• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Accent Vlog

Hi Guys!

I saw this Accent Vlog on Caitlin’s blog last night and thought it was super cute so decided to join in on the fun!

Two things: One. I don’t know WHY YouTube chose this particular frame for the cover shot on this video. Not cute. Two. I don’t normally wear glasses – my contacts were just giving me some major issues today.

Onwards…

Accent Vlog–Beth’s Journey

If you’re interested in following along (or doing this on your own blog!), here’s the list:

The Accent Vlog: Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call your grandparents?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Do I sound how you expected me to? What’s one word that you’re told you pronounce funny? For me, it’s cherry. I have no idea why I can’t say it correctly and don’t think it has anything to do with where I’m from. Glad that wasn’t on the list!

14 Responses

  1. Loved that! I’m in CT, so you said everything pretty much the same as we do here.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Caitlin, Beth Klein. Beth Klein said: Here's my Accent Vlog: http://t.co/NHEBf6H @CaitlinHTP #fitblog […]

  3. I agree! This was so much fun! I did it last night. 😀

    You actually sound a lot like I imagined! Haha! 😀

  4. You totally sound like I imagined! You sound exactly like Drew Barrymore! Too cute!

    I posted one too!

  5. I have been LOVING these! I may have to do one too… I love hearing the different ways we all say things, and it’s interesting to hear how people sound! 😀

    hope you are having a GREAT Saturday!!

  6. I LOVE that you actually said “shopping cart!” I have yet to hear anyone else say it this way (it’s what I use!) I’m from Southern California and everything matched up, except for “sun shower.” We don’t get a whole lot of rain here, so rain in the sunshine rarely happens…I didn’t know there was an actual term for it!

  7. Oh I totally did this like two weeks ago and you’re right, it IS really fun hearing your blog friends’ accents. I love those glasses on you!

  8. You actually sounded close to how I would’ve imagined! I was kind of surprised 😛 Now that I’ve seen this from HTP and here I’m getting tempted to do it 😛 but I have stage fright 😉

  9. Vlog’s are so weird when you read someone’s voice for so long! You sounded different than I imagined but I have no idea in what way. LOL. I was so glad you said shopping cart and not buggy! 🙂

  10. you would laugh at the way I pronounce all of these because I sound SO Canadian!!

    Torri

  11. […] past few days, I have been seeing accent vlogs  around the blog world, more recently on Beth’s blog  While I wouldn’t say I have a strong accent, I always think its weird when blogger’s […]

  12. Haha~ cool idea…I may do one too! It was a bit different than how I say some of them, but most of it sounded how I thought you would 🙂

    Have a great day!

  13. I love the accent vlog! I once read that CT is the only state without a documented accent, which is totally not true!

Leave a Reply

