone of ice cream.
  7. My favorite food of all time, hands down, is cheese, and I don’t discriminate about the type. Soft cheese, hard cheese, string cheese, cottage cheese, babybel cheese, shredded cheese, brie, goat, blue, feta. You get the drift. It’s the main reason I could never go vegan. I’ve seriously considered renaming my blog Beth Eats Cheese. No joke.

Everyone and their mother has already done this, but if you haven’t, I TAG YOU (yes, you).

Share something about yourself that I don’t know about you! Do any of the things on my list surprise you? I’m so looking forward to reading the responses.

27 Responses

  1. It would’ve been bad news bears if I had worked at a Friendly’s since I love ice cream and could probably eat it all day. That’s funny that you crossed state-lines too (I may have too especially if it meant endless amounts of peanut butter ripple ice cream)!

  2. Har. I just posted the same thing (well, not the same facts) on my blog.

  3. #4 is priceless. I wouldn’t even know what to do i that situation, lol.

  4. Beth, I love this post!! Haha, I love cheese too–although my favorite food is bagels, lol.

    Your weekend sounds awesome–I’m glad you’re finally getting a few days off. And good luck on that 7 mile run–wow that sounds ambitious =)

  5. omg he had no arms?? i would’ve felt like the biggest jackass in the world. was he cool about it? or was he offended?

    i’m extremely sarcastic as well. It doesn’t translate well written down though.

  6. The story about the guy with no arms — oh my. Sounds like something I would say and then ram my foot in my mouth. Eek.

    • yeah it was really awkward but honestly i think he must get it a lot in crowded places… its not like you look for peoples arms, you just assume they have them!

  7. Holy crap…I couldn’t stop laughing at the “what, no handshake?” story. Its awful for everyone involved.

    I’m with ya on the cheese. Totally with ya.

  8. I agree cheese is, pretty much, the most amazing thing ever! I could never give it up.

  9. Yikes, the no handshake story is so funny. I’m sure it wasn’t funny at the time though. How did he handle that?

    Hmmm . . . something about me you don’t know. I too am sarcastic most of the time. Another thing, I had my first son when I was 17. All I have to say is thank God for family because I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for them!

    • He handled it well! He must have gotten it before.

      Wow! That must have been tough. I’m 26 now and don’t think I’m ready to take care of a baby yet – I’m just finally learning how to take care of myself!

  10. I need a sarcasm font BADLY. We’re two of the same. 🙂

  11. Omg, the handshake story is ridiculous! Cheese is also one of my favorite things.

    Did I ever tell you I’m adopted and have triplet siblings, two girls and a boy? My house was CRAZY growing up

  12. Too funny! I’m with ya on the cheese.

    I am very sarcastic too. Sometimes I’m not sure if that comes across on my blog or if it comes across as bitchy. 🙂

  13. I love that you worked at Friendlys! Its my favorite!

  14. Both my husband and I are really sarcastic…to the point that some people really do not know how to take us. My hub will say something rudely sarcastic to me and it is like music stops, people stop, stare and wait for a angry reaction, but then I laugh or give an even more sarcastic rebuttal!!! It is dangerous but we make it work 😉 I will wait until I get at least 10 followers before I do a “things you don’t know about me” blog 😉

  15. Is it bad that I laughed at #4? 😛

  16. You are amazing!!! I still love #4..

  17. I was surprised most of all regarding the man with no arms. Thanks for sharing your 7 things!

    I am not sarcastic, but I don’t take change of plans well. 😉

  18. Book marked, I really like your site! 🙂

  19. Haha, I love the blog name Beth Loves Cheese!

    And I would have never guessed that you are sarcastic, people with a sarcastic tone are hill-arious!

    Similar thing happened to me with studying abroad and I regret making the excuses and not going.

Leave a Reply

